Check Out This MARATHON in CHINA!

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

2.png
My girlfriend, Lillian, is an exceptional runner. She frequently participates in marathons in Northern China and this was the first time I got to see a marathon happening in China!


Picking Up Supplies


top.png
The previous day we had to come to the Olympic stadium to pick up her supplies that she needs for the marathon: name tags, timer, etc.
picking up stuff.jpg
I bought her a protein bar from one of the vendors for good luck and then we returned back home.
bottom.png


The Marathon


top.png
The day of the marathon, she arrived to the gate very early and was preparing. Unfortunately, I couldn't meet her because there were so many people and I arrived a little late. I don't think I would be allowed to stand where all the runners were and Lillian had her phone put away minutes before the marathon commenced. Instead, I stood on the main street called Hebei Street. Hebei is the name of the province that the city of Qinhuangdao is located in.
spectators.jpg
There were a lot of people there as spectators that I had to weave my way through. Chinese people are not afraid to push and shove others hahaha.

They closed down Hebei st. to give the runner exclusive access to it. It's one the major streets in the city so there was a lot traffic in other places.
empty.jpg
At 8:00am, the marathon commenced and because I was located near the beginning of the race, it only took a few minutes before I started seeing the runners.
runners.jpg
There were people of all different shapes in sizes. There were regular runners like Lillian there and also some amateurs as well. Anybody could participate in this race. In fact, there were some African people competing in this race whom I assume live/study in Qinhuangdao.

I was excited to film and shoot photos of the main wave of runners. Unfortunately, I never got to see Lillian running but I am sure she passed by with the other runners; it's just hard to notice her in a crowd of other people.

After most of the runners passed by, I returned home to wait until the runners would reach the finish line. Lillian told me it would take her 5 hours to finish the marathon. She has finished previous marathons at around 5 hours and 20 minutes and told me she wants to finish this one is 5 hours.
finish line.jpg
When I came back to the finish line, I was too late so I couldn't see who the winners were. Fortunately, I was able to find Lillian waiting in line for her free massage after the race. What really sucks is that just before her turn, the workers said they are leaving now! She waited in line for nothing lol.
lillian.jpg
Lillian told me that it took her less than 6 hours to finish the race and she was a little disappointed because she was aiming for 5 hours but seemed to have lost track of time. She told me that during the race, she thought she was ahead of time and started taking it slow. Yikes!
bottom.png

As always, I am just proud of her for finishing and staying fit. I have never ran so long and I don't know if I could finish a marathon if I started now. I would probably need to train my endurance for a while before I could do what she did!

That pretty much sums up this post. I hope you check out the video to get even more footage of this event.

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


Differences Between China and Australia According to My Chinese Student
The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com


1.png


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Oh it must have been awesome to witness that event! Especially with so many people attending. Too bad you didn't get to spot Lilian. And that she missed out on her well-deserved massage! This weekend I'm joining an Ultimate Frisbee tournament with my team. I LOVE that sport. And I'm sure I don't cover the same distance as a marathon, but there is so much sprinting involved. My God, even just thinking that making it to the end of the last game would be rewarded with a free massage - that would just be fabulous. I should train my husband to do that for me, but then he'll be playing the same tournament so I think my chances aren't high with that ;).

Btw Japan has really awesome Ultimate teams and strategy. Is it a popular sport in China as well?

I keep trying to open your video blog. But Dtube sometimes doesn't work, and I click and try for a few minutes then tend to give up. Would be awesome if they can do something to fix that...

Ultimate Frisbee has definitely grown a lot in China. I don't follow it but I remember loving it back in school when I would play with friends or in gym class. I don't know if they are on par with japan, but it seems like most cities have several teams.

DTube can be hit and miss. The videos don't load well in China either and with a VPN, it works inconsistently.

It is always good to do cardiovascular exercises because they give us a better blood pumping to the heart and many more benefits, the marathons are the maximum! I always like to participate here in Venezuela, we do one every year called "the color marathon" is very fun, to perform these marathons you must be in good physical condition, exclente!


More or less how these people end up after participating in the Color Race, it's really fun

carreras_1.jpg

Thanks for sharing. I accidentally downvoted this post hahahah. I fixed it now.

That marathon looks awesome!

Quiet friend, no problem, if I love this marathon because at the end of the end you get all stained with colors and you find music and artists, practically a party

The marathons are incredible, I love to take my body to the maximum and strive to give the best of me, tremendous marathon that you present to us, you can see that it was very good, you should participate ...

Marathons are no joke in China. I've heard that registration is difficult, because there are so many people, and there may only be a few hours to sign up before its full.

No running for me, too much pounding. (walking is OK as long as its not too hot)

What was the weather like? (15-20C + rain in Shanghai last week)

Congrats to Lillian though, its not as easy as it looks!

I'm sure it would be like that in Shanghai. For her, the registration seemed fine. I was going to register but then I don't like how the registration asked what my salary is. What a stupid question! Why is that any of their business?

Anyways, the weather is pretty hot nowadays. When she ran this marathon, the temperature was in the low 20s. It was raining the day before and luckily everything cleared up.

I'm sure everyone answered that salary question honestly. ~wink wink~

It shows that they collect and sell your information, and that would be my excuse for opting out.

In these marathons you put yourself to the test! the only competition you have, I think it is your willpower to continue to the end, in these marathons you end up too exhausted, I agree that you receive them with a massage

It must be an honor to finish the marathon, one must be in good physical shape to be able to complete it, I liked your friend publication, good photographs

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58115.81
ETH 2623.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42