Remembering my father | Inspired by the movie Coco

in #life6 years ago

Easter means coming home and spending time with the family. While most people are out of town enjoying the long holiday, I stayed put and visited by siblings. So like any uncle and niece, we watched a movie called Coco.

The movie revolves around the character of Miguel Rivera and his family on the eve of Día de Muertos or the Day of the Dead in Mexico.

The tradition involves offering food, usually Tamales, favorite candies of the departed, Pan de Muerto or Bread of the dead. Alchohol is also served consisting of tequila or mezcal. Graves and altars at home are decorated with the photos of the dead to remember them and covered with the orange blossoms called Aztec Marigolds which lends itself as a very distinct theme in the movie.

day of the dead.jpg

From Unsplash - Cristian Newman

Miguel dreams to become a musician however, he is torn because a long time ago his great-grandfather left their family to follow his dream of becoming a world-class musician, leaving a young wife and child alone to fend for themselves. From that moment on music was banned from their family.

He finds himself in the land of the dead during the festival and with limited time needs to get back to the land of the living. He is aided by several family members as they go through several hilarious and tearjerking scenes. I have to admit that I got a bit teary-eyed and tried my best to not show my niece that his grown tito (uncle) is shedding a tear.

It touches on the concept that families will always remember and pay homage to their love ones, keeping the memories alive in our hearts.

The movie is full of musical numbers that shows a rich influence of Mariachi music and Mexican flavor. I love the artistry of the character and set designs that incorporated the imagery of the Día de Muertos and I read was lauded by the Mexican community for showing their culture in such a great and respectful manner.

image.png

Source

Although not really a character but I love how the Aztec Marigold was used all throughout the film, making is so beautiful.

I love the music as well and Pixar really knows how to pull emotions and make you feel all sorts of things. In my case, I felt the loss of my father and made me remember him. This song really hit it home for me.


Credits to Disney Music Vevo

Remembering Pops

We called our father "Pops" and he always had a jovial nature and an easy laugh. When he smiles his entire face lights up and his eyes disappear. He is the man on the left side.

old pic.jpg

He often worked on large farming and forestry projects that took him away from his family for long periods of time as he would be assigned in countries like Burma, Thailand, Malaysia and Sabah. So for the most part of my childhood, he was not there.

Yet I felt his presence all the time with phone calls and letters. He wrote such eloquent letters of the things he saw in his travels. He described different fauna and flora that he encountered. I remember one particular letter that he described the plumage of a native bird in Jakarta and its colors.

He wrote long letters usually 5-7 letters as if trying to compress his existence in each word that he shared with me. I always looked forward when I would receive a letter and be instantly transported to the latest exotic place he is in.

He would come some summers and I remember fondly our hiking expeditions to nearby hills where he would teach me what are poisonous plants and how to start a fire. He was a regular mountain man who could survive in any place that he was dropped to.

My fondest memory of him during my childhood was flying a kite that we built. How he would encourage me to keep trying and fly that kite. No matter how many times it would fall and be broken, we could always fix it with a little string, a little paste and everything would be fine again.

Some father and son's memories are often attached to teaching how to shave or drive but mine was flying that kite with him on a breezy, summer day a long time ago.

I never had the experience to learn to shave with him since I can barely grow a stubble. Nor was I able to learn to drive with him as fate would take him away before I could do those things.

The day the Earth stood still

I remember that year as he said he was going back to the Philippines for good. His latest project would be here and would mean that he will be home more. He was assigned way down south in Mindanao and he worked with impoverished farmers there as he taught modern farming techniques.

I remember in one of his letters he was describing a biogas facility that he was working on and he even had the schematics sent to us which to me looked like he was such a talented innovator. I idolized my father so much and thought he could do no wrong.

I remember in one of those Sunday sermons my Matriarch is so fond of doing that she was furious with our Pops for putting other people and his dream to help them before his family. She always called him a dreamer who constantly ran so many projects that he was left with nothing.

Yet whenever he came home and with the letters that he wrote it always seemed that he was so happy helping build communities. Yet reading his letters now and understanding a lot more things I failed to read the meaning in between the lines.

My Pops was not perfect. He had so many fears and the biggest one was failure. He could not stay home because he wanted his children to be proud of him and the legacy that he was doing for the people. He gave himself too much to the communities that his life energy was spent.

I remember one summer he asked me to go down Mindanao and spent some time with him there. Due to the temperament of youth, video games and a Matriarch fearful of the peace and safety there I was not sent to him. It still stands as a regret of mine.

I remember that call as if it is still yesterday, His caretaker informed us he was found dead in his room. He died of natural causes but so far away from his family. I could not imagine the feeling he had in his final moments. They asked permission to hold a funeral in his honor there and wanted to know if we would fly out.

My Matriarch was adamant that no one would fly south. We waited for his body to be shipped to us. I remember the drive to the airport and felt numbed to both sensation and sound. I remember peering into his casket and hardly recognizing the man in there.

He wore heavy makeup and I saw it was just a husk of the man he used to be. The light that shone whenever he was present was simply not there.

I remember writing a eulogy piece and cried for days. That was the beginning of my 2nd major depression. I hardly talked, nor ate anything except Oreo cookies and just played video games.

My sisters were always crying as they thought that I would go next and always had someone look after me. Eventually, I got better. I reread his many letters, taking comfort in his words as he described exotic locales.

I wrote a lot and my eldest sister said I have the gift of words same as our Pops. She encouraged me to keep writing and got me whatever I needed.

When things feel bleak I often find myself having conversations with him. I imagine talking to him as we would usually do while resting from a hike. I would picture myself in a sunny hill, with the sun behind us and a cool breeze on our skin.

We would talk about what I should do. I know I am just projecting a part of me as his persona but in this way, I am always remembering my father.

I finish this post while listening to the theme song of Coco and the words wash over me as I remember him.

Remember me
Though I have to say goodbye
Remember me
Don't let it make you cry
For ever if I'm far away
I hold you in my heart
I sing a secret song to you
Each night we are apart
Remember me
Though I have to travel far
-From the movie Coco

Sources for Dia de Muertos
Sources for Coco the film

SFL logo.png

I support @steemfreelancers

Centurion Mave.png

Click here for your Mannabase Income

Click here for your Kryptonia access for Superior Coins

Sort:  

Hey @maverickinvictus, your post is really full of emotion. The words at the end are really impressive, it's almost impossible to accept the lost of our loved one.

Hey thanks for reading this and it is such an awesome movie and totally loved the visuals and song choices

What a beautiful piece of writing and this is the Mave I know and love! Thank you so very much for opening up and being intimate In your writing. These are the post that I yearn to see and experience. When you write like this and the barrier comes down, this is who we learn to love even more. I’m so sorry for your depressions, they are normal and for good reasons. They pass and sometimes come back but that’s okay. We are human and it’s a part of being human.
You know me and I hope you know that when I say your father is here and he is watching over you. I see that you are so much like him and you are loved.
The message you are sharing not only helps us now, helps you, but also helps him. He is so proud of you and loves you eternally.
His work was amazing and he helped so many people live sustainably and for generations, the work you are doing and will do will be just like him.
I’m so proud to know (even if it only on Steemit) you and I have the honor of reading your story. I look forward to watching you develop and I support my boi 100!

Love
Eagle

Ps. I was just going to write a piece on Dia de los muertos in remembrance of my tata (step-grandfather). I have all the photos re his celebration. :)
He was Mexican and it’s a very special ceremony. I really loved how you intertwined that with your father!

Thank you ES for this wonderful comment. I like it too when I write like this and show a more vulnerable side of me and not talking about women haha.
My sisters say that whenever we talk that I am so much like my father that they are happy and at the same time worried because I give myself too much to causes that I care about and not leaving anything for myself. I get emotional and distressed when things don't go as plan or when people disappoint me.

Yeah he was an awesome person that was well loved and I heard that the community he helped thrived even after his passing.

Thank you ES for everything and I know you always have my back :)

You definitely write that piece and I would read the crap out of it! ahahaa

Ever since I saw the festival I have been enamored by it as Mexicans feel a whole lot like Filipinos where death is celebrated and feels like a fiesta.

you are very welcome MAVE, yeah usually you throw a woman in there and you prevailed! Muahaha
i can totally see what your sisters are seeing, and you are who you are Mave! we all love you anyways. :)
yes, i saw and felt that about your father. good man!
you are so welcome and i have your back like you have mine. we all need people like that in our life!
yay you used our word of the week, and i will write that within the next couple of days. woop
the festival is definitely special and because the spaniards conquered both our peoples that makes sense. LOL
yes death is celebrated ... growing up with skulls is not such a bad thing! Muahahah

love,
eagle

Dead people in caskets always remind me of empty husks, like you describe. I always held a view that was strengthened by the movie Coco (which I utterly loved) that all that matters is action and memory.

Your father's life was amazingly exotic. I suppose that it is a jewel in your life that you carry and observe every once in a while. My dad is also barely ever home, and he struggles to bring safety and prosperity to our family, and when he's here, he sings and fixes everything that can be fixed.

And me, I always fight to remember the people around me, the situations of the past, the life that surrounds me at every passing moment. Sometimes I don't want moments to pass, for time to keep still, but it never happens and it never will. Time just flies away and I dread the day that I will die.

I don't know if I want to be remembered. I don't care, since I won't be here. I don't feel like I live in other people's perceptions but only in my own.

And I know that we don't usually thank people for their posts, but I thank you for yours, since you made a great effort to express your ideas and they came out wonderfully. It is very immersive and inspiring. :)

Yeah It is a metaphor that has surfaced in a number of my written works and even in the eulogy that I wrote for him.

The letters are a connection to a memory of him when he was so vibrant and eloquent in his words.

Its sad that you don't want to be remembered. You never know someone might uncover all the fiction, psychology and philosophy works you made here in their study of Crypto Sharon history in the future.

Thank you as well for thinking highly of my post. I took a lot of feelings and poured it into each word just like my Pops did in his letters.

Coco really tugged at the heart strings! I can definitely see how it would have an effect on you too... He really sounds like a great man. And you seem to be on your way to some great things as well, from what I can tell! Hope to see you become big in the world, steem and elsewhere.

Oh man I bawled like a baby during the final Remember me song. It just broke me haha. It really made me remember my father (Damn you Pixar for using my emotions!)
I feel how good he was and an awesome person. If i can be even half of the man he is I would be happy.

Your father sounds like a wonderful man chief.
Godbless.

He is man. He is totally awesome.

Your papa is as lively and cheerful as his smile.

Your father was a great man Mave! It breaks my heart that you went through depression because of his death but I know that he is in a good place now. You've become a stronger individual because of your dad! Your dad is a great man and you are just like him!

xxx

Thanks Dawnee and I know how much he loved us and was always in his thoughts.

Yeah his death really broke me and I made me lose it. Yet time heals all wounds.

Exactly. You became a better man too. ^^

This just break my heart. I'm sorry for your loss. It is a good thing that you found an outlet. You have such high regard about your father. He lives in every word you write.

Ah thanks for that and i feel that at times he would be sending me inspiration to write.

I believe that too because of how he has made a great impact on you.

I have watched the movie with my kids and we all sat there still while watching it. It is a good movie.
Your father seemed to be a wonderful person and had his heart in the right place by always wanting to help. I can picture the scene of you both building and flying that kite. That is something to hold on to for sure.
I am glad that your sister encouraged you to keep writing. It is very meaningful.
Be strong my friend, our dear loved ones are always with us :)

Thank you FS! I love the movie and made me remember a great man who was consumed by his desire to have his children become proud of him.

I know he is still looking after me as I often have dreams of him whenever I feel troubled.

yay!! I love this movie, even my daughter. Actually on the very last part, when Coco sang for her lola remember me, I cried it's true, also my hubby cried because we were so touched with the meaning of the song..

sir @mavericinvictus thank you so much po sa post mo, namiss ko tuloy si papa ko.. haha, nakakaiyak alam mo yong, kahit di nila ako tunay na anak pero pinaramdam nila sakin na gling ako sa knila.. Si papa ang pinaka the best father, kahit nahihirapan siyang iitulak ang bike niya paaykat ng bahay namn na may dalang mga pagkain ng baboy kahit gabi na kumakayod pa din siya para lang matustusan pangangailangan namin.. Hayss uuwi ako ngayong buwan sa amin para makita ulit sila..namimiss ko parents ko..

salamat sir sobra :-) mas lalo kong nadama ang pagkamiss sa kanila dahil sa post mo :-)

Awww thanks for this wonderful comment! I was crying when I was writing this as a mixture of sadness, of missing him, of remembering him as a great man who loves his children and the Communities that he helped build.

I'm so touched by what you shared about your father and how he did everything to do that for you and your family.

Families are important and even though we can't choose who they are but they become an integral part of us.

Wonderful post man!

It sounds as if your pop's was a good hearted and interesting man. It is great that you have those letters to hold on to.

That's the beauty with writing. You're leaving a part of you behind and perhaps one day, our own children can find some solice in the words we write :)

Thank you so much for your kind words.. majority of his letters are with my sister for safekeeping.
Some with me that holds a special place. We are sad that some were lost though in a flood that reached past the 2nd level of our house but it remains in our heart.

I am glad to have shared this will people and hope they can remember their love ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48