Differences Between China and Australia According to My Chinese Student

in #life6 years ago


Hello Steem Blockchain!

One of my former Chinese students spent one year in Australia and returned back to China for his vacation. I never knew he was here until he sent me a message saying that he wanted to meet me at the school I taught him at. Instead, we met up in downtown Qinhuangdao and I got to catch up with him!
middle.jpg
He lives nearby and he agreed to meet me in the dead center of the city. His name is Qiu Yu and his English name was Jason.

After doing some catching up, I thought it would be an awesome idea to have him on camera and record a video with me! He's a really nice guy and I was so impressed with how much his English has improved! I remember he had some difficulties learning English in my class but I was blown away with how well he could elaborate on his ideas. Living in a foreign country can really spike your abilities in learning a language if you put in the work. Some Americans in China live here for years and still can't speak the language because they are not dedicated.

I asked him questions about the differences in food, people, culture and any difficulties he endured while in Australia.

It's great to meet up with one of my students in China. Like I said in another post, Chinese teachers usually have stronger relationships with their students than Western teachers.

I think you should definitely check out the video to see what he has to say!

Thanks for reading & watching!


Check out my other posts!


The Difference Between Teachers in China and the West
What Kind of Imported Food Is Available in China?
MOUTHWATERING Food Of China's Ethnic Turkic Minority!
The MASSIVE Construction Boom in China!
Why I Left My Engineering Career To Be a Teacher in China!
Is Chinese Food Low Quality? Organic Farming in China
Why The Heck Did I Move to Communist China?
What's It Like For A Canadian Living in a Small City in China?


Kenan.png


Website: http://SimplyElated.com


Instagram: https://instagram.com/KenanQHD
Twitter: https://twitter.com/KenanQHD
Steemit: https://steemit.com/@kenanqhd
MeiPai: @柯南QHD
Weibo: @柯南QHD


Music provided by Epidemic Sound!
www.epidemicsound.com



▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

I like the way he says it is hard to compare the cultures because honestly just about everything is different.

Really loved this post buddy. I've always been very curious what it's like to walk a day in someone else's shoes. I remember as a very young kid even having a curiosity about this. I remember laying in bed thinking about what it would be like to grow up someplace different, what your expereinces would be like. Obviously a place like California isn't even that different than Chicago, but even someplace fairly mundane, where as I was playing pickup basketball or football games after school those kids were probably going to the beach. Where as I was going skiing on the weekends those kids were surfing. That's always fascinated me basically getting a sneak peak at someone else's life experience. I think that's why I'm so fascinated by biographies and documentaries and things like that.

Nice comment man. To be honest, as I develop my skills on making videos, I am getting more and more interested in learning how to make a real documentary/biography.

"Some Americans in China live here for years and still can't speak the language because they are not dedicated."

I resemble that remark!

Seriously though, I gave up, in big cities I've never had problems with plain old English most of the time.

Finally got the video to load. That looked like an awkward conversation for him, perhaps it was the camera, or do both of you speak usually speak Chinese?

He isn't used to being on camera and I am sure he was a little nervous about his English ability. He tell well IMO. When he was in my class, it was difficult for him to speak with complete sentences and elaborate. I am so proud of him!

Often times its more about self confidence than language ability.

I run across people like him all the time, they know enough English to speak, but they have difficulty coming up with original thoughts, they tend to repeat something they read, or heard someone else say.

That works well enough, to show their peers, and perhaps some of their teachers that they can speak English. In my experience, communication is more than just language, its our thoughts and personal preferences that make us unique.

In China, most want to fit in with their peers, and they almost always give boiler plate answers to common questions. Social conformity holds most people back, many are too afraid to lose face.

I think English is an indispensable language because it is the most spoken language, it has been easier for me to learn it by putting habits like: I configure many things, like television to the English language to adapt, but really the Chinese language seems almost impossible hahaha, I learned Chinese words and write them? It seems very difficult

I used Pimsleur to help me in the beginning. It is an audio program you listen to and repeat what they say. I think it is useful.

Chinese is difficult because many words sound the same. I personally don't think learning is very difficult, but some people think it is.

Thanks, I'll use Pimsleur to try !. The application to learn English in the cell phone is very useful for entertainment and is a means of learning at the same time, and how are the words written in Chinese? they look very confuzas ...

Impossible, I do not think it is! As many Asians learn English, in the same way I think we can learn their language

Chinese characters can be very confusing. You will get used to it when you practice more.

Thanks for sharing that information, I think it's like everywhere, when you're new you adapt through the daily walks

The two places on my travel list are Australia and China lol perfect video - lots of great perspective. Thanks for sharing. Your former student has very good English - kudos to you. You mentioned Canada - are you from? Any way all the best. E.

Yes, I am from Canada. I am proud of him. He has improved so much.

5000 years of history.

And they will make sure you never forget that!

Ozi ozi ozi! Oi! Oi! Oi!

Hahaha. In the video he said "bars" but said it as "bahs!" like an Aussie hahaha. I thought that was funny.

What a great summary of the most important differences between those cultures. Great post.

Hey, what a great encounter! I do not have to comment because I never had to live in another country with different idimoas ... but I think that little by little we got used to it

Hey, nice work! We're always looking for great video, and saw yours and thought we should let you know that your work is appreciated. We put it on our list of OneLoveDTube Video Picks of the day!


You can view all of our picks from May 22 here: OneLoveDTube Picks

If you want to find out more about how we support and encourage creators on the platform, please join us on the OneLoveDTube discord server and help share the love!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48