If I say “Fuck”, Are You Offended?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Fuck.jpg

A POST I POSTED EARLY ON WHICH GOT OVERLOOKED, IS ON POINT AND MAKES ME KINDA SMILE IN AN INAPPROPRIATE FASHION

I have always enjoyed a ribaldrous expletive thoughtfully slipped into a sentence for maximum effect. I enjoy the complete inappropriateness of lewd language, used creatively, when least expected - it makes me smile.

I know, I know a tad childish but, fuck it!

To be clear I abhor abusive, anger strewn swearing, spat venomously in the face of recipient; whether deservedly or not. I feel that once a person stoops to foul language in an argument they risk losing the moral high-ground, after-all, it can be difficult to respect a screaming fish wife or roaring bull. I am also not so keen on continual swearing in conversation when other words would better serve but I have no issue with colourful language in films or drama especially when used in relevant context. Or an f bomb, or other colourful grenade, dropped nonchalantly for reinforcement
.
I am no shy, retiring delicate flower; I know much of life is gritty and choose to not be easily offended by a string of seemingly innocuous letters written or uttered.

Still, truth is words have power, they are energy - the currency of communication. Their use/misuse has ramifications. We have a duty to be discerning so when my father dismisses a film, on the grounds of bad language, well, this kinda fucks me off! I hate hypocrisy and having recently, unprovoked, called my husband “A vile man”, and subsequently chosen not to apologise to him I feel he has no right to then claim bad language to be offensive.

This is, in itself, mightily fucking offensive!

In the end all words are just a string of consonants and vowels conceived to create meaning. They have magnificent power. They have none. It simply depends on how we choose to process them.

And finally for your viewing pleasure. This made me smile:

With Love.

xox

(Relatively new to Steemit I have a lot to contribute to this vibrant community. All words, pictures and illustrations are my own work. I politely request that if you enjoyed this piece you spread the love and generously upvote/follow and even resteem so as, together, we can fly - with thanks).

http://www.lindadacey-laforge.com

I also invite comment on my recent efforts:

https://steemit.com/life/@ldacey-laforge/impatience-is-a-form-of-self-sabotage

https://steemit.com/spirituality/@ldacey-laforge/wisdom-7

https://steemit.com/inspiration/@ldacey-laforge/why-you-should-consider-ditching-facebook-today

Sort:  

Fuck with a tag "spirituality", oh yes :-)

I don’t know why you said you aren’t into “deep shit”, that is exactly what it is about!

I have my days :-)

Oh to be a free spirit!

:)

Thanks for popping by and joining in.

Best wishes for a most amazing 2018.

xox

Definitely not offensive. I often rely heavily on this word to express my thoughts and feelings. An amazing and versatile word it is.

I certainly agree.

A splendidly versatile word.

xox

xox

Sometimes swearing is simply the use of the correct word at the correct time.... even other Primates swear (one of the first recorded spontaneous Primate sign language combinations was 'shit head') - I'm offended by people using language inappropriately in general and sometimes swearing comes into that but not because of the words per se...

@dadaixtab I know what you mean. As my Mother was an English teacher, I think proper use of words was molded into me at a very young age. It offends me even more when someone can't use swear words properly.

Thanks for your insightful comment which echoes my own sentiments.

Have a great New Year.

xox

Fully agree, they add effect!

Resteemed, I’m sorry I forgot to comment on twocother posts I read by you recently. I’ve been swamped. Let me go back

Yeah!

I really, really, really appreciate the resteem ;0

And honestly I don't expect your support on all my posts - I am simply happy for whatever comes my way.

With love and wishes for a splendid 2018.

xox

I have long said I want a bumper sticker that says "FUCK WAR!" and then one next to it that says "If you are offended by "Fuck" and not WAR you are part of the problem."

I'm so much more concerned with the attitude behind the words. I am far more offended by a disrespectful/sarcastic, "Yes mom" than I am by a silly, joking, "Bitch, please" (and yes, I'm talking about my kids swearing gasp!)

So yeah, you'd probably fit right in with our family nights as long as inappropriate humor is fine, too.

So true.

When I drive alone, I curse like a drunken Irish sailor at everything that moves. Every car and person on the road offends me for some reason.

“If you ever think you’ve reached enlightenment, spend a week with your parents” I think driving works the same way, spend an hour in traffic!

Oh dear! Hahaha.

Ever listened to Dr Wayne Dyer on driving? Apparently he used to be the same until one day he decided to choose to let all the niggles go and enjoy the drive - bloody saint!

xox

I enjoy shocking people. I enjoy saying fuck in a scenario where most people would never say it. I feel I'm doing people a service if they're offended. Because life isn't safe! Loosen up!

I love your comment.

Virtual high five :)

I feel exactly the same.

xox

I listened to your post again. thank you, resteemed ;)

I never apologize for swearing unless it's to my boss lol. But it will change because he is a new boss. So soon he'll be adjusted to my scheisse

Thanks for the resteem, it means a lot.

I often swear at myself My Boss/The Boss

;)

xox

I can’t believe it has become a swear word anyway.

SEX IS BEAUTIFUL AND SACRED

That is what I feel in my heart, and therefore I use different words to emphasize my language. Except if it’s great, I only use it in a POSITIVE way :-)

I agree - why is a word that describes something so natural and beautiful used as a form of abuse. This is a sad reflection of societies indoctrination that sex is somehow something to be ashamed of.

Piffle and nonsense.

Thanks for passing by.

xox

@Idacey-laforge OMG I have to correct myself.... ‘IT’ happened today 😇

I was walking alone in the forest in the night and stepped in a deep puddle. OMG F*** it’s just the feeling of stepping in the water when you expect the floor😬

Blimey!

That was a fuck up if ever there was :)

xo

LOL!

Love&light

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41