Alcoholism: 50 Days Sober. What Have I Done With All The Extra Money? And Other Tidbits

in #life7 years ago (edited)


One of the main ways Alcoholism affects a person's life is through the financial hardships it creates. I am personally a budgeter and always left money in my budget for drinking. The lack of immediate monetary issues is one of the reasons I probably drank for so long. While it may not have affected my bills it has drastically affected my savings. The approximately $300 a month I've spent on drinking for 10 years is quite a hefty sum to not have saved.


Let's Think About This

How much is $300 over 10 years? The simple math is $36,000. Yes, $36,000. However, the Accounting graduate in me knows it's a way higher monetary value than $36,000. For this scenario, I will use the United States historical long-term savings rate from Measuring Worth and average the interest savings rate for the ten-year period. This will be the savings interest value used for calculation purposes.


2016 has not been updated for this chart, but I will keep the rate at zero for the calculation because the long-term interest rate is being used and we are looking for the 2017 total, so the 0% interest rate shouldn't skew the numbers too much. The average rate calculates to 4.2% interest.


I will use the savings calculator from the calculator site as it allows you to make an initial investment, select an interest rate, and deposit monthly payments to arrive at the total saved.

You ready to look at the damage? I don't know that I am


The below GIF is an understatement to say the least


Source: Giphy


Well, I Can't Dwell On The Past

"Every morning brings new potential, but if you dwell on the misfortunes of the day before, you tend to overlook tremendous opportunities."
-Harvey Mackay

Ok, so what have I been doing with all this extra fundage I have from not drinking? I've been investing it! In the last 50 days, I have managed to double $350 by investing in cryptocurrency and purchased 65 .eth addresses with the other $150 .The money I gained from crypto has been reinvested. It's not in shit coins either. I've spent a lot of time researching coins and the work has paid off by a more than spectacular return. I believe the .eth addresses will turn into a decent investment also.

I can't dwell on the past, but I can focus on what I can do to improve my future.


Other Tidbits

I've had a few Steemians contact me on Facebook via Private Message over the weekend, as I hadn't posted in a few days. It's been the norm that when I disappear it's because I have started drinking again. Thank God that is not the case! I also wanted to say I appreciate the outreach.

I just needed to step away and regroup. My wife worked all weekend and the children spent most of each day with their cousins and Grandparents. I studied different cryptocurrencies, worked on the @barrydutton window tabs post, and watched a few television series(American Gods, Badlands, and The 100) that I am way behind on. It's the first time I have watched television in weeks. It was sort of nice to be brain-dead and veg out for a while as I have been working days on end. I am glad I took the personal time as I feel like I was able to unwind and I don't feel as stressed.

There is tons o' stuff I need to catch up on. There is a post I need to do for part 3 of the Ethereum Series. I have most of the technical steps figured out for it, but there are still a few things I need to finalize. I still need to write another letter to the future Marine in Bootcamp. This is important to me and it's something I wanted to accomplish sooner. I intend to accomplish this when I get up, but I need to check his Bootcamp schedule first because I have a feeling he will be finished very soon. I additionally wanted to start writing another Marine.

I don't believe I am spreading myself too thin. Keeping busy has been one of the greatest weapons in fighting Alcoholism. The previously mentioned tasks are the few things I need to get finished because my son is ready for a camping trip and truthfully I am ready to spend time with Mother Nature myself, but I need to finish these few tasks first. There is one other task I need to finish, but I have been trying to complete that task for a while and really haven't gotten near to accomplishing it. I have a feeling that task may take weeks to finish.

So, that's where I'm at. Still here. Still sober. Ready to get my head back in the game. Ready to go camping.



A Steemit Coummunity Project: Click Here To Support the Hamburger Saint Project In Rememberance of Sgt. Michael Barkey KIA Ar Ramadi,Iraq . July 7, 2004


Very Top Picture: Source Gozamos
Pictures by @lexikon082 unless annotated


OFFICIAL HOME OF THE FIRST EVER LOONEY COIN

Article explaining inspiration

If you enjoyed this post, please upvote and follow! I write a little about everything. Some posts are very personal with the intent of helping others. However, if it interests me I may just Steem about it! Steem on Steemians




Cause I'm the one and only

Sort:  

The moment you get rid of that nasty addiction you start to feel 1000% better trust I've been there and back Good job on quitting and good luck on your journey moving forward

@kionb24. Thanks for the wishes of well being. It's quite funny how you mention about feeling better. Today I was pouring my coffee and I thought to myself how I felt so much better than usual and was actually looking forward to the day. Thanks for stopping by and reading!

No problem at all it was my pleasure

Please reply if you are still active as I would like to enter you into a drawing for 50 SBD for supporting my sobriety adventure. I will check again to see if you have been on within the last 7 days before my drawing as that is one of the conditions. TY.

Definitely Count me in,.

Congrats! I just celebrated my 7 year anniversary last month. One day at a time. It has been helpful for me to remember the HALT acronym. You are often more vulnerable to temptation when you are Hungy, Angry, Lonely, or Tired.

Thanks for that piece of advice @swenger. Also, it is awesome to hear you have 7 year in. That is good news for me to hear!

You will be entered into a drawing for 50 SBD for supporting my sobriety adventure. Thanks a bunch! 75 days sober today.

Keep going! One day at a time.

Well said and glad to hear. Having personally known more then one person fighting alcoholism I think this is a healthy way to approach it.

Thanks for reading @exavier. I am glad you think I am trying to accomplish this task in a healthy way. That is the goal!

You will be entered into a drawing of 50 SBD for your support in my sobriety adventure. Thank you very much as it means a lot.

Well thanks, I truly appreciate that. I hope your adventures keep going good. I will check out more of your stuff.

Congratulations. Stop drinking alcohol is not only good for the wallet but also for health, although little amounts are not dangerous.

@ropaga. Yes, it's been great for the wallet. I do agree with alcohol in moderation. I am not one of those people who is capable of coupling alcohol with moderation! I'm personally the type of drinker who drinks one and am ready for a 100. 99 bottles of beer on the wall...

@lexikon082, Upvoted and Resteemed. Been your follower already.

This is a very interesting and though provoking post. When we start using our extra money for profitable investments, life will become more enjoyable.
Nice one!

Thanks for the upvote and Resteem @ogoowinner. I have followed you for a long time also! Yes, it has actually been quite enjoyable investing and watching it grow. I am glad you enjoyed the post.

@lexicon082 - Great to hear you're staying busy and saving money too! Steem on buddy☺

Hey, Thanks. I appreciate that @dozjiaa.

I love hearing your sobriety updates. I can tell my Marine in training that you may have an evil side but at least you're in your right mind. LOL But I'll keep telling you what I tell my boys: YOU GOT THIS!

STart steemit AA and allow users to report clean days as posts to get rewards from them like a money cash incentive to stay clean! NA too!

I have been clean off heroine for over a year and i have no urges to ever spend my crypto on drugs ever again (not even weed as i always find that for free)

God i cant imagine having to trade bitcoin for heroine, none of my heroine was online it was allll in real life, lots of it here in san diego because of the border, i never used the darkweb that would take too long! I kno some people do have darkweb addictions, that must suck, not having a real life connection to find and get your dope from!

anyway yeah drugs and money an the internet, a huge issue

watch this kurgestaat video on heroine addiction and how the opposite of addiction isnt sobriety but connectivity ,

altho i also have to remember

I may have already sent this message. I am not sure. You will be entered into a drawing for 50 SBD for your support in my sobriety adventure. Thank you as it is greatly appreciated. 75 days sober today.

@ackza What a great idea! I am going to have to sit on this one and ponder it. I like it. I will additionally watch the video.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65306.74
ETH 3488.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51