Do YOU believe in MISTAKES?

in #life7 years ago

mistakes.jpg

“One great thing about a life of positivity is that it comes with no regrets. So what is stopping you from giving it an honest try?” ― Edmond Mbiaka

If I were to hold on to regret for all the ‘mistakes’ I have made in my life, continuously beating myself up about them, then I would have spent an awfully large amount of time feeling sorry for myself and quite frankly, that seems like a terrible waste of the time that we have been afforded in this experience we call life.

Quotefancy-2247770-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit: https://quotefancy.com

The other day I wrote a post called “UNAPOLOGETICALLY ME!” Which you can catch up on here if you so wish: https://steemit.com/life/@jaynie/unapologetically-me

The majority of the feedback on it was very positive – as, for the most part everybody grasped the message. However, I got a serious tongue lashing from a guy on another social media platform that I shared it on. He got so aggressive and bitter about what I had written, demanding that I stop filling people’s minds with my “rubbish”. He really was VERY upset about it. I eventually blocked him because there was nothing I was going to say that was going to make even an iota of difference.

But it did trigger a thought process…


Image Credit: https://cdn2.geckoandfly.com

I don’t think he really understood what I was trying to say in that article, but nonetheless, one of the statements he made was that it is impossible to live unapologetically because regret is part of life.

…Wasn’t really my point in case, but I did understand what he was saying.

It is always fascinating to me how different minds will dissect the same piece of information and often end up with completely different results and opinions.

He saw it like this:

People make mistakes all through their lives, it is not possible to live without them and therefore “unapologetically” because there is always something that you would be “sorry for” or regret doing. That was it! A road to nowhere, a continuous circle of mistake after mistake and apology after apology…

I saw it like this:

People make mistakes all through their lives, it is not possible to live without them and therefore we need to change our perspective of them, no longer seeing them as mistakes but as opportunities to learn and grow.

Now, I am no rocket scientist – but I can VERY clearly see which one of those selections is a dead end and which one isn’t.

“I have tried to live my life with no regrets. Because regrets will become guilt in some cases, and guilt eats away at your sanity.” ― James Hauenstein

Quotefancy-37532-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit: https://quotefancy.com

My parents got divorced when I was 5years old and yes, it was a very painful part in all of our lives, as a family, we went through some very challenging times. After my divorce I dated a guy who had lost his mother to cancer and did not have a very good relationship with his dad. He asked me once “How can you still love your parents after everything they put you through?”

I answered: “how could I not?! – Marriage and parenting doesn’t come with a bloody handbook. They did their best and that is it. My son is two years old and I have already had to learn from several ‘mistakes’ I have made as a mother.” Sadly – he never did see past his anger towards his dad… not for as long as we dated anyway.

“Failure is instructive. The person who really thinks learns quite as much from his failures as from his successes.” ― John Dewey


Image Credit: https://weneedfun.com

My point is – you are always offered a choice in life. If you are wronged, you can harbor anger and bitterness or you can forgive. When you make a mistake or do something you regret, you can either wallow in it, or you can look at what you can learn from it, so that you don’t do it again and in turn grow as an individual.

So in essence, my viewpoint is this – if the so called “mistake” has taught you something about yourself, life or circumstance, or has forced you to break a bad habit or step out of negative comfort zone – then was it really a mistake?

I certainly don’t think so.

“We are products of our past, but we don't have to be prisoners of it.” ― Rick Warren

32 years later in my life, after all the ‘mistakes’ of mine and others, I have an amazing relationship with both my parents, they have one of a kind friendship with each other. As siblings we are all very close, despite our contrasting personalities and so we continue to walk – embracing one another and every experience or ‘mistake’ we encounter along the way.

Quotefancy-32102-3840x2160.jpg
Image Credit: https://quotefancy.com

Life, with all its hills and valleys – is an AMAZING teacher, if you are open to receive.

“Many times what we perceive as an error or failure is actually a gift. And eventually we find that lessons learned from that discouraging experience prove to be of great worth.” ― Richelle E. Goodrich


Image Credit: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com

Sort:  

We certainly make mistakes, all of us. Our perception of the situation is what determines whether these mistakes will create regret or not.

Regret does not have to have any part in our lives whatsoever.

Great way to look at it Jaynie, keep rockin. :)

I think we all regret things we have done in our lives. We all make mistakes but how will you know otherwise to make a better choice in the future?

Mistakes are there for us to learn from - it is sad that they often come at the cost of others, especially when children are involved, but without them we would never evolve, never aim towards self-improvement and we will forget how to be humble - mistakes keep us humble. Much love, @sweetpea

So VERY true @sweetpea!!! So very true! thank you for such a lovely comment xxxxxxxxxx

Ooooh. I really enjoyed this. I rarely meet others who have the same views as I do; people beat themselves up too often, wallow too much in the past, and crucify themselves for things they really shouldn't have. I'd be interested as to what set you along this path of enlightenment when the world is so firmly set against achieving this state of mind. We're always told we 'need' something to make ourselves awesome, but if we stopped and thought for a second we'd realise we are awesome anyway.

It's funny you should say that your parents split at 5, mine did too, and, by my count you're 37? That's my age. Interesting! I always think the older you get the wiser and less worried you become.

I did a kind of unapologetically me post too, I'm not too sure if it's the same as yours --but I'm going to read yours now :)

Wonderful post! Life does not "come with an eraser" (to quote a very dear friend), so we have to learn from mistakes. There would be no progress if we didn't. We'd still be sitting in a cold cave trying smash rocks together and make an accidental fire if we didn't learn. Great post sweets! Please check into this one, #karaokecontest I'd ALMOST here!

Thank you for reminding us about how important it is for us to learn from mistakes. Great one.

and thank you for the lovely feedback :)

I do think that mistakes are the best lessons that we have in life.
If we don't do mistakes, how could we learn and improve? They are the experience that we gather in life.

Yeah interesting that guy couldnt see your perspective, we should feel sorry for him I suppose. I both agree and disagree with you, wow isnt that so typically me!

I agree we should not keep apologising for our mistakes (they are unavoidable) and life a life free of regret is our goal. I also see that its impossible to avoid regret.
How? I think of it like this, none of us is one single uniform fully cogent person, from moment to moment we are continually changing, due to all kinds of factors. Sometimes we are going to feel empowered and dismiss regret as a waste of our time and value; other times we feel its difficult not to look back and wonder 'what if?'. I do think we can attempt to conciously push ourselves not to have regrets, but denying our true feelings is not healthy.

The only way to overcome a specific incident of regret, is to truly forgive yourself and/or acknowledge the judgement of others; for most people this is difficult. It requires some time out to truly concentrate on the event, how it made us feel, and recognition of its lack of power over us now.
If you feel guilt, in this case you need to forgive yourself.
If you feel shame, in this case you need to acknowledge the judgement of others, then forgive yourself.

So we will feel regret, its unavoidable, but if we take some time out every now and again, we can also deal with the regret, draw a line beneath it, and then allow it to fade into an event like any other.

The only way to overcome a specific incident of regret, is to truly forgive yourself and/or acknowledge the judgement of others; for most people this is difficult. It requires some time out to truly concentrate on the event, how it made us feel, and recognition of its lack of power over us now.
If you feel guilt, in this case you need to forgive yourself.
If you feel shame, in this case you need to acknowledge the judgement of others, then forgive yourself.

So we will feel regret, its unavoidable, but if we take some time out every now and again, we can also deal with the regret, draw a line beneath it, and then allow it to fade into an event like any other.

SPOT ON... except, that at the end of the day once you have dealt with it (forgivness, acceptance etc) I prefer to look for the lesson in it rather than just letting it fade away into another day... there is something to learn in EVERY experience... good and bad.

Really insightful comment @scalextrix - thank you so much x :)

For sure you are right, we can always learn from mistakes, and should do. I have often said to colleagues, it doesnt matter if we make mistakes, only that they are not the same ones...

so true! First time is a mistake, second time is a decision :)

I certainly agree with most of what you said. I lived a regret-prone life (not by choice but by learning) until I had enough. That's when I started working in cultivating a positive perspective. However, I am not sure I can live completely apology free, unless all the mistakes I do are related to myself and my life. If I, by any chance, hurt someone in the process of making a mistake, I believe I should show some remorse. Some mistakes are easy to move on from, but others (Such as abuse or crimes etc) are not easy to live with, unless the person lost all their humanity in the process of making those mistakes. Only then they will be living unapologetically them.
Having said that, I am not against anything you said. I only think there is another deeper level to it. Does this make sense?
Sincerely :)

I thank you for your input. it is greatly valued,.

The "unapologetically" aspect was taken completely out of context by the individual I referenced... he did not understand the original post - which had nothing to do with the "literal interpretation" of the word... which will make sense if you read the original post

  • it was about accepting oneself and not apologising for "who you are" :)

Thank you again for the lovely feedback x

Here then I apologize, since I didn't read the original post yet ;)
I agree with you and I am learning to do that in my life now. Good work and good luck :)

and thank you xxx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56500.57
ETH 2341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33