"If You Won't Set Goals For Yourself, You're Gonna Be a Pawn For Somebody Else's Dreams"

in #life6 years ago

"I walked out of my dreams. I lost my vision for myself, I just let dad run my life."

This statement from an acquaintance hits me so hard that it still echoes in my head this long. How can this 27-year old lady whom you thought has all the favors in life sounds like she has not enough and just simply unhappy with where she is now? Oh! This is extremely contrary to how she dressed up and carry herself, how she cheers for the people around her, and how everyone in the room is entertained when she talks.

We've been together in a seminar for 3 days. She's jolly, jovial, jamming and a friend to everybody in the room. These were all I just knew about her the first day of being caged in one roof. As the seminar went by, numerous sharing was done, which tremendously gave everyone the chance to get into each other's deeper self and know one more than just how she/he appears like before anybody else.

And so . . .

Bulls-Eye-Goal.jpg
The talk was about goal setting, and everyone was encouraged to impart at least a thing they have learned from the day's activity. When she finally got her turns, the room was kinda filled with a strange feeling that I couldn't figure out. This was what she courageously shared with every spirit in the room,

"I am the eldest in the family. I do get things my way. I'm in our family business for seven years already. My dad asked me to help him manage the business, and so, I felt like my dad really need me in the business, which challenged me hard at first. Yeah! I boss everyone around and make sure that all things are done the way I want it. "Do this! Do that!" Well, this is just one of my favorite lines. And if my people just messed things up, I just shrugged and slapped them with their mistakes. "See? I told you!" This is always what I told them every time they don't deliver things the way I like it.

Hours, days, weeks, months, and years were more than spent. I had arrived at a point that I found myself just hate being in our family business, want to step out from this illusion and just do other kinds of stuff. But, daddy's voice kept ringing in my head. "Just a mistake from you, and you're gonna put your people's lives to hell. They'll lose their jobs. So keep up!" This statement from dad held me back that I forgot what I wanted for my life. I eventually lost my vision, and just worked hard not for the company but just for my dad. I didn't care about our company's employees, I just cared about dad. I didn't want to disappoint him, and so I just continued with what he wanted me to do and gave everything the best but bitter shots.

Time flew. I didn't like the feelin' anymore. I'm stuck and became stagnant for long. I knew what I want but I just set it aside and let it be dormant. Now, I've realized a thing, a very significant one which you could all reflect upon, I hope. You know what? I was like a pawn, I felt like I'm just used for somebody's dreams. Yeah, I knew that this was because I didn't focus on my goals for my life. I'm lost! And so, this is for you everybody, "IF YOU WON'T SET A GOAL FOR YOURSELF, YOU'RE GONNA BE PAWN FOR SOMEBODY ELSE'S DREAMS." So set a target and focus to achieve it, live your dreams, not others'.

Everyone's jaw was like dropped and just silence filled the hall for like 5 minutes. Some were getting emotional and got their eyes teary.

I hope everyone got something beneficial from here. Yes, we would just be used by others to help them build their dreams for themselves if we won't set a target for our own self. Well, nothing's really wrong with helping others turn their dreams into reality, but living their dreams to the extent of forgetting and losing your own vision and dreams for yourself is what's gonna make it wrong. I mean, you just wanna be used others solely for themselves? You just wanna be run by them? Then, revive your goals, and live them!

Image Source: 1 2 3

til' then,

@jenesa

Sort:  

The title itself is a eye opener. Thank u for this post.it starts my day right👌👌👌

thank you @orhem. Yeah, we really have to have a goal for our own so as not to be used by others. Have a great day orhem

yay, nkablog na jd

hahahhahha. lage nahuman nmn ang election gud. hahaha

opps your back with a shut gun my friend... it shoots my head but alive....char! makahilak man sad ta ani daizt....

This is just a good comeback! See you around. I felt like you left me in here. Hahaha You are the culprit why I am here, remember? Lol!

hahahhaa culprit jd @christianyocte? hahahha. nabusy lage kadyot akong kaanyag uie.. wa taka gbyaan my friend uie. nipahuway sa ko kay dmd jd

Aw hahahh. Ediwow jud ka jen!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 3.19% upvote!
I was summoned by @jenesa. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

excellent post!

thanks my friend. Im lost for a couple of months. Now Im back

you are welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78