I relived my childhood at Haeundae Beach in Busan, Korea

in #life7 years ago (edited)

busanEnglish.jpg

I'm 34 now. My childhood is slowly fading in my memory. I don't remember the kids that I used to play with at the park, since we have all gone our separate ways. I am starting to forget what it's like to just play.

Before I came to Haeundae I wasn't expecting much. I've been to the most popular beaches in the world in Australia, such as the Gold Coast and Whitehaven Beach. Right now it's April, the weather is cold, I just wanted to briefly look at the scenery and move on to the next spot.

The next thing I saw surprised me. I saw a big sand dune, and kids sandboarding down the sand dune.

firstSand.JPG

I walked up to the sand dune and started climbing up.

It was not easy to climb the sand dune, because I'm quite heavy. Every step made a large dent into the sand. It felt like I was going to be absorbed into the sand and disappear.

After a bit of a struggle, I finally got up to the top. I saw the other kids running up and down without any fear.

A boy around 10 years old started chatting to me. He's from Canada and he's here with his brother. The two of them got along really well and played together. They reminded me of my brother and me.

All the kids went to hire a board. I decided to do the same. Surprisingly it was free! The helmet didn't fit me though, my head was too big for it.

You cannot have any fear or self doubt when you are sandboarding. If you don't believe in yourself, you will fall over, like I did many times.

I was still conquering my fears sliding down in a seated position when I saw some kids sliding down with their chest on the board. Kids are so brave.

After walking up and sliding down repetitively, time started to pass. The boys and I said good-bye and continued our travels.

I continued heading east and saw a piece of artwork representing flower petals.

Keep going straight and you will see Dalmaji-gil, famous for its ocean view from the hilltop.

You will walk past a long rail track, approximately 2.4km. You can walk along the track and admire the sea view.

The track doesn't seem to end.

You can see some cherry blossoms on Dalmaji-gil Road. Even without much sunlight, they look special under the street lights.

A hotel and cafe on Dalmaji-gil Road.

Korean Hill Spa on Dalmaji-gil Road.

A cafeteria next to Hill Spa. Love the tree!

This is the famous ocean view we have been waiting for. You can even see Gwangandaegyo bridge in the distance.

Because of the cold weather, I decided to go in the spa and sauna.

There are some instructions here, but I had difficulty understanding them.

Here are the exact steps to getting into the spa:

  1. Pay at the counter.
  2. They will give you a key with a number on it.
  3. Use this key to access the shoe cabinet on the same level as the counter. Put your shoe in there. Just your shoe.
  4. Head up to the fourth floor on the elevator (for men only).
  5. Using the same key, access the locker with the same number on the key, and put your bag / clothes in there.
  6. While fully naked, you will now take a shower in an open space.
  7. Once you've showered, you will go in the spa, still naked.

There are different types of spas to choose from. Strong Heat, Massage, etc. There is also a sauna. Remember, You cannot wear clothes, and you cannot take photos.

People had no reaction seeing each other naked. After you get out of the spa, you can sit and relax, drink tea and watch TV inside.

After I came outside, it was in the late evening. Busan wasn't as busy as Seoul, which gives off a different feel.


My Korean travel story - List of Steemit articles


Seoul Day 1
Seoul Day 2
Seoul Day 3
Seoul Day 4

Jeju Island Day 1
Jeju Island Day 2


Like what you have read?
Follow @magicmonk.
Articles related to Education, Math, Technology, Travel, and Life in general.
English/Chinese.


Sort:  

Very good post my friend. Well written. I too am thirty four, and the word "play" seems to mean less and I don't like that. I'm now back in my hometown for a month and I'm going to be seeing old familiar faces so maybe that will spark some of that childhood joy. Again I love the photos of Korea. What a trip, as you know I've spent years there teaching. For some reason i suddenly have an insane craving for Kim-Chi!

Have a great day and keep on Steemin! Dan, World Travel Pro!

Thanks buddy for the positive feedback! I don't have many articles left, will have to go again! I also love kim-chi :)

Wow. I hope to visit Korea someday. Seems like a wonderful place. Awesome post. Following you.

thanks buddy :) it looks like you had a great time in Thailand

Yes, I do. I think you're having so much fun as well. I'm excited to read your future travel blogs. It makes me feel like I'm actually travelling with you.

Thank you so much. I look forward to reading yours also.

I live in Busan now. I really want you to make good memories on this trip. DongBack Island is a very beautiful landscape, and "the Bay 101" is the best choice for nightlife with a beer.

Thanks @renohq, I actually returned to Australia already, but I will definitely go back to busan again it was such a great place. I'm guessing you are Korean, your English is great.

Powering down? Can I ask why?

SMTs not looking good for you?

Thanks

Steemit made me fall in love with Asia.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66895.91
ETH 3499.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89