First timer in Seoul - Day 4: Bukchon Hanok Village, Jeongdok Public Library, Insa-dong, Dongdaemun Gate, Cheonggyecheon Stream, Gwangjang Market

in #life7 years ago (edited)

korea travel da4.jpg

After three days of travelling on my own, I started to feel a bit lonely, so I decided to try and find a free tour. Upon searching on the internet for free tours in Seoul, I found a travel group that was running a free event. About 15 people signed up to this event and followed an enthusiastic Korean tour guide around for the day.

We met at Anguk Metro Station number 2 exit. Following the road signs you will arrive at Bukchon Hanok Village. "Hanok" translates into Korean House.

The style of Hanok looks similar to Chinese courtyard houses, but "more beautiful" according to one of the tour guides on site.

Don't forget to take your shoes off if you're going inside.

You can sit inside the Hanok to enjoy traditional Korean music.

Hire a Korean traditional dress (Hanbok) for a back-in-time experience.

Korean Drama fans would know that they eat while sitting on the floor, so they have a very low dining table.

Courtyard in the middle of the Hanok.

Near the Bukchon Hanok Village, you can find a secret spot with loads of cherry blossoms - the Jeongdok Public Library.

Many people wearing Hanbok are taking pictures here with cherry blossoms.

I got a picture myself with cherry blossoms. They make me look good!

You will see some museums around this area, like this train museum.

Outside the train museum, there are trains you can activate by pressing a button, to make it drive around!

Back to Anguk station, next to exit 4 is Insa-dong.

You will find all sorts of fancy items and souvenirs here.

Have a look at this awesome outdoor department store.

After the walking tour, at night time I decided to meet a Korean friend at Dongdaemun History & Culture Park Station exit 2, then we came to Dongdaemun Design Plaza (DDP).

The design of this building reminds me of of alien space ship in Independence Day.

Some cute balloon figures outside the DDP.

Dongdaemun Gate (directly translated to Eastern Large Door) was built in 1396.

When you cross the bridge between DDP and Dongdaemun Gate, you will see the Cheonggyecheon Stream below.

The evening atmosphere, dim lights and crossing the stream on rocks, does this remind you of a scene in Korean Drama?

Walking alongside Cheonggyecheon Stream for 10 minutes or so, you will arive at Gwangjang Market. Let's end with some photos of food in the markets.


My Korean travel story - List of Steemit articles


Seoul Day 1
Seoul Day 2
Seoul Day 3

Jeju Island Day 1
Jeju Island Day 2


Like what you have read?
Follow @magicmonk.
Articles related to Education, Math, Technology, Travel, and Life in general.
English/Chinese.


Sort:  

I really like your pictures. Following you now.

Seems nice trip!

You know you are taking great pictures when....you look at them and say "Damn i want to be there RIGHT NOW"!!!

Wow thank you for the compliment

It's true, so please keep them coming.

My goodness, you are bringing back some serious memories. I used to live and work in Korea for years, Now it's been about 7 years since I was last there. It's an exciting place with rich unique culture, I'm sure you'd agree. You are from China? Where about? I used to work in Hong Kong as well, which is kind of like China.

I love the Asian culture and I recently bought a plane ticket to Bangkok to spend the last 5 months of the year in traveling in that part of the world. I've been living out of a backpack for about 10 years. I consider myself a professional budget traveler. Now I write travel reports here on steemit. They are highly informative and people really enjoy them and find the info valuable. I'm sure you'd like them. Right now I'm finishing up a three month trip from Ecuador to Mexico. Then I stop home to New York (Albany) for a month, then out to Bangkok.

Are you just on vacation? Or are you traveling and traveling like myself?

Great to find you on here. Up voted and following! Have a great day! Dan, World Travel Pro

hey I had a look at your articles. really awesome. look forward to reading more. I was originally born in Taiwan, but I live in Australia now, haha.

I'm so glad you enjoy them! So no, you don't live in Bejing! Probably better that way...lol Looking forward to your articles as well. Very happy to connect with you on here. Have a great day!

nice post! cheongyechun is my favorite place in Seoul!

Thank you! Do you live in Seoul? I loved travelling to Korea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71239.75
ETH 3686.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75