Competiton - To Celebrate Being A One Month Old Steemian I Am Giving Away 30 Steem...But You Have To Do Some Work For It!

in #life7 years ago

Next week I will have been posting on Steemit for a month and so to celebrate this milestone in my Steeming history I am launching a small competition to give away 30 Steem.

Using the photographs below as inspiration I would like you to compose a poem about a walk through a woodland/forest.

These photos were taken very recently during a walk in my local woods.

Pathway
The path to the woods.

TreeMoon
A storm shattered tree - the moon can just be seen in the centre of the picture.

NewLife
The trees are still mostly bare of leaves but new life is starting to show

NewLife2
It was a beautiful sunny day.

Dog
My dog - Mutley - is old now but still enjoys plodding along in the sunshine.

Gully
There is a gully at the end of walk full of wind fallen trees.

These are the rules:-

  1. Your work must be original.

  2. It must be about a woodland/forest walk - anything that in my opinion is 'off piste' will be ignored.

  3. The piece can only be a maximum of 100 words in length but not including the title.

  4. The closing date for entries will be on my one month Steemian birthday which is the 18th of April. The results will be announced soon after.

  5. You can either post your complete entry in the comments or add a link to a post you have created for the competition.

Prizes:-

There will be three prizes consisting of 15 Steem to the winner, 10 Steem to second place and 5 Steem to third place.

Judging:-

The judging will be based solely on the entries that appeal to me the most (hint - I like unexpected twists!). I am not looking for perfectly crafted poems or masterpieces of English literature. If I like it, it is in with a chance.

Good luck to all entrants. I look forward to seeing your work.

Although not a criterion for entry please consider following me (I will reciprocate). Some of my posts are about mental health issues while others cover a wide range of subjects. For a taster of my musings please follow these links:-

A Dome For All Seasons - Part 1

A Dome For All Seasons - Part 2 - The saga continues.....

Is social media a force for good?

Early flyers on Filey beach.

Sunset over the North Yorkshire Moors

What's on your bucket list?

My first attempt at digital art

How too much news may not be good for us

How dogs can help us

Another one on how dogs can help us

A personal experience of Aspergers’ syndrome

A trip to the historic island of Lindisfarne (Holy Island)

Until next time - take care of yourselves....

Sort:  
Loading...

'A Woodland Walk'

I set upon a forest walk
For my heart to feed
Through hill and valley I have tread
My trusty dog as steed

The path is worn but silent
The saplings dance and sway
Along the edge of plowed field
A broken tree points the way

The vines climb still higher
Driven on to find the sun
Seeking warmth and heat
Providing shade for everyone

Arriving at the gully
A somber Ent does wave
To pay respect to downed trees
That have fallen to their graves.

Thanks for the entry @ikilledcobain. I'm going to show my ignorance now though - whats an Ent?

No worries, it's a reference to walking/talking trees in the Lord of the Rings trilogy.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ent

Ah! I should have known that - clever! Thanks.

'Woods are Wild'
Further into the woods I go, but how far no one knows.
The trees swaying gently in the wind until Mother Nature decides to come in.
One tree you can see has already taken the fury of the angry wind, ripped in half and left to die I hope I make it out of here alive!
Running down the dirt path to find and escape the sky turns dark and begins to rain.
Faster and faster I run for shelter God Dam you Mother Nature!
Home bound I go take of my shoes, sit by the fire and start to snooze.

What a great contest I best get thinking 😁

Go for it - I look forward to your entry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57666.58
ETH 3076.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28