2018-02-11: Double the Flavor, Double the Fun

in #blog6 years ago

Shallow Thoughts

My wife and I will be starting a 42-day Kettlebell workout tomorrow along with cleaning up our diets a bit, which means we need lots of lean clean protein in the house. In the protein pantheon, beef is good, chicken is better, fish is best. I'll be doing another cedar plank salmon soon, and I'll get some thighs and drumsticks on the Egg as some point, but nothing beats the convenience and versatility of pulled beef. It heats up quick and juicy in the microwave and can be used on wraps, salads, or even just with a side of rice and grilled vegetables. Instead of chocolates and roses, I smoked two 3.5lb chuck roasts from Costco today:

double_chuck_smoked.jpg

After smoking for 2 hours at 250F indirect with some pecan chips, I attempted to transfer it to a pan and realized I would need the proverbial "bigger boat". I ended up putting the larger one in the pan and wrapping the smaller one in foil, and they both turned out great after another 3 hours:

double_chuck_pulled.jpg

In retrospect, I should have just pulled the meat apart along those fault lines and stuffed it all into one pan, I'll be sure to do that next time.

Deep Thoughts

I'm too damn tired to share any truly deep thoughts tonight. I wasn't kidding about the importance of sleep in my Vitamin S post, and I'm definitely suffering the consequences of 3 consecutive nights of broken, low quality rest. Hopefully my 5-year-old can sleep through tonight and tomorrow I can tell a cheerful anecdote about my high productivity and laser focus. Hope springs eternal!

Bonus Thoughts

My money is on the Jack Russell Terrier ;-P
tug_of_peace.gif

Daily Stats

Cash: 13.0%
Core: 75.5%
Explore: 11.5%
Workout: 30min dog walk (SO COLD!)
Alcohol: 1/2 Sam Adams Fresh As Helles
Supplements: Zinc 20mg, Magnesium 300mg
Sleep: midnight to 8am, broken at 1:50am (5-year-old nightmares)

579|53

Sort:  

Wow, this is nice. Health first. Your health is wealth. I hope you both can endure throughout the scheduled time

I'm very much looking forward to the fitness program, the self-imposed discipline works wonders!

Great food tip! Good luck on your 42 day kettle bell challenge and hope you share your workouts. I hope you get a good night sleep tonight and your kid sleeps better this evening. I have a newborn at home so i know how sleep deprivation can kill your motivation and make you a walking zombie.

Good luck with the newborn, I remember that pain! I'm pretty sure whoever invented the phrase "slept like a baby" never actually interacted with a real baby.

Your comment also reminded me of this video I saw a couple years back:


Apparently I've been legally drunk for the last 7 years...

Thanks! My sleep has definitely been challenged over the last few months. LOL
But nothing better than watching your baby smile and happy.

Protein from the fish is best for health..! 💪

looks like u improved ur exploring ability and core stats also increased. but now money deal since yesterday..?
and that last "579|53" is something like "followers|no. of post" i suppose..?
have a good day ahead..! 🤗
~Greetings from Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

I see you're really paying attention! Core has been battered by the recent downturn in the global stock markets, whereas the crypto-currencies that make up the Explore portion have held relatively steady. Even though I haven't put any new money into it, Explore has gotten larger in relative terms. My target Cash/Core/Explore allocation is 10/75/15 and I usually rebalance at the end of March/June/September/December, so we'll see how much more it fluctuates between now and then.

And the 579|53 is "followers|reputation", where reputation is that number in parenthesis next to your steemit username. I'm not really sure how reputation is calculated, though it seems to be influenced by getting upvoted by other users with a higher reputation.

Keep the questions coming, and enjoy the day ahead!

Hope u will meet ur goal, end of March is still few days away...! 😇

u need to put a little more effort on Exploring things i guess... nd i think core will be just fine by the time period..
Yeah, i'm also confused about how they calculate reputations. Good to see many people follow ur work...! 🙌

To be frank, i follow only a few people here, about 30.

I try to keep close connection with friends here. And i follow only the people whom i admire. I try to read each and every post of the friends whom i follow. My community here is small but i can say i try to learn the most about my friends here. 😇
Not to mention, i admire ur work from the day i've visited ur blog first. So yes, I might question a lot, but i beleive in making community stronger over making it bigger. 😊😊
~Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

I'm very happy to hear I made your list of follows! I do need to spend a bit more time on the Explore portion of my portfolio since the Core is basically on autopilot. I've been kicking around an idea in my head to build an "Activity Weighted Portfolio" based on the Blocktivity rankings of crypto-network engagement. It's a work in progress, will see if I can formalize it before putting any real money into it. The main beneficiary of that model would of course be STEEM :)

u r spreading good words and bringing good values to the community..! 🤗
so u r one of the first to make on that list..! 🙌
btw that would be great if u can implement tht block activity thing into ur stats algorithm..! hope to see it happen soon..!
Best wishes for the project..! 🤗

The quantity is more than one person. You might have a little party. Btw the food looks very Delicious.

In that case, dinner time is party time!

I thought you always having a party with your family, because so far i see, you always cook some meet, and look so delicious, iam jealous hihi ^^

Ha, we try to make every day a little celebration :)

Thats i call awesome ^^

Dogs are pack animals -- they don't enjoy being alone.

very delicious beef makes me want to try to eat with you guys hhahaha ;)

I'm happy to hear the food pics are having the intended effect!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 06:06:06
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 32.35/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 2
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You are really great and now you also focus with nutritious food .. Wow good roast beef .. Yummy 😋

You are really great and now you also focus with nutritious food .. Wow good roast beef .. Yummy 😋

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65898.24
ETH 3442.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62