Pencil Drawing of a Couple ✏️ Useful Tips You Might Like 🎨

in #art6 years ago

WHAT MATERIALS DID I USE?

Here's a useful new drawing tip I can give today.
I employed the use of two new art materials and it helped me a lot.

  • Use brushpens brushpens are pens with a felt tip shaped like a paint brush. Black brushpens are darker than gel pens or ballpoint pens. So it adds extra depth and darker shadows that help give more definition

  • Use a Paint brush (or a make up brush) I have never used a paintbrush in portrait making even though many of my artist friends use it. For a long time I have been hesitant to use it because - well, sometimes new things can ess up a routine in art making and it was a hassle to apply something I knew nothing about. And, I don't have a make up brush

SO!

I still decided to try it. And we're is my outcome!

MY ART
IMG_20180721_192640_948.jpg
Title: Couple 2
Medium: Graphite Pencils
Size: 8x10 inches
Duration: 8 hrs. approx.
Year: 2018

Pray before you draw! God gives you an art block to make you overcome it, trials and struggles so you learn to be better!

Hopefully the client likes it. If they don't like it, they don't buy it!
My previous couple Portrait was not as successful but this one is more accurate so I am more confident.

MATERIALS

My humble starter pack for b&w portraiture:
✏️Graphite pencils

  • 3b - base
  • 6b - midtone
  • 7b - shades

✏️Erasers

  • Mechanical eraser (or any hard eraser)
  • Kneaded eraser

✏️Flat tip paint brush
Remember we need a stiff brush or else it wont be firm enough to spread the pigment/ graphite

✏️Brushpen
This has to be black and pointy

✏️Sharpener
A sharp sharpener for a sharp pencil

2018-07-21 06.36.54 1~2.jpg

Process Photos

Sharing pictures of the process!


2018-06-28 10.20.38 1.jpg
  • Let's stary with a sketch, I'm such a messy artist

2018-06-28 11.34.42 1.jpg
*Using 3b pencil and smudging it, spreading a base pigment.

2018-07-02 06.36.51 1.jpg

  • Spreading the graphite with tissue then refine it with the paintbrush.

2018-07-03 01.33.49 1~2.jpg

  • Once the face is formed, I darken with 6b pencil and then 7b for darkesr areas.
  • Also use your soft eraser for highlights.

2018-07-11 03.51.34 2.jpg

  • Sketch the man.

2018-07-18 02.41.53 1~2.jpg

  • Light to dark.

2018-07-21 01.42.29 1.jpg

  • Light crosshatch and then use paintbrush to spread the graphite. It spreads smoother, faster and easier.

2018-07-21 06.01.18 1.jpg

  • Use brushpen and 7b to darken the eyes and hair and shadows. Retouch some shading to get natural gradation, then erase extra and unnecessary dirt.
  • Use mechanical pencil to create the brightest highlights.

IMG-20180721-WA0043.jpeg

  • Cut and scan

art1.jpg

  • Scanner too bright.
  • Adjust contrast.art2.jpg
  • Finished.

THAT'S ALL FOLKS!

So relieved to finish this already. Now proceeding to other artsy plans. 💖

THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR TAKING THE TIME OUT TO READ THIS.

I hope you learned and see you!


🌍🌎🌏
THE ENVIRONMENT CALLS FOR YOU
HELP SAVE HER ♥️✨🕊️

Follow me to be updated with news on environment and animals. This includes:
Daily updates
‎Petitions
‎Donations
For all animals and the environment.
20180313_145342.gif
20180321_112522.gif
20180326_194801.gif
20180411_225249.gif
WE DO NOT INHERIT THE EARTH FROM OUR ANCESTORS, WE BORROW IT FROM OUR CHILDREN
🌏🌎🌍

😱IT IS IMPORTANT TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES☝️
I recommend these
@steemgigs
@blocktrades
@precise
@cloh76.witness
@ausbitbank

SOME AWESOME BLOGGERS
You don't want to miss😉
@gems.and.cookies
@anomadsoul
@surpassinggoogle
@bayanihan
@topkpop
@sirsensei
@hiddenblade
@juliakponsford
@juliank
@bayanihan
@deveerei
@korinkrafting
@fukumineko
@vocafrost
@noellesevilla
@kneelyrac
@sukiyakii
@sethlinson
@helene
@mattphilleo
@deemarshall

🦄✨❣️🌼
Proud member of
#steemph
#artguildph
#untalented
#steemitachievers
#steemitbloggers
#gratefulvibes
#steem-cartoon

That's all folks!
XOXO 💋
@jacinta.sevilla
Screenshot_20180607-193340~2.png
received_10214586986052169.jpegDQmU6EHRF2Pj2uHqT9hQtTHPVgmyBWgKoNeoPGWNB7Zo7Pj.png
Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

Sort:  

Very nice. So realistic. You have amazing drawing skills.

Thank you so much!!! :D

my pleasure!! Perfect!!

This is great work! I think that you are very talented! And it is nice that you are sharing the tools that you are using with us, I appreciate that!

You're welcome!!! :D glad to share

Congratulations @jacinta.sevilla! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wow! You've got quite a bit of talent!

RE: Your Post

Your post made me remember this experience from my early childhood...

I used to draw and paint a lot when I was younger. And I know you are much too young to be familiar with the "Draw Bambi, Gimpy, etc." contest ads in the old comic books and magazines, but one time I entered the monthly contest and won it!

But later, the judges rescinded the award because they deemed my submission as being "too sophisticated" for such a young child that they disqualified me! In other words, since the contest was strictly for amateurs, they thought I was already an artist and was cheating!

I was sooooo pissed-off that I broke all my pencils, gathered up my art supplies and through them in the garbage!

Fortunately, my father found them and retrieved all of it.

Then he sat me down and explained that I should take the judges reaction and the best form of praise.

My Dad was a VERY WISE MAN.

(And I think about him everyday)

Thanks for reminding me of those memories.

Namaste, Jaichai

Hello @jacinta.sevilla, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Beautiful work as always!!! I love the vivid contrast you've gotten with the new brush pens. Great job!

Thank youuuuu :D I'm glad you noticed haha :) Contrast really makes things pop so yea! Yayyy thanks!

Props to you in my latest post.

Hope this gets you more Steemit love:

"(IJCH) A 1960's Drawing Contest, a Raw Deal, and a Loving Father (or How I won a drawing contest, then got Unfairly Disqualified!)"

Source

Article Link:

https://steemit.com/life/@jaichai/ijch-a-1960-s-drawing-contest-a-raw-deal-and-a-loving-father-or-how-i-won-a-drawing-contest-then-got-unfairly-disqualified

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

Namaste, JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55258.26
ETH 2459.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.19