Not getting the chance to say Goodbye

in #life8 years ago

I haven't spoke to my parents for a good 20 years after a bad childhood, what ended our relationship was a stupid argument which pushed me over the edge, made me walk out never to return. (as most off you probably know)

FAMILY

Tell me how would you feel

On the 1st of March 2010 I went to my usual bingo hall for a few hours, getting home at 9pm to receive a phone call from a close friend telling me my Mother had died , 3 days earlier then a week later I received a text from the very same friend telling me the funeral car had left at 10 to 9 that morning. Searching through our local paper to find an announcement about her death, to be told by a friend they didn't put it in the paper as they didn't want me to find out about her death or funeral.
A close Auntie attended the funeral, I went to talk to her about it, see if I could at least put it to rest in my head. What she told me shocked me even more, there was 10 people there, there was no wake, no cars and hardly any flowers, they had kept her funeral quiet so none off her close neighbours or friends even knew she had died, neighbours who she had lived next to for 50 years had no idea. Colin (my father) wanted the funeral over quick as he was starting his chemotherapy (as he has cancer to) on the Monday after the funeral. My Auntie said it was like a paupers funeral.

Event though we weren't close I would have still given her a decent send off, would have had her friends and family around her. I felt I had to do something so I wrote an announcement myself:

HUGHES In memory of Joyce. Mam, the chance to make our peace and to say goodbye was cruelly taken away from us. We hope you are now at peace. From your daughters Karen and Susan, your sons-in-law Glen and Steve and your grandchildren Jessica, Nichola, Aaron and Luke.

3 days later my so-called family did the same:
HUGHES Family of the late Joyce, would like to thank everyone for their kind thoughts and floral tributes. The funeral held on March 3 was attended by close family members, Colin, Trish, Chris, John, Steve, Lynn and grandchildren and friends.

My mother had died of Lung cancer, Breast cancer and suffered with osteoporosis and curvature off the spine. She had been really poorly since Christmas 2005 and really suffered.


The questions I keep asking myself are.

What mother would not want to have all her children around her when she knew she was dying?
What mother wouldn't inform all her children she was ill?

What family would not tell their sister there mother had died?
Why was I not given the chance to make my peace and say goodbye.

I have been through all the emotions:
Anger: at my family for not informing me.
Sadness as what I had lost, what my children had lost. Not being given the chance to make my peace and say goodbye. I feel robbed.
Loss, to think my mother has gone without wanting to see or talk to me, dying without making her peace.

Now I am a mother it makes this really hard to understand as I couldn't see me doing this to my children, it frightens me to think that someone can go that far, take her bitterness to her grave without making things right.
I couldn't face anyone or answer anyone's questions, why weren't you there, why did she not want to talk to you? I snapped at my family, my head was all over the place, I couldn't think straight. I would have been able to cope better if I had heard she was ill, if I had been given the chance to do the right thing, or at least do what I thought was best, I could have decided to just leave it, that has been taken away from me, its final.. Nothing I can do about it now..

I feel guilty for feeling the way I do as I don't have any right, I wasn't apart of the family for 8 years before she died I cut them out off my life but surely the death of your mother is enough to at least bring the family together just for the funeral..
Or am I wrong ???

Hi I am Karen, I am here to write about my life and read about yours.. If you like what you read please upvote and leave me a message so I can come visit youfollow me on Twitter
Sort:  

I describe myself as a Rent-A-Father, while I myself have 2 grow girls ; I inherited a 9 year old from the neighbors many years ago. Her family is very dysfunctional , she is now 35 years old.

Since we are separated by Earth's equator I have not seen her in a few years. Knowing ages ago she disconnected her Facebook account last Monday I went looking in the hopes of maybe finding some way to reconnect with her.

I did all this myself, no one else knew nor could have known. About nine hours later my oldest daughter emails me to mention my Rent-A-Daughter is trying to get in touch ! ! !

Now I have asked her for backup ways to stay in touch for the future ! ! !

Sorry for your loss . . .

Good, I am pleased you have sorted it out.
I had no feelings for her, she was my mother only in she raised me , I couldn't be ill and not want all my babies around me. She did exactly to me what her mother did to her
Thank you

I completely understand what your saying from my own remote perspective . . .

/ hugz ; sorry the world is just a weird place . . .

Families are weirder :)

so true ; you pick friends . . .

Karen, I totally sympathise. My Dad never wanted me to know anything about him. If it weren't for his flatmates I would have found him face down two weeks later in a pool of his own vomit. I was lucky because that would have destroyed me.

Have you thought about talking it over with your family? You may not want to ask for forgiveness but talking it over may help - and then at least you know the ball is in their court.

My Grandad died when I wasn't there. He was a big part of my life and I missed his funeral. Last time I visited I had a long talk with him at his grave. And that made me feel connected, at least somewhat. :)

The sad thing is he called me his favorite, messing with my head as usual. Ihave my odd days were I reallt want to give up ad hating myself gets too much but then I see what he has done and what I have done, I'm a much better Person than him and achieved so much more than he ever did. Thank you for your kind words :)

hello @karenb54, I'm just stopping back to let you know that your post was one of my favourite reads today that I just posted. You can read what I had to say here

I'm on my way over to have a look. had a few dark days starting to see some light :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.4. Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise.

Built by @ontofractal

This is truly sad. I can't see moving on without closure. My family used to hide big scares until they were "over."

Theres no going back from what she has done. I wasn't there so don't know if she asked for me as me and my oldest sister hated each other, it's something she would do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60171.52
ETH 2421.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46