Do Dogs Help People Suffering With Depression?

in #depression7 years ago (edited)

Before diving into this post I would like to add the following caveats:-

A dog or pet of any description for that matter, is a living creature and as such requires the owner to devote the requisite time, care, love, attention and finance to its wellbeing.

In no way do I advocate anyone who is suffering from depression to rush out and buy a pet as ‘treatment’ for their condition. This post is based on my own personal experience and was a result of my own personal circumstances.

Ok, let’s begin.

A few years ago I had something of a mental meltdown. The details and causes aren’t important for this post but my mental illness resulted in my having to have time off work. Having talked to my medical professionals I knew I would be off for a considerable time. For some time prior to my ‘episode’ my wife and I had talked for sometime about acquiring another dog as a companion for our aging –and grumpy - Patterdale Terrier, Mutley (Mutty for short). We both love dogs and have normally had rescue dogs in the past but this time round we wanted to try our hand at raising a dog from a puppy.

Given the state I felt myself to be in at the time I was a bit hesitant about suggesting to my wife that my enforced break from work seemed an ideal time to get a new dog. On the negative side was the fact that my depression made me very lethargic (even making a hot drink sometimes seemed too much effort). I also withdraw into myself becoming very introspective and moody. My mind enters a dark place where it curls up into a corner and wishes the world would go away. On the plus side I knew that one of the ways to claw myself out of the depression pit was to get out in the garden (we are blessed with a reasonable sized garden) and soak up some summer sun. A puppy would ensure I had to be out and about. I would also be at home all day and would be able to devote the time – and energy – needed to have a young dog around the house. My wife and I also felt that the responsibility of a young puppy would take my mind off of myself and help start me on the path to getting better. After weighing up all the pros and cons we decided that at least we would start the process of looking to see what was available in our area. As anyone who has gone looking for a new doggy companion will know one cannot ‘just look’ without falling for every lolling tongue, wagging tail and pair of woeful eyes one sees and so it didn’t take long before we were the proud owner of a little bundle of Jack Russell called Pippy.

Pippy.jpg
Pippy when she first arrived home.

Right from the start she became my constant companion. Following me everywhere and pushing her nose into every situation. Our days together were full of fresh air and sunshine (luckily we had a good summer that year). When tired from our labours we would nap together on the settee. Pippy would curl into a little ball on my chest and drift off into the deep and relaxing sleep that only tired puppies can achieve. She was as mischievous as one would expect of a little Jack. It was a bit embarrassing the number of times we thought we had ‘dog proofed’ the garden only to find she had squirmed through the hedge somewhere and ended up in the neighbour’s garden. Luckily they were very understanding.

There was also another unexpected benefit that Pippy brought to me during that time. We enrolled in a puppy training class when she was old enough and the friendliness we found there – from both humans and dogs – helped me greatly to start meeting people and become involved in activities again.

So to answer the question posed in the title of this post – do dogs help people suffering with depression – in my case I would say a huge yes. In fact to say that Pippy helped only me would be an understatement. She not only transformed my life but also that of my family. From the first moment up to today she has brought life, energy, love and a lot of joy and laughter into our home.

We enjoyed the Pippy experience so much that a couple of years ago we welcomed another little doggy family member into the house. This time a Jack Russell, Poodle cross (a Jackapoo) called Tiggy.

Tiggy.jpg
Tiggy as a pup.

What about Mutty? Well he’s still grumpy but now it’s a happier grumpy and he has been forced to be more proactive with things or he loses out to the other two young upstarts that have invaded his home.

Mutty.jpg
Mutty enjoying a boat ride on Lake Windermere.

Sort:  

Great post! I love dogs but unfortunately I don't have one now, but I strongly believe that dogs are human's best friends and they can feel our emotions and, in their own way, try to help us feel better. Not to mention how much love and joy their bring to our lives! :)

Hello nikolina. Thank you for your comment. Dogs certainly are human’s best friends. There have been a series of TV programs here in the UK called The Secret World of Dogs which have shown the amazing abilities dogs have and how these abilities help humans in all kinds of ways. One example being the dogs that are now trained to sniff out health conditions like cancer and diabeties. One dog can even sense when it’s sleeping owner’s blood sugar falls too low and will wake her up to take her meds. Amazing stuff and I’m sure that there is so much more dogs can do for us both physically and mentally. Thanks again nikolina and I hope the opportunity comes along soon for you to have a dog in your life.

Oh, I might check that out, seems like something I would enjoy watching, thank you for the recommendation. Dogs are incredible, if we show them love and treat them like they deserve, they give us back 10x more.
Thank you, I cannot wait for my opportunity to come! :)

You're welcome. Take care.

Unless you are allergic to said animal this would cause physical and maybe emotional stress..... but if you have a pet of anykind...that animal is giving off the pure vibration of unconditional love and being surrounded by that energy leads me to the logical conclusion that it helps alleviate depression.

Nice post keep it up...Steem on!

Hi mithrilweed. I totally agree. Thanks for reading.

I am not a pet person and I actually get a lot of requests on my blog to talk about benefits of pets for depression. Glad I came across this.

Pippy certainly helped me a lot. She is now three years old and full of life and character and, along with our other two dogs, she still makes us laugh and adds tremendously to our lives. Thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29