The Glorious Hamster Wheel

in #life7 years ago (edited)

This morning marked somewhat of an epiphany.

It was the day of my triumphant return to the gym. And as I had promised myself, I leapt out of bed at 5.45am, guns a-blazing.*

*(I crawled out of bed and wondered what the hell I was doing.)

A mere half an hour later, I breezed through the door of my local gymnasium, and gave the receptionist a nod and smile that said,

Yes, yes I am one of those ladies that's here at the gym at 6am.

I perhaps gave myself away a little when I was unable to get through the swing gates because I didn't know which way to put the card in though.

No matter.

Anyone can make a mistake at sparrow's fart in the morning after only half a cup of coffee.

A quick trip to the locker room to stash my bag and I was ready to go.

I determined not to be put off in the face of all that jazzy neon, second skin, technologically advanced sweat-wicking gym gear that my fellow early birds were wearing, and instead embrace my old faded joggers, unnecessarily pink trainers and bobbly, stretched vest that dates back to the last millennia.

I'm bringing vintage cool to the gym.

I should be wearing shades.

I plug in my earphones and get on the treadmill. Actually, on closer inspection, it wasn't a treadmill.

It was a hamster wheel.

Well I'll be monkey's uncle!

It's not actually a complete wheel, more like a curved bridge. But yes, it's not electric - you push the thing round with your feet (and legs etc.)

I dubiously started to push it round, half wondering why on earth I'm paying through the nose to get on a hamster wheel.

Push, Push, wheely, wheely, spin, spin.....

A few minutes passed and something happened.

I got it!

Well, actually I still didn't really get it, but man was I starting to enjoy myself. Who woulda thought that all this time, the hamster had it so good?

This thing was glorious!

It was a masterpiece of cardiovascular resistance engineering!

It was the mother load of gym equipment!

The lowly hamster wheel was bringing me to ecstatic heights quite inappropriate for an early morning at the gym.

I tried to play it cool, but my inner child was shouting Haha! I'm on a hamster wheel! Look at meeeee! Weeeeeeee!

I went faster. I went slower.

I strode, I scurried.

I grinned stupidly at the guy on the bike next to me.

He ignored me.

No matter.

I knew in my heart of hearts he was rooting for me. He knew I was in the middle of my first hamster wheel experience.

And with some motivational, life busting speeches in my bluetooth earbuds, nothing could take away my childish glee right now .

Wow, I thought, catching my breath.

I get it.

I get why people get out of bed to come here every morning.

It's the goddamn hamster wheel.


Bless you giphy.com

cute coloured dots line.png

Thanks for stopping by! Here are some more posts you might like...

The Whats that Came Out

The Dead Roses

The Headless Poser


Follow me, @johleen if you like the kind of stuff I do. :)

Sort:  

Love it!😆
Glad you enjoyed your time at the gym. Could you take a picture of it? I think I was inside a gym once to buy a muffin.... 😊
Following you and upvoted

Have a great day!
Lizelle

Haha! Excellent use of a gym I would say!!

Great post , you go girl \o/ i felt the same when i started riding a bike again, took me right back to my childhood, i go everywhere on it now and only fell off it twice \o/

Haha! Twice is good going!! I keep thinking I need to get a bike again actually... I used to love bike riding but haven't had one in years now.

Does it look something like this? Something so ironic about being excited to board a hamster wheel haha! I used to love working out, but I fear that my love for my bed far exceeds it. Going to the gym at 6AM is quite unthinkable for me!

Yes very like that! Only more of a curve in the back and front!

Yep the 6am gym thing used to be quite unthinkable for me too. But if I don't do it then, by the time I've got all the kids to school etc it's time to get on with all the other things I need to do in the day and I just won't do any exercise!

Perhaps when I have kids of my own, a 6AM gym schedule is the only schedule I would know as well!

Gyms are the one place where vintage is definitely needed most 😀 😃 😄 😁

Yeah most gym clothes are too modern and ugly. They look like space suits or something. 👨‍🌾 👩‍🍳 I hope you have a WONDERFUL weekend!

That's awesome! Makes me wish we had a hamster wheel at my gym. Hahaha!

I'm thinking of having one installed in the house hee hee!

Haha awesome!

What if you actually aren't human but a hamster?

Actually, don't mind boring people who won't share your joy! If people are ignoring you they might just be boring people, like that one guy! You go hamster!

Woah! Now that's food for thought... [nibbles on some lettuce]....

Oh no!

Hee hee. :)

Thanks for your work as well! Followed. Please follow me

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @johleen to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 0.63 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95