Self-Acceptance, Forgiveness, and Rolling with the Waves

in #life6 years ago

I overthink things. In fact, I tend to give myself a hard time for the smallest mistakes.

Of course, I try to learn from mistakes and move on, I do my best in any given situation, yet I am so afraid of being wrong! Silly, but true.

…deep breath…

ocean

Self-acceptance is vital, as is forgiveness. It’s so freeing, such a gift to let go of judgment and roll with life.

Yet it can be so hard!

Deep breaths help. Sometimes I have to repeat “I forgive myself,” or “Everything is okay, all is well” like a mantra.

And still I find myself thinking about small mistakes, or even kicking myself (for the zillionth time) for things I did years ago.

What is this obsession with being perfect? I am human. I make mistakes. I don’t know everything.

In fact, the older I get, the more I realize I have so much to learn!

ocean

The thing that helps me the most is thinking of life as an ocean, and myself as a surfer. Sometimes I’m riding the waves, sometimes I’m underwater, but as long as I keep hold of my surfboard I’ll be okay.

When I take a step back, go big picture and remember I’m such a small part of this world (or ocean, since we’re using that metaphor), it helps.

You know when you’re by the sea and you feel so small, or you look up to the sky and see the stars, and realize you’re but a small speck in the universe? This helps me, too, because I remember that my mistakes are but tiny waves in a massive ocean.

Perspective is everything.

I’ll leave you with a quote, by an unknown author:

"Self-acceptance is at the core of a peaceful mind."

Do you have any ways that work for you to reach self-acceptance and forgiveness? I’d love to hear them. (Really. Help a girl out.)

Take care of yourself. You are a gift!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

All photos mine.


the alliance

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

steemusa

Sort:  

Thank you for these reminders of self-care and self-love. 💓

Thank you for being you. :)

I try to remember not to take my mistakes personally. It's all just experience, hopefully for the purpose of growth. And when I make what I think are mistakes, I'm actually gaining wisdom that can eventually help out another person.

Ah! The service in learning something and contributing to another's path in life. I've definitely done that, so I guess my mistakes/growth aren't wasted only on me. lol! ;) Great reminder, thank you!

Im Dealing with this right now, I can't make time to make a post about anything good this week. Maybe tomorrow there always is tomorrow yes. Well I just have to breath and not try so hard all the time. I have to not worry and over think things, but wink at myself and say its all good, sometimes the bipolar gets the best of me and wears me down. But we make it through the day as we give our anxieties to the universe above and just continue on forward strong with love. Be well dear your awesome 🌟 @katrina-ariel

"Continue on forward strong with love." Yes!

Keep breathing. You're such a beautiful soul, and I love your honesty and positive attitude. You're doing great. Keep being you, and be kind with yourself. You're awesome, too!

The perfection is the enemy of the good. I really like this part you said: "learn from mistakes and move on"

So,learn and move on. Don't try to stay in that place where you are when the things goes wrong

And if you want go to my spot, I did two post in english, maybe one of then can help you a little =)

Wow! What a wonderful post on santosha! I love the yamas and niyamas. So much I wrote a book about them. lol! And I still need reminding. Glad you invited me to have a look!

I'm going to drop the link to your post here, in case anyone else wants to take a look: https://steemit.com/life/@karmadorje/some-things-to-release-7fcedcd3a571f

That words so right, enter my mind at the perfect time thank you very much my favorite of the day, the self-acceptance is what we lack when we try to be perfect and commit errres, but we all make mistakes the only thing left is to learn from them and Forgive. A hug and regards!

Thank you! I'm so glad this resonated with you. Yes, learn and forgive, and then move on. ((hugs)) :)

Great post and so human. I adore that you admitted to not only feeling a need for perfection at times but also dredging up old feelings of it. I also like how you mentioned looking up at the stars make you feel a certain way and kind of brings things into perspective. All things that I think we should all take into account, although even on a good day we can forget it. Self-acceptance though, forgiveness, so so important.

So important. So. important. So is sleep. lol! Off I go. For real this time. I'm going to shut'er down and take care of myself. That also helps with self-acceptance. Thank you for being you! :)

Thank you! What a beautiful post - will follow to read more of your positive insights :)

Thank you! I'm so glad you enjoyed it. Steem on! :)

For Self acceptance you have to believe that you can only be you and no one else! This will help you to build confidence.
Great writing though! I love it!

Fantastic way to look at it. Thank you! :)

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64833.23
ETH 3558.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35