My Garden In Pictures

in #life5 years ago (edited)

My Garden In Pictures

My plot of land in the city of Lagos, Nigeria where I leave is 60m by 120m and half of that space is taken up by two buildings, and old building we initially built when we moved to the area part of which I have converted to a rabbit farm and then the new building which is where I reside now. I had the option of covering the remaining space with interlocking bricks so that we wouldn’t have issues of grasses or dirt inside the compound and the water will be channeled to the road which is what people usually do, but I chose the option of having a garden in the compound so that we grow most of what we eat.

I wrote about my rabbit farm last month you can click the link to read about it My Rabbit Farm and today I am going to write about my garden because of @simplymike’s challenge which you can find in the link: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@simplymike/steemit-community-garden-journal-challenge-may-2019-with-steem-bounty. And also because of my dear friend @mariannewest who manages @sustainablelivin, this is also for her garden corner which you can check out in the link: https://steemit.com/gardencorner/@sustainablelivin/sustainablelivin-1558724175935-garden-corner-8.

my garden1.jpg
First view of the garden

Once you come into my compound the building is by the right while the garden starts from the left, the middle portion is where cars park. The garden starts with a Pawpaw tree, in the space below I planted Turmeric at the end of January this year and they are doing great, after them we have 2 Sour sop trees, an African Apple tree another Sour sop tree, two Coconut trees, a Pawpaw tree, an Avocado pea tree, a dwarf Pawpaw tree, a normal Pawpaw tree and another dwarf tree and a Plantain tree. You can see some of the mentioned trees in the picture above but as I show closer pictures we will see other plants in the garden.

my garden -turmeric.jpg
Turmeric plant

The Turmeric you see in the picture above were planted at the last week of January, we had planted Ginger the previous year and they did very well so we figured since they are both of the same plant family and have similar feature, why not try it and boom! They turned out ok.

my garden -ginger-small.jpg
New Ginger plants

At the time we planted the Turmeric plants we also planted more Ginger plants, they are doing fine now, they were attacked by a plant that looks like long pepper, it took me some time to discover that they were not pepper but cover plants that can kill other plants you planted. I made a post about is and you can read that up in the link: https://steemit.com/life/@ketcom/plants-mimicking-another-for-survival. In the picture you’ll also see older Ginger plants we planted last year with an arrow pointing it out.

my garden -ginger-adult.jpg
Old Ginger plants

These are the Ginger plants we currently harvest from for cooking and preparing ginger tea.

my garden -scentleaf.jpg
Some Scent leaf plant

Among the Ginger leaves you’ll see a Scent leaf, it is used for preparing different types of pepper soup and it is also a medicinal plant.

my garden -different trees.jpg
Other trees – better view

Here you can clearly see the 2 Coconut trees, a normal Pawpaw tree and an Avocado tree. We had a very strong windy rainfall the other day and it fell the Avocado tree and almost uprooted it. I was able to rescue it by throwing more soil on the base and the tying it to the pawpaw tree, you can read the post about that in this link: https://steemit.com/life/@ketcom/the-wind-almost-uprooted-my-avocado-tree.

Dwarf pawpaw tree.jpg
Dwarf Pawpaw tree close up view

You can see all the Pawpaw fruits on this small or should I say Dwarf pawpaw tree. You need to bend down to pluck them while you climb a ladder or use a hock pole to push down the normal ones.

my garden -bitterleaf.jpg
Bitter leaf plant

Behind the Avocado tree is the Bitter leaf plant used to cook bitter leaf soup, please don’t let the name deceive you, the soup is actually very delicious and medicinal, it is one of our native soup.

my garden -dwarf pawpaw at the back.jpg
More trees at the back

At the back of the compound just before the generator house we have two Pawpaw tree, one is a Dwarf as you can see and then we also have some Cocoyam plant. The reason why I took to planting Dwarf Pawpaw trees is because the normal one while searching for natural light from the sun tended to be growing too tall, this is due to the fact that my neighbor’s building blocks the sun from the plants at some certain hours of the day.

my garden -more scentleaf and waterleaf.jpg
Scent leaf and Water leaf plants

At the right side of the compound is where the borehole was built, it supplies water to the property and this makes the land around that area wet more than other areas of the compound. We have a lot of Scent leaf and Water leaf scattered around that area. Water leaf is used to cook in combination of pumpkin leaf to cook vegetable soup. It has other leaf it also combines or alone for different types of soup.

my garden -pumkin leaf- waterleaf and grasses.jpg
Pumpkin leaf and Water leaf

On the picture above is Pumpkin leaf and Water leaf with them dam grasses. Lol. We call Pumpkin leaf Ugu in our native Igbo language. It is a natural blood builder, it is used to prepare soup on its own and can combine with a lot of different leaves to make different types of soup.

my garden -aloevera plant.jpg
Aloevera plant

Yuck, I’ve never tasted anything as bitter as Aloevera leaf. It is very succulent and yucky, please try it and tell me about it. Lol. It is a very medicinal plant and also used for making different types of cosmetic products.

my garden -Banana Tree.jpg
Banana Tree

I planted the banana tree around September last year and it has started fruiting, I reckon that by next month ending it should be ready for harvesting.

I hope I have mentioned all the plants and trees in the compound, if I have left out any let it please forgive me. Lol.

Finally,

rabbit farm.jpg
Mercy has new Kits and today is day 3

Oh yeah, I also run a rabbit farm from the old house at the back. But this post is for greens so that will be a post for another day. Mercy gave birth 3 days ago and these are 6 of kits.

Thanks for reading my post, like I always say, upvote it if you liked it I’ll truly appreciate that. Keep your comments coming and follow me if you have not already done that. Again, thanks a lot for your support to me always.

upvotebuilders-animation-down.gif

steemit-ketcom-rabbit-slim-seperator.fw.png

Join @Upvotebuilders

If you are using the @actifit Dapp that means you post daily because you are expect to post your daily report count. Wouldn’t you like to earn more rewards via the upvotes you receive? Here is introducing @upvotebuilders!!! You can join any membership level you want based on your delegation to the community pool. You can check out our latest report below:

Upvotebuilders Weekly Report - 13

steemit-ketcom-rabbit-slim-seperator.fw.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @ketcom! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week
You made more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

What a great entry to the garden corner! I think that you are very smart to keep the water on your land and turn it into food!!!
Thank you!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks a lot my dear, I appreciate your comment. Yes and that is what many don't know. The funny thing is that a lot of my neighbors come to collect one leaf or the other for medicinal use because they can't find it anywhere safe the market place.

Posted using Partiko Android

You have to start a movement and turn your neighbors into gardeners!! I am trying that here too. We can create a better world together!!

Ha! I wish you knew some of my neighbors, tough nut to crack I tell yeah. Lol. Especially when it seems you're tell them how to spend their money or save it.

I forgot. Are you doing the #Seven77 Twitter movement to promote Steem? I think you need to join in. It doesn't take much time and you want to be connected to the folks that are part of it...

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Thank you for your continued support towards JJM. For each 1000 JJM you are holding, you can get an additional 1% of upvote. 10,000JJM would give you a 11% daily voting from the 600K SP virus707 account.

Aloe vera? nice! looks like a good space you've got, lots growin!

We have loads of them, that is just one portion of it. They keep regenerating and producing more young ones, we have given a lot out for people to plant as well. Thanks for reading.

that's awesome 👍👍

Thanks a lot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Wow, you have a lot going on.
I'm so jealous that you have Sour sop and pawpaw trees... I's love to be able to grow those.

I have never even tasted those, but I'm in love with cherymoya (custard apple). Since I've tasted that, I'm interested in all members of the Annonaceae-family.

Unfortunately, our climate is not fit to grow them.

Thanks a lot @simplymike, I so much appreciate your comment. It took time to get the garden to where it is now, the rabbit dung help a lot. Lol. A pity your climate doesn't allow for many of such plants to grow.

I agree. I love to grow out-of-the ordinary veggies and fruits, but many of them require a tropical climate...
What's even worse is that they don't sell fruits like sour sop or paw paw in the shops here either 🙄

I love this as there's just ALL the plants I can't grow here due to our climate. Such a lot of beautiful medicinal plants.

Following you now... looks like you have a lot of cool stuff going on.

Thanks a lot @riverflows, I truly appreciate your comment.

Followed back. Lol.

@ketcom purchased a 66.67% vote from @promobot on this post.

*If you disagree with the reward or content of this post you can purchase a reversal of this vote by using our curation interface http://promovotes.com

You got a 45.41% upvote from @upyourpost courtesy of @ketcom!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63228.07
ETH 3244.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90