Sort:  

The last time I visited my childhood home in Chicago I discovered that my house had been torn down and turned into a parking lot, that my elementary school had been torn down and made into a park, and the grocery store where I worked when I was in high school was now selling some other kind of merchandise. It was a harsh lesson teaching me that life goes on and there's nothing you can do to return to the past, none the less the older I get I still see myself as the little village boy you mentioned. I see him when we go to the beach and he is playing in the waves, or when I'm sitting in my yard he will sometimes peek out at me from behind the trees.

That's crappy to have those places torn down! I guess things just move along. Bet another decade or two and that place will completely change. Haha.. you've quite an imagination having your younger self following you around :)

You are lucky that you can still visit these places. It happens much worse when there are memories - but there is no place anymore.

This one hits the feels..

My childhood home was destroyed in a fire when I was 15, but we occasionally drive though. It looks so different with all the woods that surrounded it being gone...torn down to make way for new tracts of homes. I also am a child of the late 80's/early 90's and my memories are locked in my mind rather than safely secured in an iPhone. But I can picture climbing up the oak tree in our back yard or zooming down the hill on my bike and leaping over the creek to get to the tiny forest behind it. Life wasn't necessarily easy, but getting to play outside meant freedom. Thank you for the reminder to unlock some of those memories for a moment, they deserve to be enjoyed. ❤️

This is me in front of the house that I grew up in on Pacific, in Bolingbrook, IL - a suburb of Chicago. It has been painted, the ornamental shrubs that once blocked the basement window have long been removed, and the pool in the backyard has been torn down, but the neighborhood looks the same. I would love to own that house again someday. I have very fond memories of that space that I will probably share in a future post. Thank you for sharing your memories with us, @kevinwong. As long as we keep telling the stories, the memories never really die ;)
See ya next time,
Mo
Thank you also for your continued support of my work. Your upvotes mean the world to this small fish ;)

Wow, I just got my mind rolling today and wrote about the idea of keeping my parents and grandparents houses when they pass away and trying to keep them as "family heirlooms" in a way. I don't know how it would work but it seems such a shame to sell something with so much memory, that your family has put so much of it's time into. I guess I've always been a little wonder-struck by the families who've held onto their farm for 100 years and such. I'd love for that to happen.

I hear ya. I would love to have my grandparents' home here in Michigan. Both my grandpa and mother died in that house. I don't want anyone else owning their ghosts. I guess I just have to make enough money to own both :)

Here's to hoping you'll get to have the house again - thanks for sharing too!

It's wonderful how places stay the same. Especially when you have a connection to that place or a lot of stories to tell :) Very well written - thanks for sharing :)

I guess that's my last one, until the next! - thanks for dropping by to have a read :)

Nostalgia! It is a strange feeling. No matter how far you are from where you spent your past/childhood, you stay connected somehow. Here's a photo I took a couple years ago when I visited my hometown. I tried to do the same thing again, but couldn't haha.

4a0efa90-052b-4377-9128-3cc382996b93.jpg

Nostalgia is usually overrated.. lol. Give it another few years and you'll be taller than the gate behind! Thanks for sharing!

Touching story. Many memories faded away but my parents especially my father made many pictures and movies (we had just low tech in the 70ties and early 80ties) but that conserved many things. I had two grandmothers and with both unforgettable experiences. With one i spend time in my holidays and i remember especially a long walk into the woods with the only goal to reach a well with clear spring water. My grandmother took just a bottle of cherry sirup and a glass with her and after hours of walking we reached that small well at the end of the forest path. Small sunbeams broke through the foliage and the spring water bubbled silently out of the well. She filled the glass with water and gave a bit of sirup in it and handed it over to me. I took a gulp and the water was fresh and cold with the sweet cherry taste.. and i was happy to be here with my grandmother..

Fond memories :) Clear spring waters sound awesome - none of that here as far as I know. Thanks for sharing your story!

yes! thank you, reminded me.

Sometimes I think it helps to look at old places to see who you are now, how much you've changed. Surely, not all changes are bad. Great article ;) indeed, society plays ahuge role in shaping you as an adult, sadly.

The village always gives its own story, let alone our childhood spent in a village, and one day we city people will surely come back to the village to spend time and atmosphere fresh village air...

Sadly, there are now more bits of plastic trash scattered all around the one I was in..

oh ... why so, what is the influence of the factory or the number of residents and awareness of the cleanliness of the environment ?,

Too many factories around now!

Thinking about my childhood... I see soviet blocks of flats, melting asphalt, concrete... All of that forced us, kids of 80's is post communist country, to create our own imaginary word - colorful, joyful and adventurous.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58522.85
ETH 2614.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43