You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: That Village Boy

in #life7 years ago

The last time I visited my childhood home in Chicago I discovered that my house had been torn down and turned into a parking lot, that my elementary school had been torn down and made into a park, and the grocery store where I worked when I was in high school was now selling some other kind of merchandise. It was a harsh lesson teaching me that life goes on and there's nothing you can do to return to the past, none the less the older I get I still see myself as the little village boy you mentioned. I see him when we go to the beach and he is playing in the waves, or when I'm sitting in my yard he will sometimes peek out at me from behind the trees.

Sort:  

That's crappy to have those places torn down! I guess things just move along. Bet another decade or two and that place will completely change. Haha.. you've quite an imagination having your younger self following you around :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58607.22
ETH 2616.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43