Spread The Word To End The Word

in #life7 years ago

Today is an important day for me, my students, my friends and approximately 200 million others.

Today is the annual day of awareness to "Spread the Word to End the Word".



What word?

The word is "retarded" or "retard"... basically any form of the "r" word that is used as an insult toward anyone or anything.


Why do I care?

I care because I believe in respecting everyone.

I am a special education teacher who is lucky enough to really get to know some students with intellectual and developmental disabilities. On a daily basis, I get to see the value individuals with disabilities bring to our world. I get to witness their kindness, generosity, intelligence, creativity, friendship and love. I also get to witness their frustrations, anger, sadness, and mistakes. You know... the same things all people have in common.

Because that is just it. I get to see that people with intellectual and developmental disabilities are people.

And all people deserve to be respected.

When someone uses the "r" word as an insult, it hurts people with disabilities as well as those who love them. It doesn't matter if I believe they should be offended by the word or not. The fact is, many individuals with disabilities and their loved ones feel pain when they hear the word. They feel that the person who is using it is belittling anyone with intellectual or developmental disabilities.

People with disabilities and their loved ones already need to overcome more challenges than I do, why would I want to add any negativity to their lives?


Screen Shot 2017-02-28 at 4.59.33 PM.png

Who am I to tell a person what words he or she can use?

No one.

I have no right to tell anyone what he or she is allowed to say. Everyone reading this is perfectly free to say whatever words he or she chooses.

I merely hope to spread the word so that everyone is able to make an informed choice concerning the use of this word.

Using the "r" word as an insult is hurtful toward many people with disabilities and those who love them.



More information

If you'd like more information or would like to take the pledge to "Spread the Word to End the Word" please visit:

http://www.r-word.org/Default.aspx

*I will donate the USD equivalent of the rewards from this post to The Special Olympics.

Image Links 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Hello @HanShotFirst,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If do not wish to be promoted by SteemTrail, please reply with "Stop" to opt out.

Happy TRAIL!

I care because I believe in respecting everyone.

Me too, well said!

Thanks! And I know you do. You are a class act sir.

I appreciate the compliment!

I had the honor of coaching in Special Olympics when I was in college. What an incredible experience and what amazing human beings! If anyone could just spend one hour with these beautiful people they would come away a better person. I learned a lot about love and trust!

Awesome! That sounds like an amazing experience.

"I learned a lot about love and trust!" That's perfect!

Words can't adequately express how I felt when those wonderful people look you in the eyes... They're so open and genuine!

The athletes in Special Olympics are an amazing group. You have to have a great attitude in order to stay positive in the face of adversity.

So are the coaches!!!

I coached team handball and it was one of my fondest experiences in my life!

Well said I totally agree with you :)

Thanks! i figured you would. ;) You are a very kind person!

Thank you : D

Thank you so much for this insightful post. Today's society is so concerned about political correctness as it relates to race and gender. Those people do not realize how good they have it. Thanks again for speaking out for those who truly need champions in this world.

The beautiful thing about respect is the fact that there is an unlimited amount of it. There is plenty of room for all people to be respected.

And a lot that gets labeled as "politically correct" is really "human decency".

I don't know it you say my post "Play well with others"

Thanks for spreading the word. As you know well from your work with special ed kids, there are some incredible people who have disabilities. They deserve our understanding and respect.

For sure. As long as you focus on what someone can do as opposed to what they can't, you will get to see some amazing qualities!

I'm not entirely sure what the politically correct term is for someone with low IQ anymore but honestly, I've never used the "R" word for anything other than reading music - never toward speaking derogatorily against someone.

Of course you wouldn't. You are just naturally respectful. ;)

Honestly, if you put the person first and just mention what is unique about them in a matter of fact way, it's tough to go wrong. Which is exactly what you did.

Nice post. I believe we are here on this earth to help one another because we all need it at some point and time. Being kind and respectful is a first step.

Thanks! I agree 100%! It's a huge first step.

brilliant post - respect, cooperation and positivity is what we need - I can tell it only every day! Upvoted and resteemed

Thank you! "Respect" that should be the "r" word used... and "cooperation" and "positivity" are some good "c" and "p" words ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53615.59
ETH 2344.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.13