Things that make you explode

in #life5 years ago

I know, I know, we're all billionaires, it's amazing, but also really hard because....where the fuck am I going to park that second Lambo? There just isn't enough space...God, and to think the plebs imagine we have it easy.

But no, seriously, I've decided to be one of them graceful, very humble rich kids who everyone loves and admires, yeah? So, here's me doing my bit of humble-ness (or whatever you call it). I was sitting on the bus the other day - because, you know, we weren't rich-ass kids then - and I found myself with the widest grin on my face. Sitting by myself and smiling like a weirdo - basically me, in a sentence. But I had an excellent reason (this time). I'd fallen in love. Just then, on the bus.

As I read the opening paragraphs of 'The Lesser Bohemians', I knew I'd found a mate, someone who understood me. Literally. Now, this is one of those amazing books that doesn't care about punctuation, or proper words or sentence structure. It's crazy in the most wonderful way because the writer doesn't write. She's literally thinking on the page (well, the main character is, but still) and that's refreshing, to say the least.
46637932_208751333349253_6712394487571677184_n.jpg

I move. Cars move. Stock, it bends light. City opening itself behind. Here's to be for its life is the bite and would be start of mine.

Exactly.

That's how the book starts and I'm already in over my head. Why? Because it captured me, it's alive, and even though I'm sitting on a crowded, frozen bus, I've stepped into another world. And I love books that do that, books that take you away, from the very first word.
And this one did just that, it drew me away, it took my cold-bitten hand and pulled me inside a dark alley, full of words and vitality.

And the best thing about it is - it's free. I got it off at the library (which sadly means I'll have to return it, at some point, if I don't decide to buy off the entire library). I can be this - gloriously - happy and not have to pay a cent for it. See, yesterday I had quite a good day. Waking up late after a long night with this fantastic little read, I spent the day writing. In the evening, I went out to a conference to support a friend who was speaking. It was fun, she was happy and that made me happy. Proud, too. And then, I came home and found one of my favorite bands had just released a new song after a year-long wait. A phenomenal song, I might add. Great to get lost in, to explode.
Like the book, like my friend's smile.

Funny thing is, I didn't have time to worry about the shitty markets. Sure, it's bad, but I have so much making me happy right now. I'm not saying I wasn't thrilled to discover I'm an overnight-billionaire. Just, you know, we shouldn't forget the truly important things in life and blah-blah-blah.

Okay, you can get back to your private islands or buying France or whatever the hell you weirdos were doing.
Just, you know, stay humble.

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

In between my purchase of a new yacht and a sports team, I read your article and it really brought me back down to reality! So, today I am buying all of the farms and grocery stores so I can make sure no one ever goes hungry again. Next, I'm buying all of the books because I can't get enough of them! And more bookcases, I already need more of those as it is.

lmao!!! I just bought KLM airways. Off to buy Kik chat!

Owww @reeseshara that is so nice of you. But why bother with bookcases? I'm sure you can just buy a couple of ole mansions to store them in, darling ;)

Haha true! How silly of me.

Lol @pangoli.

I bought now the book, the beginning and the cover convince me its worth it. Btw you look so cute in the picture, I couldn't help say it.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is so cool! I'm glad to hear that, I hope you enjoy it :D And thank youuu <3 You are so sweet!

i probably should buy over my country. And then the whole bookstores in it.

Mwahahaha I think that's an excellent idea:D

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 3000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Meet the Steemians Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes
Meet the Steemians Contest - Special attendees revealed
Meet the Steemians Contest - Intermediate results

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63