(IJCH) A 1960's Drawing Contest, a Raw Deal, and a Loving Father (or How I won a drawing contest, then got Unfairly Disqualified!)

in #life6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) A 1960's Drawing Contest, a Raw Deal, and a Loving Father (or How I won a drawing contest, then got Unfairly Disqualified!)

Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

A few days ago, I saw this wonderfully artistic and friendly, well-written post by @jacinta.sevilla:

"Pencil Drawing of a Couple ✏️ Useful Tips You Might Like"

Source

And I should have written this post then, but better late than never, no?

I urge you to indulge and experience @jacinta.sevilla's post as soon as possible (before it becomes a 7-Day Pumpkin).

Seriously, if you admire artistic talent and enjoy an articulate, charming writing style, see this post soon.

Article Link:

https://steemit.com/art/@jacinta.sevilla/pencil-drawing-of-a-couple-useful-tips-you-might-like

As for me, I was compelled to submit this comment to @jacinta.sevilla:

A 1960's Drawing Contest, a Raw Deal, and a Loving Father (or How I won a drawing contest, then got Unfairly Disqualified!)

3 characters.jpg
Source

(Comment To: @jacinta.sevilla)

Wow! You've got quite a bit of talent!

Source

RE: Your Post

The post made me remember this experience from my very early childhood...

Source

I used to draw and paint a lot when I was younger.

And I know you are much too young to be familiar with the "Draw Me" contest ads in the old comic books and magazines of the 1960s, but one time I entered the monthly contest and won it!

Draw Lucky.jpg
Source

But later, the judges rescinded the award because they deemed my submission as being "too sophisticated" for such a young child and promptly disqualified me!

Source

In other words, since the contest was strictly for young amateurs, they thought I was already a working artist and was cheating!

Source

To top it off, the judges and sponsors' decision was final - no recourse whatsoever for contestant grievances!

Source

I was sooooo pissed-off that I broke all my pencils, dumped/destroyed all my pigment (paint) tubes, tore up my sketchpads, slashed all my "never finished" paintings, etc. and tossed them in the garbage!

Source

And I swore I would let the world know what a dishonest bunch of scumbags the drawing contest judges and sponsors were!

(Unfortunately, back then there was no internet; meaning, I was SOL [Shit Out of Luck]!)

I balled up the original ad for the contest entry and shouted,"How dare those crooked adults pick on a little kid like me! I'll show them!"

Source

But I was alone in the house, so my screams were only heard by my bedroom walls.

After awhile I got depressed.

Source

I realized, because I was just a kid, my chances of getting any retribution were slim to none; probably a million to one in the judges and sponsors' favor - and would probably cost that much to even try.

When my father arrived home from work, he discovered the piles of broken art supplies surrounding our trash bins. Then he painstakingly sifted through the discarded mess and retrieved everything salvageable.

Then he sat me down and explained that I should take the judges' reaction as the best form of praise and admiration, albeit indirectly.

Source

Somehow, after talking with my Dad, the disqualification and desire for revenge/justice didn't matter anymore.

What mattered most to me was that my Dad understood what happened, was still very proud of my efforts, and most of all, always made me feel that I was unconditionally loved - no matter what.

Source

Yes, my late father was a great Dad and a very, very wise man.

And everyday, when I think about him, I close my eyes and exhale a long, smiling sigh.

Source

Thanks for reminding me of those memories.

Namaste, Jaichai

(End of comment)

Parting Shots

Source

Source

Source

By JaiChai

Mighty Kind of You for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

Wow!!! Omy
Thats so unfair and im so sorry to hear that. I didnt know you drew at all.

Thank you for sharing
And mentioning me :D

There are many other paths. I admire your talent and patience.

I truly apologize for writing this so late. I promise that when it comes to anything related to your blog, I'll get off my lazy ass sooner!

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste, JaiChai

Thanks so much for your support!! Its an honor :)

P.S.

I fixed the missing graphic (the one under "I'll show them!").

Check it out. It's hilarious!

Namaste, JaiChai

I will! hold on! :D

Very Good post.. Thanks, @jaichai..

Thank you very much for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, JaiChai

Thanks for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, JaiChai

well that's some bullshit. you go get em baby jaichai =)

hi i like that section about pencil drawing....the sketches are superb. You have my upvote.....follow me and upvote my posts too please

Already done.

Namaste, JaiChai

P.S.

Friendly Suggestion?

Since some Steemians might negatively misconstrue your request, maybe it's better to just say: "I have followed you and delightfully upvoted your post."

Hello jaichai!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 151 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Wow! You must be a really good artist. Why not post your art here?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24