Dogging It

in #life7 years ago

IMG-PHOTO-ART-1295485592.jpg

I sauntered into work an hour late. I had a swagger that could dry washing as my Mother would say. It had snowed a tiny bit and as usual when this happens all of the transport networks had ground to a halt.

My train had stopped in its tracks halfway through the journey as some specks of snow had drifted slowly out of the sky and this warranted emergency measures. I wasn't too fussed as it had allowed me a bit of down time on the train staring out wistfully at the countryside, half wishing I was a fur clad savage munching on roasted fox by the river. Note: that is not a euphemism.

pfxygb_2.jpg

I plopped my take-away coffee down on my desk and looked around half-heartedly for El Jefe, so that I might regale him with tales of my travel madness but the office was deserted. It looked like everyone else was experiencing the same travel issues as me. Ironically El Jefe only lived around the corner so he had a cheek if he couldn't make it in through the thimbleful of snow that had fallen.

Eventually others started trickling in. Everyone with their own tale of woe. One of my colleagues, Jazzy Jeff, stopped by my desk for a chat.

This facking weather you jocks have is shite mate.
Jock - Slang term for Scotsman, usually uttered by those who are penisly challenged

I leaned back in my groovy chair and concurred.

Yes, it is a tad inconvenient.

Inconvenient man, are you having a giraffe?

pfxygb_2_20180131175136876.jpg

Poor Jazzy Jeff. He was a Londoner in his mid forties and was struggling with the nipple hardening cold of the Scottish climate. He spoke a bizarre rhyming slang. Having a giraffe of course being rhyming slang for Having a laugh.

Alright then, more than a tad inconvenient. As soon as I saw the weather I started thinking about dogging it!

Jazzy Jeff's eyes and mouth widened as if about to sneezily ejaculate.

Think about what mate?

Dogging it. You know, dog it?

pfxygb_2_20180131175503633.jpg

He turned slightly pale, like shed skin.

Eh, alright then mate. To each their own.

I took a big slurp of my coffee and grinned.

Ach don't worry, I didn't... In fact I haven't dogged it since School!

School?!?

He backed slowly away, confusion and disgust marching back and forth across his face, as if I were a rabid cat with a turkeys penis in its mouth.

Right you are mate.

He then turned and all but ran.

I giggled. Dogging it, is a Scottish slang term for bunking off as in not going to School. It is a little old fashioned. I think he was more familiar with the term Dogging as when used for that less than salubrious hobby some folk have of masturbating at people in car parks.

The day was looking up!

Sort:  

My dear @meesterboom. Allow me to take a moment and walk you through the spiritual experience I just had while immersing myself in the word journey that was your post.

Perhaps the best analogy would be those hypnotists who swing the pocket watch and chant your are getting sleepy.

I started simply reading but by about the time you were gazing out of the train window into the world beyond, I somehow ceased being a reader and became instead within your story.

It was like I was sitting in that train with you, hearing you tell it. I was there when you giggled at the linguistic artistry you deployed in twisting the doggy nomenclature to your conversational advantage.

I was immersed.

Great rhythm, great style, excellent depth and humour. Awesome post!

Och, you are ever so kind to say!! I think this is the best compliment I have received ever!

Mate it is well deserved.

Yer a champ :o)

Haha you jocks and your slang. I do enjoy learning your local dialect, its fantastic.

And good that you werent prairie dogging it if you know what I mean ;-)

Haha, the worst of it is that I think I do know what you mean!!!!

I French, the expression to dog it, to bunker off or to play hooky is "faire l’école buissonnière", roughly "to do the school in the bushes".

That sounds almost naughty! It's funny how these expressions all seem to have that air about them!

You dear friend @meesterboom knows how to use the saying "al aml tiempo buena cara" very well I must admit that I finished the reading and I could not get out of my head what would be the face of poor Jazzy Jeff "Face of a rabid cat with a penis of turkey in the mouth "It goes without saying that this saying goes to the dictionary of dictions that I am formulating.
You have done it again dear friend, congratulations, thank you very much for this fun reading
I hope that the time has passed
I wish you a happy rest

Heheh, I would love to see this dictionary! :O)

This was great. So many giraffes!

Incidentally, where I live we could be having a facking blizzard and nothing would shut down. There'd be a fleet of dump trucks hauling the snow off to god knows where, and people would be driving snowmobiles down the middle of the road and occasionally over buried cars on their way to work.

Also, related note — I once got myself in hot water for using the phrase "jerking over" outside of its apparently very, very small geographical region of acceptance. In certain parts of northern Indiana, United States of America Fuck Yeah, they use that phrase to describe Amish youth who walk away from their culture/religion to become Mennonite, and/or to experiment with the "normal" life of nonreligious pagans like me.

I was simply trying to explain how I knew this Amish kid who "jerked over" and everyone's dirty minds got all hot and bothered with the, shall we say, car park definition of jerking.

WOOF!

Oh that's awesome. I can actually see it happening as you said it, their minds thing into overdrive!!

Where we are is nuts, literally if there is a cold wind public transport closes down. I wonder she those dump trucks take the snow Hehe

I don't know where they take it. We have too much of it, so maybe they should take it to where you are! 😄 Want some??

Similar to my "shortcut" 😂😂 I feel ashamed 😒 I hope your evening will be great 😋

Very similar! My evening has been smashing! Cheers! :O)

At least I make you laugh not angry

HEhe, wonderwoman, awesome!

Lost In Translation Two: The MeesterBoom Story

Hahaha, I had so much fun with it!

I can imagine Jazzy Jeff’s reaction.
But I can’t imagine my reaction if I saw a rabid cat with a turkeys penis in its mouth.lol
Nice post!

Hahahahah, it would probably be the same as mine when I saw something which that phrase is based on. It was horrfying!

Haha! Is the phrase based on a life experience of yours?

It is. I made it up. Its not that horrifying a tale. My mum really likes turkey and buys ot from the butcher. She gets all of the offal included. I think nothing of this until one time I am in her house and her cat comes into the living room snarling and dragging this giant dismembered penis.

I was like WHAT THE FUNK?!

My mum says oh thats just the turkeys penis. Again I am like WHAT?!?! I mean, its massive. the cat is growling and gnawing ferociously on this thing. My mum insists it comes with the turkey and it is the turkeys penis.

Some days later I pass the butcher and cant help but go in and ask what is the big long purple rod of flesh that comes with the turkey and he is like - Oh, you mean the neck?

Suddenly it all becomes clear. but I will never forget the way the cat came into the room that day!

Really? Your mum? I've always been under the impression that it was a dad's job to traumatize the children with complete nonsense.

Good parents share the load lol!!

That reminds me of a day, long ago, that @exyle and his father went on a holiday and I was ordered to water the plants in their house. I got specific instructions and I never knew that the plants I had to give water, were plants they use to make specific big cigarets (If you know what I mean!). Only later, did they told me. I couldn't stop laughing of course! I should have known better with those two.

Haha! I know exactly what you mean. You must have been quite surprised when you found out!!

Yes, you can indeed say that!!

I'm creased haha! Does your mother still believe the turkey's penis makes up a large portion of its bodyweight or was she just having a laugh?

@sidneybrown this is a laugh like

I think she genuinely believes it!

Useful and informative story here thank you dear friend @meesterboom sir

Thank you Sansa, I am glad you got away from the bastard. he was awful to you

ha ha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! thanks jofri was a bad guy !!

HEhe, I meant that other bastard , the Bolton fellow! :OD

oh hmmmmm😑

he was painfull for me !! naw iam happy! cz jofri is dead🙂🙂

Lol, anyway, cool username!

He's really good at his aspects.. Great job

it's funny what a little bit of snow or rain can do to public transport lol. I need to brush up on my Scottish slang, I've never heard that one before.

Oh stick with me, I will tell you all the scottish secret words! :O)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60814.60
ETH 2715.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44