You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being Witnessed on a Wednesday Morning, and Other Religious Debacles

in #life5 years ago

It's amazing to me that people can remain as brick walls their entire lives, never questioning the ideas they were force-fed as a child. Most of the people I grew up with still think Jesus is going to float down out of the sky someday and bring judgement upon the sinners. It's funny, but in a really sad way.

Sort:  

I grew up with only a couple of years of church as a very young child, and from that I gleaned that God loves me, and that there is an order and purpose to life. That's it. I can't complain. I think it is a great way to grow up. Growing very intimate with nature completes the religious experience for me.

My husband grew up in a cult, with a slew of siblings and a polygamist father. He hates religion. As an outsider, it is a fascinating thing what people can be coerced into based on what somebody said God said.

Your upbringing sounds pretty ideal. I didn’t technically grow up in a cult like your husband, but for all intents and purposes that’s what it was for me. Basically an extreme form of evangelical christianity. So yeah... I’m not exactly friendly toward religious types, especially the ones that proselytize.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37