Time for a #SteemitStrike by Content Creators and Daily Users who actually make this Community what it is? Bring your Harpoons, the Whale Flag "Experiment" failed YUGE and here's why.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit7 years ago (edited)

#SteemitStrike -- Whales flagging regular users not right.jpg

#SteemitStrike - official hashtag. Why don't we stop posting altogether as a community until Sunday nite the 19th 8 pm EST?

How is that for an experiment with actual boundaries and timelines actually listed? Since the whales could not figure out anything similarly on their own fairly and within reason?



This Downvoting by whales experiment is just not going to prove anything, it is not working.

@ned @dan / @dantheman ---- Many of us have commented saying similar things, is this really what you want and how you want people feeling for what you have built?


You get 3-4 whales that UV your post at limited power..... and you get 5 of the TOP whales all DV you with their massive Steem Power at - 10% and it does not counter the other whale votes, it drives the value of the post and reputations, WAY down further, past the comparable % of other whales.



Why bother posting any decent content on here with this flawed logic? I see all kinds of people leaving for a week, posting crap on purpose, talking about this failed mess, and really, this is about US -- the content creators, the community members who DAILY post and work hard on here, encouraging people, adding VALUE here. Without us, this place collapses, with no content and community..... it will be the top 50 whale accounts, all owned by the same core of maybe 12 people.

  • And what we all were told we were coming to, and loved, will have a real quick reckoning of what is working and not.

Remember this awesome post in the last 2 weeks by one of our own, look this title up! It was a great post and warning!!!


Not all whales are participating, the data is flawed from the start, and the %'a ages here are all out of what as you can see in the blockchain and by my comments.

Where is the incentive for daily users trying to build community here to comment or post at all?

Flawed tests and data in life, don't help anyone.

If mid sized whales UV a post, then it should be countered with the SAME % of DV power, not more heavily weighted whale Downvotes, and I bet some of the whales DV the rest of us regular people building this community as minnows, who clearly post a lot, work hard, comment a lot, build others up, where is the intelligence for those sweat equity hours we put in?

The same whales will be UV their buddies, like usual I bet and most of the whales are not content creators, building this community but who cares..... drive off the people and the masses trying to onboard people and promote it across other SM sites right?

The whales will only have themselves left to chat and fight with while the masses, which are the key --- are driven off the platform, I will say again.

Good time to take a complete break from Steemit, the numbers will drop and they will have to admit their flawed logic and tests.

The new people here, who are learning, have no idea about all the issues and politics and whatnot and they are suffering too.

Hard working daily people on here are penalized for making good content? Really?

Flags are being used in ways there were never intended and it is driving everyone off the platform, incl. less and less posts by VERY good people, and key Steemit users and daily content creators.

Most of the whales create nothing on here for content, by and large, so they are out of touch.

This kind of stuff is removing the SOCIAL from this social network by a bunch of investor and tech types who often do not engage on here nor create and if they engage, it is often comments about why their votes and ideas and power here matter more than the masses, content creators, and onboarding of people - all of which has their INVESTMENTS suffer here

The rest of us -- have our investment on here in terms of time and labour. We did not program our way onto here here or buy our way in.

Social incentive and $ incentive is what everyone is promised on the home page when they sign up. --- Both are sadly lacking a lot of the time with all the DV, the hurt feelings, the clinical unfeeling approach by some of the whales - driving people and content off here.

I have posted before on this. People are already upset enough, so much whale logic is so very flawed. Not a lot of people skills clearly.

I cannot imagine @Dan / @ned / @dantheman are happy about a lot of this-- what they created being held in the wind by a handful of people claiming they are doing good.... but clearly NOT!

Check some of the whale votes for their buddies, like I said!!!

A week long or 2 boycott by all the daily users, key posters and content creators, would likely make some people wake up here. Everyone post on it - use the subject line, we all leave on the same day, and come back on the same day and THAT will impact the numbers and people here and THAT will be a real experiment with real numbers --- and accomplish a lot more than this skewed and flawed 'whale experiment' by a few.

Good Lord.



You Cannot Regulate Liberty..... Let us Encourage One Another








If you feel my posts are undervalued or you want to donate to tip me - I would appreciate it very much.

Bitcoin (BTC) - 18J6RRuzX4V7b2CDbx7tWZYNBLkkGWsvWX

DASH - XgZvsvSZgPkNbmGbRhc3S1Pt2JAc7QHwiS

Monero (XMR) - d8ecb02c09f70ec10504b59b96bc1f488af28b05933893dfd1f55b113e23fbff

Ethereum (ETH) - 0x3Ad69Ff057C9533ca667B2d7E3E557F5eeFd4477

Ethereum Classic (ETC) - 0x5ab2b08d4ce8d454eb9d1ecc65c6d8b0c5f9784c

LiteCoin (LTC) - LKdsnvSXk9JW99EiNicFMGKc1FXiBo9tUE

Stratis (STRAT) - SNsJp6v1jXvKWy4XcXSXfNQ9zhSJJppJgv

Synereo (AMP) - 1KnrL6wFHaT4gjJ2YJ5f6WmKTDJNsaBS8s

Expanse (EXP) - 0x819b9cce8630ab638198eabfd7496786c20d629a

ZCash (ZEC) - t1aCPEYELkGaf3GtgGTiCEDo7XfPm4QEwmL


Please note -- I will have limited internet access for awhile -- so PLEASE do not be upset that I cannot reply right away, or to everyone. I am dealing with some changes, and will have limited time online and will be happy if I get a few blog posts up a week.

Sort:  

All the people you know know that my forte is not writing or writing, they also know, how hard I have tried to improve from the first day I came to the platform to this day, I am aware that I have much to Improve and I have shortcomings, to that I attribute to the little payment I have had all this time (This is not a complaint) is a reality that I see every day, but whether or not something won.

Because of my limitations, the work that takes a few hours to me takes me a whole day, the work I went up today titled Organic Food (the Corn) took me three days to do it, I had a low valuation of u $ S 3 dollars and for the negative votes I am $ u 1.00 s.

I live from what genre on the page, at this rate going well could get to collect a lot of wind in favor 30 dollars, who could live with 30 dollars.

Please do not misunderstand is not a complaint, nor am I blaming anyone, I have worked all my life in multinational companies I know how they think, when something you do not like you have to go.

I resigned to Disco Ahold International Holdings with 18 years of antiquity because I did not like the policitas that they had adopted against our same company, the result is of public knowledge to this group of Argentina it acquired the group Cencosud.

I want to say that I love this platform, I dedicate more than 14 hours a day working with all my mistakes, successes and mistakes, I am interacting 14 hours with a lot of people who want good for the platform, do not let this that was Working fine do not do it.

If I am or I am not for steemit it is the same, but the people who are in my situation who work to make money at some point will not interest you, I really do not know what might happen, but I would not want this to come down.

I repeat again is not a complaint, it is only a reflection from my humble situation and position.

You are the ones who know!

José Luis Fernández
Corrientes Argentina

@jlufer - firstly, you are a gentleman and I am very respectful of your contribution in many ways to steemit. The reality that the holders of the SP have made enormous gains off the content creation of people like you, Barry and myself is lost on many.
I started a new writing contest this morning 300 votes and $30 - the biggest value on any post I have ever written - not even mine! It is now at $4 because of some silly idea. 1 cent/vote is too much? Beggars in th street are treated better. Meanwhile, look at todays numbers - why are the vote values so low?
Because, I suspect, thee is a post out there somewhere with a low vote count but a HUGE amount of comment votes which we cannot see, of course!
Thee are other goings on but the mess is getting messier despite assurances to the contrary!
Saludos, senor! Un abrazo a usted.

Thank you very much sir @ebryans, I appreciate and respect your comment
Greetings, have a good night.

You are so awesome Jose, that is why I named you in my post today and named some of those reasons mi amigo.

God bless ya man!!!!

'You get 3-4 whales that UV your post at limited power..... and you get 5 of the TOP whales all DV you with their massive Steem Power at - 10% and it does not counter the other whale votes, it drives the value of the post and reputations, WAY down further, past the comparable % of other whales.' I know you mean well here but I checked the post in question and your comments are mistaken. You got a whale bot upvote at 70%, followed by downvotes at 10%. The sum of the downvotes was less than the whale bot upvote. You can see the detailed numbers on steemd here

Nope.

There is no way the other collective weights of the handful of whale upvotes on THIS post -- let alone all the other ones would ever outweigh the cumulative effects of the massive flagging power of the top 5 accounts of your 5 guys that opted to all flag this on a trail of -10 flags/downvotes man. Sorry, try again.

funny how most of us never hear from you on our posts, despite super hard work, and hours of making good content that actually is helpful and encourages people day in and day out, with thousands of our comments on the blockchain. I said it awhile back.

  • funny that eh?

Some of us work daily on here I have said to you and others and I mean HARD. Quality community building all to have a whale show up and destroy a post or a reputation with the flick of a button.

I call it reckless at times. Do you create content or anything that builds community or just do drive by flaggings without looking at the complete body of work of users?

Because with your great steem power across many accounts, comes great responsibility.

No community means your investment is in jeopardy and good people are leaving all the time, if you read my post.... or my comments to you in the past.

Nope.

Yep. there is, indeed, a way. This is the upvote with rhares:

Created 4,685,180,124,293 70% 2017-03-13T17:03:57

these are the downvotes

smooth -2,526,236,559,393
engagement -1,056,018,820,281
berniesanders -18,446,918,265
thecyclist -613,439,785,434
nextgencrypto -256,547,348,866

the total DV is about -4,469,000,000,000.

Not only that, but because no whales are voting, all the votes you got were more valuable. you did not lose money because of this experiment. The only ones that did are the people who just get whale votes out of the blue.

you want me to go through the math for you... again, did you not notice that your post didnt make less money than usual, despite the downvotes?

Yes, if they had left your post alone, and flagged all the other whale upvoted posts, you would h ave made even more money, but your post made the same amount as it would have it the 'expirement'. had not been running.

I always love hearing from people and every vote and voice counts , I always say that. Not just whales and whatnot.

WE need to have a

#SteemitStrike

I said today. Organize it, stop posting for a week, watch the panic and collapse from all the so called stakeholders, and then they will see what matters...

Content creators and daily posters and community.... it is social media as a platform right afterall?

God bless @ned and @dan / @dantheman but people are ruining what they created and maybe that means some of the early people who got in before Steemit launched and CAN ruin things, just because they can and BOUGHT in, but don't really create content so don't know or care what it is like.

I have also been a COMMUNITY activist of public record for years..... so that is why this and all similar crap on here is really upsetting me, it is killing COMMUNITY ----

looky in side that word and you will find

#Unity

I wrote a community encouragement post today, got 5 or more flags, with massive 10% flags/DV, by the TOP whales, - when 1% would have been fair..... it killed the rep score and payout, and I had a lot of time and thought into it but who cares, about encouraging content right that is then worth $1?

It was a failed experiment and these flags, with no start or end date, or announcement, are driving good people off here daily. Poorly thought out, at best.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@barrydutton/steemit-people-i-m-thankful-for-mindful-community-engagement-encouragement-e-1-march-12-2017

And I said this elsewhere again today, as in other days...

But all the whales already hold a ton of Steem, they are the 1% and 0.05% and all have multiple accounts, so as all their rewards increase, so would all the minnows and dolphins like us who also hold SP -- and always power up --- ironically because we support and believe...

  • in this "community"

  • Daily use and posting needs to be rewarded and weight given.

  • Most whales bought in, think they can do what they want, and never create anything here.

  • No content, means no community... means no value or ROI for all these flagging investors on a SOCIAL network

A strike like this is a good idea, just not for the reason stated. What are you protesting? What do you feel you have lost? The only problem here is you don't understand whats going on.

Yes, you lost whale upvotes. But all the other votes you got increased in value. You broke even... didnt you notice your payouts not going down... and the value of your vote going up?

I'm trying a different approach. What if those of us willing to help experiment work with those in power ALL THE WHALES and try to come up with PLANNED things we can try. The problem is that some of us are good at speaking with certain people and not others, but as a group we likely have people that are good go betweens with all of us.

Do I know if it will work?

Have no clue...

But I'm willing to try it before I go negative...

Something like you are saying might be needed, but also consider this, there HAVE been problems and we've been talking about them. At least @abit and @smooth tried to experiment. It won't work as they did it due to cooperation, but perhaps we can make some inroads and make it happen.

This could have worked if they had gotten Ned/Dan to agree to say X amount of days where people with Y amount of Steem Power or higher cannot up vote or down vote enforced by code.

Then there would be no need to counteract anything and it'd be an actual experiment in a controlled fashion.

I did not define X or Y because as I said this is US as a community needing to work with each other and those in power. I have some people in power I don't get along with but most of them I get along fine. I disagree with them at times but we share mutual respect and I can work with that. I also cannot do this alone, and am not trying to be some leader or messiah. I don't actually like that position. I do like to solve problems though. :)

All right, man I tried not to get involved in this during my SELF so called 3month probationary period. I find myself drawn to help others who may need it or who are willing to accept my 3cents worth...

Experiment is an experiment.
1 day is 1 day.
1 week is 1 week.

Let's all cool down, we have more pressing concerns to concentrate our energy and efforts this week especially Wednesday. I don't want to start a whole debate here, just my 3cents worth.

Steem on,
Frank

I am always willing to work with people but things here like I said in the comments, are not working for lots of reasons, and I hate seeing my community destroyed while great great people are hurt, not consulted and clearly marginalized in various ways.

Whales can think they are the only stakeholders.... and they will be mistaken.

The real stakeholders are the community creators, commenters, encouragers, teachers, and regular folks here muddling along from 25 rep up to the 75 rep, grinding, like I said, there is nothing here without the content and the social aspect Dan and Ned built for us.

Here is one idea @dwinblood which I believe has some merit.
Firstly, some assumptions: 1. the whales have got us to here and something needs to change with the culture of intra-voting which is the prime culprit.2. We need about 500 people of influence - ie too many for you to keep personal track of (bots aside).
Idea: allow the whales to sell their SP - no waiting time - to existing or non-steemians at a discount (15-30%). Minimum investment $1000. Purchases to be ring-fenced for 18 months to 2 years - cannot be powered down. This applies only to SP. We need no more liquid steem out there - Poloniex and Blocktrades are holding a large bag full.
Limited timeframe - say 6 weeks. All whales allowed to take part apart from steemit. No powering up to sell. All whales in the top 25 must take part - sales go sequentially from number 1 in value down to 25. Other whales may take part from round 3 if we get there.
Voting - max number of votes: 20pp/day - if vote value is under 0.05, you may have 5 double votes and 10 single votes. Min vote power 50% or 25% on a comment.
Social Media might then appear in steemit!

It might work, but I personally cannot endorse it. At my core I tend to believe that "good ideas do not require force", so I would not advocate forcing people to do such with their accounts. If you can convince them to do so voluntarily though that is another story. It is a harder and far more challenging task, but it is one I can stand behind. I do not support forced redistribution so it has to be voluntary or I'm not a supporter. Yes, that makes it a lot more difficult to solve, yet I've not seen historical examples where redistribution didn't end up bad in the long run. I am a free market and voluntarist type person. The key is persuading people to try things, and yes it is DAMN hard. Yet, I'm willing to try.

I also am not proposing a GUARANTEED "this will fix it", they are speculations/hypothesis and everyone has one. I am in favor of short term experiments to test the viability of various proposals so we can collect data and see if there is merit to such hypothesis.

I don't think this experiment of @abit and others was a bad idea. It was poorly implemented. If it were done at a code level so no one above certain steem power could up vote or down vote and you ran it for a week or two then that could have yielded some important information.

Yet it has to be controlled for that information to be remotely useful.

Barry, I understand your reasons, and you sure stated the intent ahead of time. I will not be joining this effort, but I still hope that it has the effect that you hope for. Best wishes Brother.

Everyone is fighting, so the absence of content and use, means things will get figured out awful quick. There are lots of ways to handle things, but it like the governance issues with Bitcoin........ Years later, nothing is solved, and the value for everyone is in jeopardy.

  • Put the politicians on minimum wage, and see how fast things get fixed.

Everyone is currently losing because of all this on here. Talking about everything, is honestly just letting a lot of good people get hurt and leaving.

Is it working so far???

I understand - this is a tough one and will be virtually impossible to galvanise the troops. The point is that it has taken this long for more people to recognise the lack of transparency in the system - the whales are making enormously leveraged profits off the content of the likes of us. This whale vote freeze is not happening. I believe there are votes piling onto comments somewhere so that we cannot see them - comments don't get the attention.

If this is true, can you provide any evidence? Here is a rewardpool output that makes it look to me like it is not true: banjoBOT - Today at 3:23 AM
Total Reward Fund: 86,042 STEEM (Worth: $6,242 internally; $7,527 on Poloniex)

The bit about the profiteering or the bit about voting for comments? The profiteering is just obvious - look at the rewards paid out to date- 1% of all rewards ever distributed have gone to minnows. 99% of all rewards have gone to less than 4% of all steemians. As for the voting on comments - they have displayed their intent to ensure further centralisation of ownership - what I said was that it was being done so that we could not see it - what I have been advocating for quite some time - comment voting is the next abuse of the system!
I am not quite sure what the Reward Fund tells us - another thing I have suggested is that the daily Rewards Pool be published in detail to show percentages as follows: Authors by account, curators by account, witnesses by witness, head office, R&D, investor interest and dividend payments, the bit they never mention etc. To speak of 75/25, author curator is a fanciful ruse!
I am not gunning at steemit, I just wish when people talk of transparency they damn well meant it!

Well...uhm technically all of that is published as well as this piece of data that I just posted. And I was refering to your statement about comments, i thought you might have some actual evidence. If you are actually curious about researching these topics ALL information is 100% transparent in that is can be viewed and parsed and exists on the blockchain you can dig into that data with lots of tools https://github.com/SteemData is a particularly good one but steemd.com/@raymonjohnstone does also work as well. I hope this helps.

Many thanks for your guidance @raymonjohnstone, your advice certainly does help. As a result, I am following you for your superior IT knowledge. I am not a IT oriented person. I am a business manager - one of the observations of steemit which amazes me is the myriad of data locations and the strange lack of primary User Interface functionality. I do know why it is so, though that reasoning is sadly a negative cause.
Thank you again, I shall try to ascertain how I am to find the data I seek - the votes on comments.

Hopefully it'll work out well.

This is your past ... and today it is my present! We must work together to defeat this system!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83