Being Witnessed on a Wednesday Morning, and Other Religious Debacles steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life5 years ago

“Do you know what the meaning of life is?” The man said to me from the other side of my door. He was dressed in his Sunday’s best on this groggy Wednesday morning. The dogs had already tossed the dog version of bad language from my side of the cracked open door outward to his. I eyed the man and his companion up and down subtly, then slipped outside.

“Yes. It is life itself.”

20190502_002940 (1).jpg

It is May Day.

The man half chuckled, not expecting such a simple explanation. That is the beauty of simple—it is wide open to interpretation. He woke his tablet, pointed the screen in my direction, and began to read a bible quote. The man seemed good intentioned, but there he stood like a brick wall in dress clothes. He was a living, breathing swatch of color in only black and white. There I stood, a living breathing rainbow swatch looking back at him. Rainbows don’t understand brick walls.

20190502_002844.jpg

That is a rainbow colored Maypole.

As he spoke my mind ran to my neighbor. She stands tall and fierce in the face of the door-to-door preacher. The local Mormons fear her—they have blacklisted her as a trouble maker. She welcomes them with open arms and a friendly smile. She lures them in with a vague sounding question, and then she pounces. Question after question, relentlessly, holding a timid missionary hostage for an hour, grilling away. She takes great pleasure over these debates, and she is always looking for new evangelicals. I should be more like her, I thought. I should be more confrontational.

Confrontation isn’t in my nature. For a brief moment I zeroed back in on his words.

Be fruitful and become many and fill the earth and subdue it, and have in subjection the fish of the sea and the flying creatures of the heavens and every living creature that is moving upon the earth.

The man finished his quote and said, “We certainly have done that, don’t you think? But is that really all there is to life? This world is in a terrible state.”

20190502_002913.jpg

You really can’t argue with that statement. The world has lots of problems, but I could see where this was leading—the Jehovah's Witness Armageddon. The subconscious has this funny way of throwing information into the forefront of the mind at just the right moment, especially in relation to memory of music. And at that moment the song I had heard on the radio the day prior was thrown back into the forefront of my mind.

Living on the edge
You can’t help yourself from falling…

So there I stood looking at the man, but there also was Aerosmith—the music my older siblings were listening to when I was growing up—playing in my head. Steven Tyler was warbling on about end times, until I reached the part the subconscious was looking for:

Something right with the world today
And everybody knows it’s wrong
But we can tell them no, or we can let it go
But I’d rather be hanging on

I’m no Jehovah’s Witness. My idea of hanging on does not involve waiting for god to wipe the earth clean, and preaching about it in the meantime. Thank you for that clarity, subconscious.

20190502_002814.jpg

May Day grapevine crowns. Nothing says heathen like a grapevine crown.

I looked curiously at the man’s face. He was in his fifties, neatly put together, and had a natural air of kindness, but was undoubtedly a brick wall. His whole-hearted belief was that Armageddon was coming, and that the heavenly army would take over the world, destroying all those who do not follow the creed—which would exclude me. That belief was a little bit insulting, considering he was standing on my doorstep. I twisted my lips in thought. Although it is supposed to be not insulting, because he is here to save me from myself, or, more specifically, from his god. I mulled it over as he flicked off his tablet and met my eyes once more.

“I would love to come back next week and tell you what God has said about the meaning of life.”

The hook. The old help me, help you.

“I’ve got this neighbor,” I said, gesturing down the street. “I think she really needs the word of God.”

God Speed.

Sort:  

The ones that come to my door only hand me their Watchtower pamphlet and tell me what time their services are. One time a little old man said come to this address at this time if you would like to meet God. I had all I could do to stop from saying WHAT!? YOU'VE GOT HER?

Lol! If only you had then I think a very interesting story would have evolved from there. Meeting him at an address...and meet god...was there a serial killer loose at the time? ;)

Hahaha. I wasn't worried.... He was a tiny tottery little old man dressed in a pastel colored leisure suit with a happy smile. All I could do was smile back and take his offered pamphlet and hope that he made it back down my front steps without falling over!

That is cute. I hope he feels he did his duties and is happy.

What a nicely-written piece @ginnyannette, respectful but clear on your point. Most people have experienced knocks on the door from these types with their easy, *but often their offers of salvation from Armageddon...If only you sign up first. I'm not a conscript, or volunteer, in the heavenly army and so will have to stand and face my fate with the rest of those who don't follow the creed...

One thing I can say though...You answer to the initial question was simply perfect.

Meaning of life?: Life itself!

Enough said right there I think. I'm pleased to have come across your account. My apology for my vote being worth nothing.

If only you sign up first.

I have never been any good at signing up for things. I suppose we will see what fate holds for good natured people that couldn't be convinced to write something on that sign up sheet. :)

Votes don't mean too much at the end of the day - the value is in the people that actually read. So thank you for that.

It's amazing to me that people can remain as brick walls their entire lives, never questioning the ideas they were force-fed as a child. Most of the people I grew up with still think Jesus is going to float down out of the sky someday and bring judgement upon the sinners. It's funny, but in a really sad way.

I grew up with only a couple of years of church as a very young child, and from that I gleaned that God loves me, and that there is an order and purpose to life. That's it. I can't complain. I think it is a great way to grow up. Growing very intimate with nature completes the religious experience for me.

My husband grew up in a cult, with a slew of siblings and a polygamist father. He hates religion. As an outsider, it is a fascinating thing what people can be coerced into based on what somebody said God said.

Your upbringing sounds pretty ideal. I didn’t technically grow up in a cult like your husband, but for all intents and purposes that’s what it was for me. Basically an extreme form of evangelical christianity. So yeah... I’m not exactly friendly toward religious types, especially the ones that proselytize.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ha, that's the stuff! Cold hard cunning! :0)

You gotta do what you gotta do ;)

Set the dogs on em. That usually works ;0)

Every time I see your smiley face I think of Rudolf - a fiesty beer drinking version of the reindeer :)

Haha, now I will end up seeing the same!!

Jehovah witnesses stopped coming to my house hehehe

I wonder if you are unfriendly if they do stop, or just carry on unfailingly. I will never know because I am not good at being mean.

It's been years since I've been visited by the Witnesses. We had a mean rooster who jumped up and poked one in the butt. I told her not to turn her back on him! I think they put us on the dangerous house list. I guess if they're right I will not be saved because of Steve, the homicidal rooster. Oh well. I hope the brick wall enjoys your neighbor!

Oh, I remember the story of Steve. I am sure Steve was insulted by the armageddon stuff too. He had a coop to protect from those end timers ;)

I think he was trying to start his own religion and didn't want his ladies to be converted before he got his thing up and running.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is totally believable since this is a rooster named Steve that we are talking about.

Hahaha I loved this, particularly the end. your neighbor sounds fun, but I must say, I love your approach also :))
These people are truly marvelous to behold, aren't they? I mean, they just believe so much in this whole creed thing and that what they're saying, or rather, what they're being told, is the undeniable truth...seems so weird, standing on the outside.

PS: Aerosmith lyrics are practically gospel for me, so I guess I'm religious? :D

My neighbor is one of those extremely witty people that thinks very, very fast. She gets to be even more fun after a couple glasses of wine ;)

I think the JW's make for a fascinating study of humanity. A part of me really wants to be like them - wouldn't it be so easy to not question, but just be supremely happy with blind faith? That's the thing though, free thinkers simply can't.

Aerosmith was a big part of my childhood. I sing very loudly along on the radio :)

I feel the same about religious people, particularly fanatics, because there are so many times when it would be so convenient and easy to just trust in some higher power that can and will sort everything out for you. Takes most responsibility off your shoulders really...

Mine too, my mom was a huge fan so I grew up adoring Steven Tyler and thank God I did :D I'd be a much poorer person without that.

Howdy ginnyannette! that was classic, referring him to your relentless neighbor! lol. I can't believe you even opened the door!

It is that old southern hospitality. Can't be rude and ignore it, when I know that they know that I'm in there. Lol.

haha! oh that never bothers me. If I do have to open the door I'm wearing my pistol tucked into the front of my jeans so they're very polite.

Big Dog tries to shove his head out the door every time. They always smile nervously. Works something like the pistol :)

haha! hey does Big Dog bark? I'd just let him bark and not answer the door, they probably would leave faster.

I have tried that! These people will stand at my door for a good five minutes. It's like they sense me. They've got x-ray vision.

oh ok! lol. well that's a personality thing then, that's all. Like I wouldn't care if they stood there all day!

I have no problem not answering the door, even if it is obvious that I am inside. It's my door and I don't open it for people I don't know. :)

Excellent attitude. I need to absorb it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55214.91
ETH 2471.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24