You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Embracing Mesolithicness...

in #life6 years ago

Maybe like now it depends on the age. A grumpy old Mesolithic would have told you to htfu and stretch some buffalo hide over some bones or branches and grumble about back in MY day, meanwhile younger Mesolithic be like OMG BRING ON THE GOOGLE AND THE SPA BATHS AND THE AIRCON XD

I'm currently trying to convince my partner that reno/demo/rebuild might be the way to go rather than trying to find a new house as I'm completely over house hunting (mostly because while he has done 100% of the driving out to go see these houses I've done 98% of the searching and I haaaaaaaaate iiiiiiiiiiit).

Hope your decision is made easier with the professional opinion :)

Sort:  

Hey @ryivhnn, I've been a licensed Land Agent for the last 16 years and so I understand the house-search horror you have gone through. I've done it myself and hate it. This is why we are travelling the path of demo/develop or extend/reno.

I work in the industry still, as a manager and never have any patience with house hunting or commercial property hunting either for that matter. It makes it harder when 85% of real estate agents are lazy, egotistical and unethical. I'm pretty critical of the industry and the lack of quality within it. I'm quite outspoken about that within and without the industry actually.

Good luck with your search. If you want some tips on buying better (negotiating) let me know huh? I like negotiating with land agents, most have no clue and are easy prey. You just need to know how to approach it.

As much as I want to I don't know if I would be able to demo to be honest, I have this bad habit of anthropomorphing things and this house still feels alive so I would feel like I'm murdering the poor thing XD If it was falling apart/caving in etc that would be different! Then there's the added thing of he's determined to move because we're in a dodgy area (it's not that bad, could do without the hoons and the domestics rolling down the street but at least we don't get broken into constantly or have to deal with too many turf wars that aren't Ingress/PoGo related) and he doesn't like how it's developing (density increasing as there's shops and a train station in the area).

Wish my partner was on steem, I'd send him over for negotiating tips, he's the one that does all that kind of thing. Hell if we were local I'd buy you coffee or something so you could explain these things. I'm pretty hopeless at having a casual real time conversation with people real time never mind negotiating XD

Stupid question, what's the difference between a land agent and a real estate agent? Is it in the name? :D

Stupid question, what's the difference between a land agent and a real estate agent? Is it in the name?

This is not a stupid question...It's a smart one.

The Land Agent (my qualification) permits the person to own and operate a business, to be an employer and the Principal of said business. The Land Agent is liable for all the legal repercussions and penalties of breaching the law whilst conducting business. False and misleading statements, misrepresentation etc. (The Trade Practices Act and Real Estate Regulations as such.) Jail terms and massive fines are some of the penalties.

Anyone who is not a Land Agent (most of them people typically meet) is only a salesperson and operates on a Sales Person's licence only. They cannot conduct the business of real estate unless operating underneath a Land Agents Licence i.e. The owner of the business or franchise they work for, called the Agency. They are still subject to the law but the penalties are not as harsh for them as an individual as they are for the Agent which is why all Land Agents hold professional Indemnity insurance paid for at great expense.

I am a Land Agent and so call myself such, most real estate agents people meet are only sales people and have no place calling themselves Land Agents or Real Estate Agents as they do not hold the qualifications. The are Real Estate Sales Persons...

Here in South Australia the salesperson has a CERT III qualification and the Land Agent a Diploma level. I hold an RLA (Registered Land Agents number) with the Government, (Consumer and Business Services), a sales person does not and so only conducts their duties whilst operating underneath the Land Agent's qualification.

The owner of the business is not always a Land Agent. The business can employ a Sales Manager or other such person who holds the RLA and the business is still legal. Each business also needs to hold an RLA, for example I have one personally, my business also had one as well, the entity.

Ok, so, that's about it.

I hope this makes it clearer @ryivhnn

It did, thanks!

That's probably not as complicated as it sounds but it's certainly a bit more involved than I thought :O

It's not complicated really, just highly government regulated. It helps keep the cowboys under control although there's still plenty of operators who should be shut down. Good luck with your search and plans.

I looked for 2 years and finally found the perfect place. If your in australia the market should calm down so will be easier to find a place with less competition. Keep in mind renovations can cost more than you would expect. You can use building estimate calculators to give you an idea on the costs. I decided not building my house until later in life, stressful to build and get approvals even though my job is designing houses and apartments ;) councils have become the biggest headache for most trying to build. Some councils are a joke. Over a year sometimes to give approvals now. Its amusing that some planners in council cannot read a plan to save their life.

So I have at least another year of looking is what you're saying aaaaaargh XD

Okay I changed my mind I'll keep looking x_x I'm in Australia, competition seems to be increasing with the warmer weather for some reason XD

Thanks for the advice :)

Posted using Partiko Android

No one knows what will happen in regards to the property market. So its opinion not advice hehe. Ive noticed in sydney prices are dropping in some areas and in my opinion 1 years time could be perfect time to buy. Just be patient. Make sure you get a building and pest inspection ;) i decided not to buy a property because there was storm water issues that would have cost atlesst 50k to rectify and electrical defects. The real estate were very pushy and criticized me for getting inspections and pulling out. I found a better home half a year later..... lol .

I think they're dropping around here too but I don't know how to read these things. I've been half-arse looking since December, we went away over Christmas and then I started looking bit more seriously halfway through January. At the present stage I've noticed some of the houses we've been looking at that haven't sold yet have either come down in price or turned into "offers" type things. Other ones are stubbornly holding out for the listed price/s but don't look in any danger of being bought anytime soon.

Silly REA, I think I would have been quicker to pull out if I was getting criticised for getting inspections done XD We're pretty undesirable buyers for most I think as we're subject to sale and prone to getting things checked out so we put up a whole pile of our own roadblocks too, they'd probably choose a different buyer if they had the choice XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60497.39
ETH 2637.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56