I'm 30 Days Old On Steemit And This Is My Story!

in #life8 years ago (edited)

happy
image source

This post is really long and might be right for you if you're new, want to do good, or just want to read some nice story.
Documented my experience so far. 30 days of nonstop Steeming!

As a budding writer with words constantly causing chaos in my head due to them not having an outlet, I found Medium. I was promised a better experience than a Wordpress or Blogger blog and well, I got a better experience. However, the other promise of interaction and a ready audience (because of the 'social' nature) remained elusive. In my quest for interaction on Medium, I went on Twitter to search for 'authors on Medium' with the hope of finding these folks. All I found was someone asking if a certain steemit was legit. I sniffed through the conversation which led me to a Rolling Stone article

I talked about it earlier. Here's an excerpt from the post

This year, 2017, I decided to write and publish every day of the year. Day 7 of this new phase, I found Steem by complete accident. The entire idea got me excited and I couldn't wait to get through the sign up process, although I had to carefully read through all the rules tho. Lol.

I was excited but the depth of this excitement would later be tested a few hours after putting out the earlier post. I went on a mini rant which you can see here

Here's a little of what I said:

So I joined steemit a couple of hours ago and I'm still yet to get a hang of it. I seem to be struggling to hold on to a tiny bit of enthusiasm from the loads that accompanied me while creating my account.

Then all of a sudden, I was hit by the awesomeness of this community. Folks came in with a lot of offers to help. You should check out the comments section for some valuable resources to help you grow as a Steemian.

Started with 25 on day one. Woke up on day two with 40 (At this time, I had no real idea what those numbers were).

Wrote two posts on day one. First was to introduce myself. This introduction made me a whooping $0.04 and it would have been more if I had taken my time to survey the entire community and have an idea how things were being done. Instead, I dove right in, heads first, and had to learn the ropes after. It is very important to check posts under #introduceyourself to give you an idea of what gets traction within the community.

The second was a few hours later to vent my frustrations. For some reason this post did a lot better at $0.25 and I got to interact with a few people. My thoughts at the end of the day was...

The community seemed helpful and interacting with them was fun.

Day two ended with a score of 42 (42.3 to be exact, Thanks to esteem). I was desperately searching for ways to increase this and I couldn't sleep. My post for day two didn't do well at all.

So what's with the 25, 40, 42, and 42.3 I've been throwing about? They are reputation scores. Every new user starts at 25 and grows the more you interact and get upvotes.

All these while, I was basically glued to my phone; I was hooked and I had to find a way up. I read everything I could find. I went back into the old world to google all I could. I must have been drowning in so much information.

Then I made a great discovery. I found out It's not enough to write a post you think is cool, people need to know this post exists before it can be voted on. In comes Steemit.chat and its many chatrooms. The experience was so magical I had to rant about it here

Steemit chat will however not give you free votes for mediocre content. You have to put in the work. This work is divided into two;

  1. The quality of my content. This was what I initially noticed. I knew I wasn't a top writer yet and needed to improve on that.

  2. My interaction with others.

Of all the points, I will say interaction is key! Even with a shitty blog, interaction will open up doors for you. It will bring along with it priceless opinions, that can only help to improve you and eventually improve the quality of posts you put out.

I was amazed and humbled when @bitcoinparadise said I was getting better on this post. He had been there from day one! He noticed it. I felt it too and it was awesome having someone tell me this.

Initially I was upvoting every post and every comment. Looking back now, it feels funny. It took me learning about Steem Power from a post by @thecryptofiend here to realize my wrong.

As time went on, I learned the techniques of voting, the importance of interaction, voting power, and gained a lot more clarity on the workings of Steem and blockchain tech.

Then my first community project came here with an idea for the first novel to be jointly written by Steemians. It was nice to see people interested in it. Writing has started and you can follow the story via the link above.

Then there were dry periods 😃 when my posts didn't even make a cent. It was interesting to watch myself swim through that phase. I kept reminding myself this was no magic. I knew I had to build a following and write things people will want to read. I knew I had to take my time and earn my stripes. These things kept me grounded. It's at this stage majority give up and scream scam scam scam but I held on and scaled through.

Very recently, I discovered a rare gem while going through the list of my followers. I try to have an idea of people following me and since I noticed the number crawling up, I decided to take a look.

scroll scroll scroll and boom! I find @ned ! what?!! then his avatar showed up and it was his picture. Wow! I checked through his profile just to have another layer of confirmation and it was positive still!

What could I have done in less than 27 days to get @ned to follow me. It was, and still is, very amazing. Now I know there's the probability of him seeing my posts and so I better put some work into the quality. (Thanks to @busy.org for making this discovery possible).

I won't end this without a big shoutout to @curie !!!
Thank you @kevinwong @firepower @shenanigator and @liberosist for the amazing support.

@kus-knee @j3dy and @dreemit for being wonderful!!!

Let me leave with some fun facts.

Fun Facts

~ - Number of people that love me here. *Everyone that has interacted with me loves me! *

0.03 - BTC withdrawn just to test for "scam".

27 - Number of days it took me to become a minnow (or a superuser according to Busy).

You should have seen the expression on my face the day I discovered I wasn't even a minnow yet. All these while I had been pretending to be little when in actual fact, I was super tiny.

36 - Number of authored posts.

59 - Number of followers.

60 - Reputation level reached in 29 days.

211 - Interactions created as a result of the posts.

253 - Total number of posts.

600 - Steem Power

If I can do it, you definitely can!

Sort:  

I don't really have much to say but keep it up. Looks like you got the hang of things.

One little detail though, you don't have to, but I would recommend citing your sources for your images. That at least the source could get some traffic from us checking it out and support both you and the source.

Steem on @fisteganos!

Wow. I assumed I did that already. Fixed.

Thank you 😊

nice update, upvoted!

How nice of you 😊

Thank you for all the support!

Congratulations @fisteganos your hard work is clearly paying off and is inspiring for newbies like me. Thanks :)

I hope to always be a source of inspiration. It's been an exciting journey!

Welcome @fisteganos =) Feel good to see new people here !

Thanks. I appreciate it

You're doing great here! Keep doing what you are doing! You've got a good reputation for only 30 days man.

I know! That's what got me so excited!!!

Thanks for the kind words. I'll keep at it 😊

Oh thank you for the shout out :)

Nice to hear from you , awesome to see you doing well , with such a move up in a month :)

See everything changes in just a few weeks , depending on the environment(if it allows for such changes). You've done great in such a short time , sometimes diving in teaches you a lot for a short time , you seem to have gotten as much done as I did in three times the time :D , I was learning the ropes for 1-2 months , before I dove in and yeah , rants and frustrations , then you see you have to learn and grow, if you want to at least. Or make due with .30cents or.03 payouts :)

Cheers mate , really great to see you take a swing and make e impact , soon enough you will be a bigger fish :) , maybe even a tree to harbor people :)

I realize not everyone has that same luck as I DID. "Did" because it feels like the luck is running out lol. I've not really been around after that post but hopefully I'll get myself together and be back on track soon enough.

With dedication and hard work, we'll all get to the top no matter how long it takes. I see you putting in the work too 😊

The -cents payouts are very humbling periods haha! Let's grow and start to harbor people 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62020.79
ETH 2420.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64