A Geeky Dad's Movie Guide to Hidden Figures

in #movie-review7 years ago

It may not look like a movie kids will enjoy... but looks may be deceiving. After all, some people thought these women didn't look like mathematicians. How did that turn out?



Everything is awesome! Everything is awesome when you are smart and courageous!

"I wear glasses too."

That is what my daughter leaned over and told me while watching Hidden Figures today. So what? Why is that significant? Watch this clip to find out...



If you watch this clip and smile or cheer... this movie is for you.

My nine-year-old daughter saw that scene and giggled. Then she said, "I wear glasses too." She missed the whole point of the scene. She wasn't impressed by the fact that a woman or an African-American could be so good at something. She was impressed because she felt smart like the person on the screen. The idea that women and people of different races could accomplish great things is second nature to her. It didn't even register. Why should it? She's nine. She hasn't been taught any different. Hopefully she never will be.

But what about the movie itself? It is sensational! I do not believe it is possible for a movie to be released this year that will be more deserving of the Academy Award for "Best Picture". You can probably throw in "Best Actor", "Best Actress", "Best Supporting Actress", "Best Adapted Screenplay ", and "Best Original Song" as well. Perhaps there will be some contestants that are equally worthy... but I find it hard to believe any will be more worthy.

There's no real action. There are no huge laugh out loud moments. There is no mystery to be solved. There is just excellent and compelling story telling... with fantastic characters. How could there not be? The story was already written. It is amazing and it is true.

The movie is filled with with countless heroes. There is a hero who stands up for her own rights and uses the law and her brains to attain them. There is a hero who uses her brain and education to save the livelihoods of all of the people working under her. There are heroes who see past color and gender in order to achieve the goals of a very important mission. There is Katherine Johnson. She uses her brains, hard work, determination and courage to change the hearts and minds of those around her. Oh and she instrumental in putting a man on the moon.



It takes courage to remain confident when you are the only one like you in a room.
Although, if you see this as a room full of mathematicians, then she was not the only...
she was the best!

It is simply one of the most uplifting and positive movies I have seen in years. It is also interesting and funny.

But what about the kids?

It is definitely appropriate for kids. The writer managed to tell this very emotional and important story of American History without ever using the "N" word. Did it make the movie less realistic? Perhaps. But I don't think I could have taken my children if it were used. They aren't ready for that, even if it is used in a historical context.

My nine-year-old daughter loved it! Although, there were several times when my wife or I had to explain exactly what was happening or why a scene was so dramatic, I would not count that against the movie. In fact, I think it was a strong positive. This movie made my daughter want to learn. After the movie, she even asked if she could get the book. We are heading to the library later.



On the other hand, my eleven-year-old son thought it was "kind of boring". WHO CARES? He didn't say it was terrible. He didn't get up to leave. He didn't fall asleep. He didn't even fidget in his seat. He quietly watched. There are some movies that are more important than mere entertainment. Hidden Figures is one of them. He needed to see this movie. He needed to see these heroes. If this movie was like sitting through an American History class for him, that's just fine with me. Even he would admit that for a history lesson, Hidden Figures was pretty interesting.

If your kids are above eight years old and can sit still even if there is nothing blowing up on the screen and there are no trolls singing and dancing, I recommend taking them to see Hidden Figures.

Geeky Dad's Movie Guide

Number of times I fell asleep: 0
Number of eye rolls: 0
Number of face palms: 3 (But only because of the ridiculously unfair things that happened to the women. I was faceplaming history, not the movie.)
Number of times my kids asked to go to the bathroom or get food out of sheer boredom: 0
Number of times I checked steemit: 0
Number of times I said "That's ridiculous": 0
Did my kids like it: My 9 year old daughter: YES!!!!!!!! My 11 year old son: As a movie? No. As a history lesson? Yes.
Would I see it without my kids: Yes!
Full price/Matinee/Rental/Free/Not worth the time: Full price

Image Credits 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

@hanshotfirst, your post has been chosen by @STEEMNEWS.ONLINE as one of today's promoted posts for its excellent content. We've upvoted, resteemed and published it through Facebook & Twitter.

As the author of a SNO featured article, you've been awarded one TRAIL coin. Please stop by the SteemTrail Discord server to learn more about how to claim your TRAIL coin. You will need an Open Ledger account to do so.

STEEMNEWS.ONLINE is the @SteemTrail for #news and watches the #steemnews tag most closely. Please consider supporting excellent news articles by making steemnews.online one of your operators on Streemian, in addition to steemtrail.

Thank you for your hard work and contribution of excellent content to Steemit.

Hi @hanshotfirst
When i saw the trailer of the movie, i knew it was a must watch.
It is the first movie about African-Americans i have seen in a while that is not about slavery or racism.
Thanks for the entertaining review.

I know! It was awesome. It was uplifting and taught a lesson.

Thank you for the review

Going to check this out tonight @hanshotfirst, thanks for the review.

(and a separate thank you for the steem and making me feel really welcome here,. It meant a lot)

My pleasure! Welcome to the platform!

Great, thanks for sharing, I can't wait to see it and share the goodness of inspiration of this show to many many people, especially women and girls all over! All for one and one for all!!! Namaste :)

All for one and one for all indeed! Namaste

I think I remember movie reviews being the reason I first followed you... soo why on earth did I unfollow? Thank you for posting this and bringing more entertainment to Steemit!

Perhaps my Star Wars Holiday special post scared you away. ;)

No idea lol... might have been ;)

If you see it. Let me know what you think. Thanks for checking out the review.

My gf saw this movie and absolutely loved it! I may have to give it a view :)

It was awesome!

thankyou for this review - I hadn't heard about this film, but now I have, you have compelled me to go and see it with my daughter - she loved the Snowden Film and the one with Steven Hawkins , so I am guessing this will be right up her street too - oh and she wears glasses as well...

I haven't seen Snowden yet but I LOVED the Theory of Everything. I don't think my kids are ready of that one... but someday. I especially loved Felicity Jones in it. I was so excited when I heard she would be in the new Star wars movie. I thought "wow they got real actors for this". Iff your daughter enjoyed that, I bet she will love this! Enjoy!

Just waiting for it to get to us in Egypt, then will definately go and see it. Snowden is brilliant, very scary at what happened and is still happening today...

I will definitely check it out. Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57688.87
ETH 3100.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37