MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

Xinjiang is a province in the northwest part of China. If you ever look around this area, you would never guess that the people here are Chinese. They are predominatly of Turkic minority. They are called Uyghur ("wee-gur") and live a lifestyle similar to countries in the Middle East.

I LOVE food from Xinjiang. Due to them being predominantly Muslim, their cuisine does not include pork, which I don't mind because I don't eat pork anyway. Instead they are famous for their grilled lamb kebabs and fragrant dishes. Xinjiang food might be my favourite cuisine in China!
lamb kebab.jpg
Their lamb kebabs are similar to what I could find in Middle Eastern countries. Big juicy chunks of lamb grilled to perfection! Everyone needs to try these!

@super-lillian and I went to a Xinjiang restaurant in Qinhuangdao and ordered 4 dishes. We have been here before so I am so happy to find old photos of the other dishes we ordered from last time! You can see how Xinjiang fused Middle Eastern and Chinese food together. They have their own style of noodles and use ingredients found in China like lotus root!
lotus root.jpg

Sliced lotus root cooked with chili peppers

I really like the taste of lotus root. It is similar to a potato but more crunchy. Not to mention, they look really unusual and I like that!
6.jpg
lamb and leek.jpg

Lamb cooked with leeks

Cumin is a really popular spice in Xinjiang. It particularly tastes good with the lamb kebabs I showed you earlier.
1.jpg
lamb and pepper.JPG

Lamb with green and red peppers

This dish was a little spicy because of the green peppers. I don't mind a little bit of spice. What I don't like is overly spicy food that just ruins the flavour and puts you in pain. I think that is unnecessary. As you can see, we ate a whole lot of lamb today! In the past, I wasn't too crazy on lamb (I preferred chicken and beef), but nowadays I often prefer lamb over any other meat!

And lastly, we had our rice that was cooked with carrors, raisins and...you guessed it
path.jpg

Lamb

rice.JPG
This was one of the best rice dishes I have ever had. The rice has a strong meaty flavour. I can only assume they first cooked the lamb with the fat and once the fat became oily, they cooked everything else with it so that the juices of the lamb could get infused with the rice to give it a desirable meaty flavour.

Want to see more? Check out the video!

That's all for now folks!

Thanks for reading & watching!

Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com

Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

"I don't mind a little bit of spice. What I don't like is overly spicy food that just ruins the flavour and puts you in pain. I think that is unnecessary."

You hit the nail on the head. That's how I feel about the spiciness from Sichuan province. It's too overwhelming and numbing. I love the subtle spiceness from Indian, Thai, or Mexican cuisine but usually the heat in Chinese dishes turns me off.

Yes! Subtle spiciness adds a nice hit to the food, but I don't feel like getting diarrhea after each meal.

Ow yes, that does look good... now I miss Chinese food, good thing I'm heading back there in about a month... love that you are blogging about your experiences in China, keep it up!

Good to hear you are coming back @nobyeni! What are you coming back for?

For work, in Shanghai.

Sounds cool! I always thought about starting a blog or making videos about China. I'm glad I started last year and am improving.

The food looks crispy. I think it's fair enough to try.

Definitely fair enough. I am not sure where you are located so you'll have to look around to see if you can find Xinjiang food. I doubt it will be at any Chinese restaurant.

Interesting, thanks for the knowledge on these foods

No problem @quevo. I really appreciate you checking this out.

Se ve delicioso todo, debe ser por que son mis favoritas, las comidas chinas, muy buen post, @kenanqhd.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 56858.44
ETH 2919.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60