Who is your daughter's hero?

in #life7 years ago

Yesterday was International Women's Day.



"In your satin tights, fighting for your rights, and the old Red, White, and Blue!"

To be honest, I didn't do anything special for it. I coincidentally wore red to work yesterday because I wear a red "Respect" shirt every Wednesday. It is our school's shirt to raise awareness to stop using the "R" word that I wrote about last week.

But I like to think that I treat the women in my house with respect every day. I didn't need a special day to remind me of that. (I swear that isn't a cop out).

But thanks to the internet, I realized that some people did do some special things to celebrate International Women's day.

One of these people was one of my daughter's heroes: Emma Watson.

Tonight my wife showed me a video of how Emma Watson spent International Women's day.


Emma Watson spent the day leaving awesome books by and about women all over New York City.

How did my wife know about this? My 9 year old daughter told her.

One of my daughter's heroes is a "book fairy". That got me teary eyed just typing that.

She wants to spread the love of reading to everyone. That is pretty damn cool... and my 9 year old daughter thinks so too.

The second of my daughter's heroes is Katherine Johnson: the main character of the best movie of 2016, Hidden Figures. My daughter begged me to take her to see it again this weekend. Of course, I did.


Everything is awesome! Everything is awesome when you inspire 9 year old mathematicians to be proud of themselves!

Nine year olds don't typically beg to go and see a movie without action, laughs, or cartoon trolls... unless they (the 9 year olds... not the trolls) happen to be extremely good at math and equally shy about it.

I would take her to see that movie every day for the next year if it helped my daughter to embrace the brilliant kid that she is. (Luckily she's currently reading the book, so I think she may get that message without it costing me $7500 in movie tickets and popcorn.)

My daughter's third and most important hero is...

My wife.



And neither of the others can hold a candle to her.

My wife doesn't just inspire my daughter when MJ flips on the tv or opens up a book, she inspires my daughter every second of every day.

When my daughter has a nightmare, she's not calling for Emma Watson or Katherine Johnson (and she sure as hell isn't calling for me). She is calling for her mommy... and her mommy is there for her.

Her mommy is always there for her.

When MJ needs help with homework... mommy is there.

When MJ needs pancakes with sprinkles because she is sad... mommy is there.

When MJ needs a hug or a tickle... mommy is there.

When MJ needs someone to say "You are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we're apart... I'll always be with you."... mommy is there.

When MJ needs... mommy is there.

My wife is my hero too.

Who is your daughter's hero?



Thank you A.A. Milne... more importantly thank you Helen.

Image Credits 1, 2, 3, 4

Sort:  

Great posts - my daughter knows two heros at the moment - No. 1 is the always present Elsa (all rooms are full.....):

Hero no. 2 is Lady Bug from Paris:

Better as too many boy bands or similar rubbish on walls :-)

To be honest, I found the Frozen story to be very empowering for girls. I think I may like it more than my daughter lol.

lol really? But - hang on @hanshotfirst - your love for the story is more as your love for your daughter or your favour for the story is higher than your daughter favours the story? Sorry - non native English speaker - just to be sure I understand all!

This is hilarious! I love my daughter more than I love any movie. I like the movie more than my daughter likes the movie. I need to show this to my students to show them the importance of using proper grammar.

Grammar matters!!!

"Let's eat, grandma."

Is much better than...

"Let's eat grandma."

Thank you for showing me my error and for making me laugh hysterically!

Hidden Figures..... great movie.

See this post right here is why I am writing about you today, typical.

  • good on ya man.

Can you link me with a picture of you for my blog post that is in part about you? I've never seen a picture of you, combed a bit....... I sense it is fruitless LOL

It is drafts ready to go.

Sorry man I didn't see the until after you posted. The picture you used is perfect! I don't have any pictures on here because I would prefer that students from my school not find me on any social media.

Here is part of my new series, I mention you - Hope you do not mind me dropping this here, I went to an older post / not a ton of action/comments to respect stuff.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/steemit-people-i-m-thankful-for-mindful-community-engagement-encouragement-e-1-march-12-2017

Its cool man. Thanks for writing it. I needed a boost.

5 DV today killed my post, all with whale DV as you maybe saw -- affected my rep and obv. the rare payout I might have received.....all on a post about community and trying to say nice encouraging things.

I felt bad when I saw it happen to you but you know some of what I am dealing with here, good people, invest their time and for what ???

  • anyways, I am glad you saw the post today and glad - very glad you got a boost man, honestly.

I am bummed out about a lot but your comment put a smile on my face. Like usual when I interact with you.

Dang man. I am really sorry. I don't understand why this is happening. I get the idea of whales voluntarily abstaining from voting but the flags have taken this to such a dark and negative place. Keep your head up. It will pass. The site needs positivity now more than ever.

@hanshotfirst - you must be one of the nicest persons in the world!!! Thanks so much for the awesome gift of steems!!!! The word is good, steemit community is awesome and you are making me simply speechless - Thanks Thanks Thanks for this!!!

You spend so much time supporting community members by positively commenting on their posts, its the least I could do to say "thank you"... plus I'm still laughing about the Frozen thing.

The community needs active, positive, and funny people like you!

that is really really nice - thanks so much -trying to be positive is the least I can do! Great to have people like you here, we have a ton of great people - need some more, need to recruit cool people!

muy bueno felicidades

de nada las cosas buenas se felicitan

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.93 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 10 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40