Embracing Mesolithicness...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago

A week or so ago I wrote a post about building a new house; It was more about the decision around demolishing and building or extending and renovating the existing property to be honest and some of the frustrations involved in that decision-making process. One would think it would be a reasonably straightforward process involving the overall budget and the needs I have from the property however it's not simple, or straightforward at all.

For the record no decision has been made however my architect/builder friend will be inspecting the site this week and evaluating the suitability of the existing house to be extended and renovated. He will also consider the lay of the site as far as fall goes (It falls left to right as I live on the top of a hill) and what that may mean from a retaining-wall standpoint and existing infrastructure which may be utilised or demolished depending on which way I decide to go.

I haven't really put too much thought into designs as yet; It's been thought about of course however I kept coming to a solid brick wall..."What is, or may be possible, upon the site and what is the most cost-effective way." It has prompted the site visit by my friend to help bring some clarity of thought. Once I have some idea on what a professional thinks is the best course of action then it'll be time for the cogs to start turning on the design again with a view to finalise a course of action.

P1090150.jpg

These days there's so many things to consider in life, not least of which is living arrangements. I'm not sure if it was any easier 9000 years ago though, despite the building code being infinitely less complicated as you can see above. Back 9000 years ago thought probably revolved more around food gathering, hunting and trying to get crops to grow. I'm sure the average Mesolithic family did many other things of course: Scraping hides, making clothes, tools and weapons, procreating, passing knowledge down to new generations, fighting with other families or bands, sitting by the fire talking about their day and of course finding and building shelter.

Shelter 9000 years ago was more basic than it is now; A few skins stretched over a tied-together frame of branches or maybe a cave such as the Cheddar Gorge caves, (Somerset, UK), where, in fact, the UK's oldest and most intact ancient skeleton was found, that of the Cheddar Man from the mesolithic Age. Shelter was simple, as was life; I don't mean life was easy mind you, just less complicated than it is now. Worry and concern revolved around food, shelter and warmth rather than having the latest iPhone or Tom Ford sun glasses, superannuation, health and life insurance, or indeed having a WIFI, internet-connected, automated home; You know, the myriad of things modern life involves. A simple hut with some tusks holding the front up was probably considered quite the mansion.

Life isn't simple these days though and complicated matters take up our every thought it seems, like whether to extend and renovate or demolish and build. Fortunately my life and that of my tribe doesn't depend on my house-situation-decision and so I have the luxury of time to make the most suitable decision. 9000 years ago the Cheddar Man did not have that luxury; Lack of food, shelter and warmth meant death. There was no social security payments and handouts back then. I wonder what he would think about my deliberations? Would he call me soft and tell me to go and cut some branches and stretch some buffalo hides over it? Or maybe he'd sell-out on his Mesolithicness and buy into "hey google, spa baths and ducted reverse-cycle air conditioning..."

As for me? Well, I'd almost prefer Mesolithicness to the crazy world in which we live in but that's not possible and so I have to make adult decisions about what sort of hut or cave I'm going to live in. I hope I make my Mesolithic ancestors proud.

(Image taken by me at Cheddar Gorge, Mendip Hills, Somerset, England. No, it wasn't one of the B&B's I stayed in on my trip. Looked spacious though.)

Sort:  

If haven't seen this guys videos he might inspire you, when he says he is going to make something from scratch he means it.

Oh yeah, I've seen this. Pretty cool huh?

Building code wouldn't permit me to build something like this of course, not on my allotment, however wouldn't it be cool. To be honest I'd like to the see power go out for the next 100 years...Would be interesting to see how many humans are left...Lucky I'm not the boss or I'd probably flick the switch to off just for the hell of it.

If the power went out this guy would probably have his own grid in a few months:
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@funbobby51/probably-the-awesomest-guy-on-youtube

Maybe like now it depends on the age. A grumpy old Mesolithic would have told you to htfu and stretch some buffalo hide over some bones or branches and grumble about back in MY day, meanwhile younger Mesolithic be like OMG BRING ON THE GOOGLE AND THE SPA BATHS AND THE AIRCON XD

I'm currently trying to convince my partner that reno/demo/rebuild might be the way to go rather than trying to find a new house as I'm completely over house hunting (mostly because while he has done 100% of the driving out to go see these houses I've done 98% of the searching and I haaaaaaaaate iiiiiiiiiiit).

Hope your decision is made easier with the professional opinion :)

Hey @ryivhnn, I've been a licensed Land Agent for the last 16 years and so I understand the house-search horror you have gone through. I've done it myself and hate it. This is why we are travelling the path of demo/develop or extend/reno.

I work in the industry still, as a manager and never have any patience with house hunting or commercial property hunting either for that matter. It makes it harder when 85% of real estate agents are lazy, egotistical and unethical. I'm pretty critical of the industry and the lack of quality within it. I'm quite outspoken about that within and without the industry actually.

Good luck with your search. If you want some tips on buying better (negotiating) let me know huh? I like negotiating with land agents, most have no clue and are easy prey. You just need to know how to approach it.

As much as I want to I don't know if I would be able to demo to be honest, I have this bad habit of anthropomorphing things and this house still feels alive so I would feel like I'm murdering the poor thing XD If it was falling apart/caving in etc that would be different! Then there's the added thing of he's determined to move because we're in a dodgy area (it's not that bad, could do without the hoons and the domestics rolling down the street but at least we don't get broken into constantly or have to deal with too many turf wars that aren't Ingress/PoGo related) and he doesn't like how it's developing (density increasing as there's shops and a train station in the area).

Wish my partner was on steem, I'd send him over for negotiating tips, he's the one that does all that kind of thing. Hell if we were local I'd buy you coffee or something so you could explain these things. I'm pretty hopeless at having a casual real time conversation with people real time never mind negotiating XD

Stupid question, what's the difference between a land agent and a real estate agent? Is it in the name? :D

Stupid question, what's the difference between a land agent and a real estate agent? Is it in the name?

This is not a stupid question...It's a smart one.

The Land Agent (my qualification) permits the person to own and operate a business, to be an employer and the Principal of said business. The Land Agent is liable for all the legal repercussions and penalties of breaching the law whilst conducting business. False and misleading statements, misrepresentation etc. (The Trade Practices Act and Real Estate Regulations as such.) Jail terms and massive fines are some of the penalties.

Anyone who is not a Land Agent (most of them people typically meet) is only a salesperson and operates on a Sales Person's licence only. They cannot conduct the business of real estate unless operating underneath a Land Agents Licence i.e. The owner of the business or franchise they work for, called the Agency. They are still subject to the law but the penalties are not as harsh for them as an individual as they are for the Agent which is why all Land Agents hold professional Indemnity insurance paid for at great expense.

I am a Land Agent and so call myself such, most real estate agents people meet are only sales people and have no place calling themselves Land Agents or Real Estate Agents as they do not hold the qualifications. The are Real Estate Sales Persons...

Here in South Australia the salesperson has a CERT III qualification and the Land Agent a Diploma level. I hold an RLA (Registered Land Agents number) with the Government, (Consumer and Business Services), a sales person does not and so only conducts their duties whilst operating underneath the Land Agent's qualification.

The owner of the business is not always a Land Agent. The business can employ a Sales Manager or other such person who holds the RLA and the business is still legal. Each business also needs to hold an RLA, for example I have one personally, my business also had one as well, the entity.

Ok, so, that's about it.

I hope this makes it clearer @ryivhnn

It did, thanks!

That's probably not as complicated as it sounds but it's certainly a bit more involved than I thought :O

It's not complicated really, just highly government regulated. It helps keep the cowboys under control although there's still plenty of operators who should be shut down. Good luck with your search and plans.

I looked for 2 years and finally found the perfect place. If your in australia the market should calm down so will be easier to find a place with less competition. Keep in mind renovations can cost more than you would expect. You can use building estimate calculators to give you an idea on the costs. I decided not building my house until later in life, stressful to build and get approvals even though my job is designing houses and apartments ;) councils have become the biggest headache for most trying to build. Some councils are a joke. Over a year sometimes to give approvals now. Its amusing that some planners in council cannot read a plan to save their life.

So I have at least another year of looking is what you're saying aaaaaargh XD

Okay I changed my mind I'll keep looking x_x I'm in Australia, competition seems to be increasing with the warmer weather for some reason XD

Thanks for the advice :)

Posted using Partiko Android

No one knows what will happen in regards to the property market. So its opinion not advice hehe. Ive noticed in sydney prices are dropping in some areas and in my opinion 1 years time could be perfect time to buy. Just be patient. Make sure you get a building and pest inspection ;) i decided not to buy a property because there was storm water issues that would have cost atlesst 50k to rectify and electrical defects. The real estate were very pushy and criticized me for getting inspections and pulling out. I found a better home half a year later..... lol .

I think they're dropping around here too but I don't know how to read these things. I've been half-arse looking since December, we went away over Christmas and then I started looking bit more seriously halfway through January. At the present stage I've noticed some of the houses we've been looking at that haven't sold yet have either come down in price or turned into "offers" type things. Other ones are stubbornly holding out for the listed price/s but don't look in any danger of being bought anytime soon.

Silly REA, I think I would have been quicker to pull out if I was getting criticised for getting inspections done XD We're pretty undesirable buyers for most I think as we're subject to sale and prone to getting things checked out so we put up a whole pile of our own roadblocks too, they'd probably choose a different buyer if they had the choice XD

Just say "F it" and buy an RV... lol Just throwing ideas out there!

Sometimes I yearn for a more simpler lifestyle. But like you said, ain't happening nowadays.

Oh man, you got no idea how much I'd love to. We talk about it all the time...It's on the list along with 12-18 months travelling around Australia. Not sure how for off it is...Maybe 6-8 Years?

The simple life is fast becoming extinct, like all the other stuff humanity seems completely comfortable to destroy. Assholes.

#simplelife #biffyknowsbest #RVlife :)

P.s. You should do some posts using that hashtag... #biffyknowsbest lets's get that shit trending bro!

Ahh Im not into myself enough to do that. I appreciate your gesture though, got me laughing over here.

I enjoy simple, blunt answers.. and have been consistent in that approach for a while. In life and here on Steem! You the Man Galen! Got to see some more gun vids come warm weather for yall.

We are no longer hunter/gatherers because we DON'T HAVE TO BE.
It's as simple as that, I believe. As far as house building, it is incredibly challenging and surprisingly stressful. I've worked in construction my whole life and you are smart to listen to your builder friend, but also give serious consideration to what YOU(your wife) actually want.

smart to listen to your builder friend, but also give serious consideration to what YOU(your wife) actually want.

  • Heli pad
  • Car turntable like Batman
  • SAM installation on roof
  • Donut making machine in the kitchen

Just your typical everyday needs...

At least you have some built-in fat that can be trimmed from the bottom line!

At least you have some
Built-in fat that can be trimmed
From the bottom line!

                 - willymac


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Wouldn't those be nice...

I'm still hoping but I don't really think I have much chance :)

If I was building my own home I'd specify a 'telecoms room', basically a cupboard for all the stuff like incoming broadband modems, routers and media servers and it would have wired gigabit Ethernet to every room in the house.

I'd also want ground source heat pump and solar panels for heating and electricity, and spec a high standard of insulation. Oh and brick internal walls.

The rest of the house design is handled by the Mrs...

Add in a gun room and it'd sound just about right...

The hard choices some have to make.

Yes, going through this process to eventually accommodate my mother-in-law through, and post, her battle with cancer is going be difficult @j85063 however hopefully it works out for the best.

Best of wishers for you all :)

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.241 which ranks you at #2595 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 17 places in the last three days (old rank 2578).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 388 contributions, your post is ranked at #117.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Working as a project designer, i realised why it is 7 years at university ;) listen to your architect friend. Have a look at my favourite architect alberto campo beaza from spain because of your interest in the cave and hut ;)
Enjoy the journey

Have a look at my favourite architect alberto campo beaza from spain because of your interest in the cave and hut ;)
Enjoy the journey

I'll check it out...I don't know if I have the money to engage Alberto though...Well, actually I KNOW I don't have the money... :)

My mate is a good guy and as he also owns the building company will steer me right. I'm meeting hims today for a site visit as it turns out.

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44