Things You Should Stop Saying to your Chronically-Ill Friends.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I have compiled a list of things I have heard over and over as a chronically ill person and that I know other sick people also hear quite often, because we sick people chat about this stuff.


But first I want to say...



We know that you mean well, that you want to help, and that you frustration is based on not being able to help. We want to feel better too but having people constantly doubt us, invalidate our feelings, and get annoyed at us for not being able to participate fully isn't going to make anything better. All we probably want is someone to quietly listen and acknowledge our situation. So, just try to resist the urge to "fix" us. I guarantee you that we are working at this 24/7 and have more qualified individuals to help us try to alleviate our suffering, such as doctors. Although, I don't have one yet but that doesn't change that a friend who knows nothing about my interstitial cystitis isn't going to be able to fix it. I can't tell you how many times I have to fight off advice to do things like drink more water or cranberry juice which causes flares. So, just be a shoulder if we need it or an ear but don't play doctor. It only frustrates both parties.

  • You don't look sick.

Yeah, many of us don't "appear" sick. If you looked at me you wouldn't be able to see that my bladder causes me to pee 20-60 times a day and causes my to wake up all throughout the night, exhausted to go to the toilet. You wouldn't know I have burning and pain comparable to a UTI 24/7 relentlessly and have for years. This same concept goes for many invisible illnesses. Just because you can't see our sickness doesn't mean we aren't sick.

  • You were fine last year/last month/the other day.

Some illnesses give us good and bad days. I personally haven't had a good day in years but I remember when I did and it would often cause people to invalidate any bad day. The fact that we were active, laughing, and able to participate at some point in the past has nothing to do with how we feel now.

  • You should stop being so negative.

I hear this often when all I am actually being is factual. I will say that my disease has caused me to be socially isolated and unable to be active like I used to be and, yes, this can cause some depression. I have lost friends over saying these things. Friends who told me to think more positively. Being positive is great but don't tell someone who is in debilitating physical pain that they need to stop talking about the facts regarding their pain. What you are viewing as negativity is just our every day life. We are just being honest about our health and limitations.

  • If you really wanted to do _______ you could just do it.

This is sort of related to the last one but not quite the same. I mentioned one particular friend in a blog awhile back you told me to just walk outside with a cane if I needed to but that I was an adult and the only thing standing in the way is myself. The cane comment showed she actually knew nothing about the nature of my disease. I can't go out. Trust me I try and try and try and come home after 20 minutes sobbing because all I wanted was an outing. Don't tell me what you think I am capable of because me and my body know better.

Oops, got a bit self-centered there but keep this in mind with your sick friends. Just admit that you don't know what they are fighting and you can't tell them what they are physically capable of doing. Which leads me to my next point...

  • Don't compare their illness to your completely unrelated illness in order to demonstrate how they can cure themselves like you did.

This is completely ridiculous but happens all the time. It's just people trying to relate but also often used to dismiss people's health issues. I overcame _____ so you can overcome _______. No, that doesn't work that way. If a guy who is losing a battle with cancer has a neighbor who overcame back injuries sustained in a car accident. The neighbor telling him how he overcame it isn't going to change what's going on with his body. And I am not saying it isn't okay to share stories of how you overcame your own issues for inspiration. I am only saying don't use it to dismiss what they are saying. Like a person telling me I can go hiking again if I want to because they couldn't when they had leg issues but now they can. That is unrelated.

  • Don't guilt your sick friends for being physically or mentally incapable of meeting your desires.

If your sick friend is on meds that make them groggy and sleepy and they say they are going to need to just sleep for awhile, respect that. And if their physical pain is too much to go to the event you'd planned try to be understanding. They wanted to attend and are probably hurt and frustrated that they couldn't so try not to guilt them or get angry at them for not being able to keep up.


And that about wraps that up.



That actually about covers it. As everybody knows here I have been sick for a long time and yes I know it can get old hearing about it but this is my every day, there is no variation. And, trust me, it is more awful having to deal with the pain every day than hearing about it. If anything, take it as a message to enjoy your body and health if they are on your side. But understand while you are out and about, moving freely, socializing, working with your body there are many people like me, stuck in a room, unable to live their lives and they will probably talk about it a bit too often. Try to be patient. But also feel free to share *your* feelings and set your boundaries.

I am learning to not talk at my friends about my issues quite as much simply because it never leads to anything good. I now blog about it as a release and post on support forums. Those get a bit depressing though. I think blogging to raise awareness about these health issues is the best way to release some of these feelings for me.

And one last time, I really do know how many people mean well when they say these things. I am just asking you try to put your foot in the other shoe. Try to REALLY take in day to day life with a body that barely functions. The things you could no longer do, the isolation, everyone getting annoyed at you if you talk about it. Just try to go there for just a minute and then maybe practice just a bit of empathy and patience toward us sick folk? :)

Also, if you are frustrated with the amount they talk to you about their ailment set boundaries. Don't simply listen and act like it's fine and then let the resentment and annoyance build up until you explode. It is crucial both parties try to be empathetic toward the other person's needs. So, your feelings matter too. Make them known. Just don't express your frustration by exploding.

Sorry for how often my content is related to illness but I feel I have a platform to maybe make some people think about things they haven't considered. I know before I was this sick I never really thought about the life of sick people too much.


HTML tutorial

I made a new cartoon Lemons to put on my IC related posts. hehe

Sort:  

This is a great post, such little care is given to chronic illnesses and mental health both in the USA, and all over the world really. My ex fiancee has fibromyalgia and at times I was the only person that could empathize with her pain. I saw it every day and every night, they only saw the presentable, giggling and smiling woman at their events. I saw the pain and the fear, the concern and frustration and sadness that comes from dealing with a chronic illness, first hand. I only want to help, and I try my best to do so and cater to those in need, because I can always do better. <3

Aw thanks for the thoughtful reply. Your wife sure got a keeper. :)

And yes the only person who can empathize with me and sticks up for me is one of my best friends who lives with me for awhile at my worst. Nobody else gets it.

My roommate sees it and tries to empathize a bit but he's very autistic so he's not the best at expressing that and that's okay. ^_^ He at least sees it is valid and knows I am sick and helps in his way.

I said ex fiancee because we broke up...not because we got married..lol. She had a keeper...We still talk though, might visit her this summer and reconnect. The whole..transition thing turned into too much for her to handle, therapist supported me saying goodbye for a while.

I'm glad there's at least someone in your life that can lend a hand like that when things are really bad. ^_^

Oops! My brain is foggy! XD

Well sorry to hear that but glad you did what is best for your health and stand by you being a keeper. :)

Also, I don't really have anyone near my now to give me hands. I moved to MN for expanded medicaid. Still haven't been able to get on medicaid and have been away from any friends for like 8 months. :( She is lending a hand in spirit tho.

:( I haven't had insurance in close to..11 months now myself, hopefully soon things change around, I'm rooting for you!!

I've really never had insurance to be honest. D: It's a bad place I am in. FL was much harder than here to get healthcare tho but the issue here is I am now so bad I have trouble even knowing how to get to appts and stuff. One step at a time... :) Thanks, rooting for you too!

Thanks for this article.
"I complained I had no shoes until I met a man who had no feet"

You're welcome. Yes, good quote. I myself learned what I had taken for granted when I had some health. Now my quality of life is very poor. Thanks for the comment. :)

You're welcome.
Never give up...never surrender!

I won't. I have a "never give up" wall decal on my wall above my work station. It's my motto!

Hi @lauralemons, my mom is a chronically ill person too since I was a child and sometimes I get very upset by the way people express themselves about it.

You mean the way the ill person expresses themselves?

No. The way people talk to the chronically ill. When my mother feels very ill she prefers not to talk to anyone because it makes her worse.

Ohhh okay. Yes... I experience this all the time. Lost a friend recently because she wouldn't understand that I really can't talk when I say I can't because of pain or meds. :< I get a lot of people getting angry at me and acting like I am a jerk but I can't help it when I am in this much pain.

I am sorry for your mother's situation.

Thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you thank you.....much needed!! Followed, Upvoted and Resteemed

Glad you could relate to it and felt it was as important as I did. :)

I just couldn't stop the tippity typing. Thought of a few more after stopping. XD Like, "don't compare us to sicker people who are happy and positive". Like imagine if every time my able bodied friend was upset I was like "Well that _____ guy on TV had a messy divorce and they are really happy! Why don't you handle it like they did?" Because each person has a different battle, and complex emotions, and different coping abilities.

But, I digress, I suppose it was good enough. :)

If it really gets through they will think before they speak to their sick pals in general. ^_^

well you just keep on tippity typing dammit!!!!! we look forward to some more posts from you. Thank you again -Eric

Oh, and followed back!

right on!!! if youre into cryptocurrency, sub to our PoppONaya Shelly youtube....join the discussion as we are all learning as we go along :)

Thanks! Will do! :D I am a newb but very interested!!

Hey Laura.

People talk about the disadvantaged, the marginalized, etc so much in relation to various demographic descriptors. Personally, I feel the chronically ill are the most underrepresented in terms of their voice, their visibility, relative to their suffering.

I could tell you who I think is on the opposite end of that scale; the least oppressed people with the loudest voice, but that would surely get me in trouble with someone!

Anyway, hang in there. I know it's frustrating and lonely at times. Only yesterday, someone was telling me about their business idea for me. They meant well, but it was pie in the sky stuff. When I told them they were overestimating my energy and stamina, they accused me of being a pessimist.

As chronically ill people, (especially those of us with "invisible illness") we rely so much on the compassion, patience and understanding of others, but some days, that seems to be in very short supply.

Kudos for being so open about it. I don't yet have the courage to bring the subject to my main page.

Awwww. I know what you mean man.... I got called pessimistic the other day for saying the meds I was getting likely would not work. Guess what? They didn't. They caused retention. I am not being pessimistic I am just trying not get my hopes up because I can't handle being let down again. Also, I am being realistic because no single med works for many IC people.

I've had similar happen with "You can do this job!" like you experienced. sigh

You are so right and I guess I can't be upset at the people for not understanding something they haven't experienced but even before I was ill I still had a lot of empathy toward ill people. Bah, some people aren't wired that way.

Thanks for the comment. Just reading from someone who "gets it" can be refreshing since most people make me feel crazy for having such feelings.

And you are right about the being underrepresented as well.

I feel ya. I was thinking I'd write an article soon about PMDD too. I have that, and also fibromyalgia and a thyroid issue. All of these things can be very invisible until they're not and I break down completely. People have a hard time accepting or understanding me, and they get I feel bad sometimes, but they don't understand the constant fight.
I'm glad to say I feel better today then let's say a year ago - but the truth is I will never be completely fine. And that is something I deal with inside myself everyday.
It's especially hard when I can't get sick leave or anything like that for any of my illnesses - I'm just supposed to work like everyone else. This means I have my own business and do as much as I possible can - but it's never enough to cover an entire salary to myself, and it's not enough for the government so they're complaining about having to pay social security money when I have a business "that's not working"... IT IS WORKING. I'M THE ONE THAT'S NOT WORKING! :O

Oh well, a big hug to you and hope you can find positivity and beauty despite of and because of your illness. I try to do it with mine... <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86