The Chatroom Miracle.

in #curie8 years ago

Wow! I really have to contain my excitement and surprise so as to be able to explain this as coherently as possible. 

So everyone knows I was frustrated within my first couple hours of joining steemit and this wasn't because I wasn't getting any upvotes (that would be an hurdle for later) but plainly because I could not easily go to my photos library to upload a picture. 

I wrote about that here and later about my love hate relationship with steemit (aka my addiction to steemit). 

During these times, amazing steemians  came from all over to offer me tips, help, and advice to get me off the ground. I read a lot but to be very honest, most of the information were still over my head. 

One of the suggestions I received at the time was to join the steemit chat. For some reason the link that was given didn't work. After trying for some days, I discarded it and kept reading and upvoting people. 

That was until this faithful day when I found out the link was probably wrong. I tried this new one, got through and registered an account. All straightforward. 

One of the posts by @curie led me there. 

I wasn't going to be forward at all in a strange land so I took my time to check the various rooms and the sort of conversations taking place. 

@curie had loads of rules lol. Over 13, I believe. I made sure I read them before going ahead to select one of my posts that fit their criteria. I dropped another link to a different post on a different thread and just went away to deal with real life. 

This real life being taking a really long nap because steemit has been denying me of my sleep. 

I got back to my phone about an hour later to check what was up with steemit and all I kept mumbling was "wow". 

Come, see for yourself. 

I don't know why I took this screenshot but it happened that I took it about an hour ago. That would be before or immediately after posting in the chat. 


Now see what one hour did! 


Go back and try to notice as many differences as possible. 


Ok so my previous "high" had been $0.25 with other posts being around $0 or $0.0x. So, as every other human would, the first difference I noticed was the money part. What just happened? I had almost forgotten I even went to any chat to drop my link. I had to slowly recall this and I was just blown away. 


Then comes the crazy part. 

Notice my "influence/power" ratings on both pictures? See the massive jump? Totally unbelievable! I don't even have words to describe it so I'd just let it be and maybe you'll find the words for me and be kind enough to drop them as comments. 


And it keeps growing. Check out the post here.

Sort:  

Great job. Keep going and get creative with your posts! Just a little tip, look past the reward on the posts, you want to give us good quality content for us to read and view right? The big paying post will come on it's own.

Most definitely! Creativity is the key.
I was even more excited about the jump in my "influence" from 44 to 51. The most was just to talk about my general observation of what some top upvotes can do for your post.

Yes. I used to try to post things to get those "whale" votes but I learned that's the wrong way to create content. Only cared if they voted on my post because they had all the Steem Power and I could get that high payout. Not saying you will do this but just remember you are sharing information with us and it's up to you to share something of value or not :) Steem on.

This was one of the most helpful articles I have seen for newbies so far - they should feature this one on the front page where you sign up :) Tamara xx

Oh wow! Thank you for this.
There are many more great articles for newbies. A simple google search will go a long way. You'll be amazed at how many helpful articles are out there already!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66561.16
ETH 3492.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63