2018-02-12: For Whom the Bell Tolls

in #life7 years ago

Shallow Thoughts

Today was Day 1 of my 42-day kettlebell-focused workout. It was a good high-intensity circuit consisting of jump ropes, resistance bands, kettlebell deadlifts, and some body-weight exercises. For the diet, I'm basically just going to eliminate junky snacks and watch portions. Here's yesterday's pulled beef in a quesadilla with salad:

FullSizeRender-1.jpeg

I'll also restrict myself to one beer per week (gotta celebrate Friday!) and one piece of dark chocolate per day. These are like crack cocaine, also sold at Costco:

My goal isn't to lose weight, but rather to increase strength and energy levels while reducing body fat.

Deep Thoughts

My 7-year-old was invited to compete in her first under-10 Challenger Tennis Tournament in 3 weeks. I feel like it's the beginning of the next phase of our lives as parents. Up until now the kids basically did activities for fun, and there was usually a bit of prodding to get them to go. Now my daughter will pitch a fit if she can't go to her tennis lessons, and she wants more.

Maybe someday this daily #steemit blog will form the basis of an Olympic puff piece about the sacrifices that a family makes so that an athlete can achieve the pinnacle of their sport. I know I'm getting ahead of myself a bit, but Coach Dad can dream a bit ;-P

Regardless, my wife and I know that our job is to provide love, support, and food. . . lots and lots of delicious food.

Bonus Thoughts

My 5-year-old created a superhero out of her breakfast yesterday:

egg_toast_man.jpg

I'm trying to think of a name. . . any suggestions?

Daily Stats

Cash: 12.9%
Core: 75.3%
Explore: 11.7%
Workout: Kenzai Kettlebell Day 1 + 30min dog walk
Alcohol: None
Supplements: Zinc 20mg, Magnesium 300mg
Sleep: midnight to 6:45am, unbroken, rested

584|53

Sort:  

Both of your daughters has nice talents. This for your 5 years old. I got her superhero name and edited it. 'Bread Man' (I know I am not good at naming super hero). Btw whats her name? @grolelo1518503344502.jpg

I love the edited pic, I think "Bread Man" is great! In fact, there's a very popular children's cartoon from Japan about heroic baked goods: Anpanman

Thanks @grolelo. I didn't know that japan has cartoon characters based on baked goods. I should definitely check that out. It may be very fun to know some interesting fact. I have read some of their fairytales that are very popular in there but never tried watching those cartoon characters. May be its good time to take a look.

Goodluck with the kettlebell-focused workout..!!💪🙌

its good to know that u r reducing the alcohol percentage...!✌️

best wishes for ur daughter for her first competitive tournament..! 😇

hope to see her at the highest level of success on tennis..! all the best..! 🌞
Btw the mighty "EggMan" look so muscular in the pic..!😃
~Greetings from Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

Thanks for the well wishes! Beer is where I get most of my "empty" calories, so I definitely need to minimize that to get the most out of my workouts.

I'm really looking forward to this tennis journey with my daughter, she seems to have a knack for it, we'll see how far it goes. It should be fun for the whole family!

yep, dont rely much on beer..! 😇
yeah, good to see her interested in tennis..!! hope, oneday u will introduce me to her may b..! 😜
tennis is really a fun game to enjoy and keep fit all the way..! 🤗

Haha, I love delicious food too. Recently, I started working out too. I'm struggling with the criss-cross jump rope. I'm starting to lift weights to build some muscle. I haven't tried the kettlebell deadlift, I should as it will strengthen my lower back. And yeah, I have thought of a name for your kids breakfast superhero Bre-Egg Man.

Good on you for getting more exercise into your day! I like the kettlebell swings best, but the deadlift is a close second. I tried doing a barbell deadlift today, didn't feel quick right, I probably need to work on my form.

The workout sounds really intensive. I've been trying to get myself to do body weight exercises on a daily basis but I can't be consistent. Really wonderful how your young daughter trains out of love for the sport and not out of compulsion. It's an amazing place to be!

Don't worry about consistency, every little bit of exercise is worth it! That being said, if you'd like to motivate yourself to do it more consistently, I'd recommend posting a weekly goal on #steemit and then posting your results daily. The goal post keeps you honest and motivated, and the daily post allows for reflection and learning. Even if you don't do the workout, you can write about what happened that day, why it got in the way, and what you can do differently the next day.

I've had PLENTY of days this year with "Workout: None" in my stats, but it's not embarrassing - it's just another data point in the journey. Good luck!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 06:25:12
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 37.45/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Loading...

Do exercise for height or for light exercise only
Indeed if we eat beef does not gain weight

I can feel the pleasure of the food, making me hungry now

Looks very tasty and nutritious ,, a very perfect food pattern ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60364.09
ETH 2378.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57