Fumbling Toward Jesus: Finding His Strength in Our Weakness

in #life4 years ago


Admitting our own personal weakness at the feet of Jesus makes us strong in Him. I’m mainly writing this as a reminder to myself today, as I have to remind myself of this often. Weakness is strength. We have to die daily to ourselves to live in Him.
I protest, brothers, by my pride in you, which I have in Christ Jesus our Lord, I die every day!
‭‭1 Corinthians‬ ‭15:31‬

This is a perpetual activity. We have to do it moment-by-moment, and day-by-day. As we see in today’s verse from 2 Timothy, He gives us the necessary tools of the Spirit to accomplish the tasks for Him. While salvation happens in a moment, our sanctification happens over a lifetime of moments in which we give ourselves to Christ to build up our spiritual strength.

And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me.”
Luke 9:23

The first step to growing that strength in our Father is admitting our weakness as sinners who have fallen short of the glory of God (Romans 3:23). He’s got you. He’s got me. Let’s do this. Die daily. Live in Him, for Him, and by Him with every breath and every step.

For God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control. ‭‭2 Timothy‬ ‭1:7‬

We are equipped with the tools we need to live the life He wants us to live. We have them on-hand—it’s just a matter of using them.


We already have the tools.
We are not equipped for fear and timidity.
Remember that.


1. Is it difficult for you to admit personal weakness? How do you think this impacts the spiritual areas of your life?

Drop a comment below, and let’s grow together in His grace!



I am Jessamyn Orchard (@jessamynorchard), and I am a former youth pastor, worship minister, and church lay leader, who graduated from a Christian college. Most recently, however, I’m an addict in recovery who rededicated my life to Jesus about 6 months ago. I was raised in church, and saved at age 12, but I did a lot of straying over the past 10+ years, falling into pits of sin through addictions and self-pity. I’m no authority, just a believer in a big God and called to spread His word through as many conduits as present themselves to me. Fumbling Toward Jesus is a multi-media ministry campaign and includes a written blog of daily devotions on Steemit and an accompanying monthly podcast on Anchor.fm, and it represents years of study—both over the years and lately, and now combined with a whole load of human experience. I’m just a super nerdy sinner saved by a really awesome grace.

### Do you need a Bible? [Download YouVersion Bible for iOS and Android:](http://www.youversion.com) Benefits include multiple popular and hard-to-find translations, tons of Bible Study programs and Reading Plans by modern and historic scholars, built-in social media platform, and it’s FREE!

Download eSword Study Bible for PC: Benefits include extensive translations, commentaries, scholarly materials, customizable format, and more!


A Sinful Woman Forgiven Series:
Part I,Part II, Part III, Part IV

Keeing Negative Thoughts In Check (Philippians 4:8)

When Depression Strikes (1 Kings 19:5)

The Discipline of Darkness (Matthew 10:27)

Prayer Request Wednesday Initiative Introductory Post



Unless otherwise noted, all scripture quotations are from The ESV® Bible (The Holy Bible, English Standard Version®), copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved. Any bold or italics used in scripture quotation is of my own emphasis.
All stock photography is sourced exclusively from pexels.com, and is used with permission. All photo editing, text addition, and image alterations are original to me.


Thank you for reading Fumbling Toward Jesus on Steemit! Your upvotes, resteems and follows are graciously received and appreciated.

Alt text


Sort:  

Congratulations @jessamynorchard! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 300 posts. Your next target is to reach 350 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65423.69
ETH 3429.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31