A Little Eye Contact Can Save Your Life...

in #life6 years ago (edited)

I was sixteen years old and about to have one of those fateful moments that can change a person for life. It was a beautiful spring day. The birds were chirping while a soft wind was blowing and everything seemed alright with the world. Having just taken a bus to the mall, I decided to enjoy the lack of humidity and walk home.

Ever have those times where everything seems perfect? Like Goldilocks, that afternoon was just right. The Sun shining down around me like a warm blanket on a cold winter's day. I can still see the intersection in my mind’s eye. Approaching the curb, I saw a car stopped well back from the crosswalk. It didn't seem too strange to me as I'd seen other new drivers do the same.

Little did I know, this time would be very different.

Stepping out

Looking up at the light which had just turned red, an odd feeling came over me. I turned my head left and noticed a woman in the only car on the road. Then I walked off the curb...

Taking maybe one step? possibly beginning the second when everything seemed to happen in slow-motion. The vehicle began to roll towards me even though I had the light. It wasn't going fast but wasn't stopping either. Hearing the noise and turning to look again, I suddenly found myself on the hood of the car, arms outstretched as if in an act of supplication. My upper chest was on the top while my feet were being pulled under the space between the wheels.

The road was on a slight incline, so the car was coasting downhill. It was so quiet, with the only sound coming from the crunch of pebbles under the tires. At that moment, words flashed through my mind about the eyes being the window to the Soul. Completely helpless, I thought: "If she's going to run me over, I'm going to make sure she remembers it." So I did the only thing I could...

Connecting: One human being to another

Finding her eyes behind the windshield, I gave them a piercing stare. Not in anger, because there was no time for that, but more like "are you really going to do this?" Our eyes locked as I was beginning to be drawn further down the hood. She looked directly at me and then in horror, realizing what was happening, finally stepped on the brakes.

Falling backward, I landed in the cross street, then turned over and limped away from danger. Getting myself together, I saw she'd rolled her window partway down. A blonde woman, mid-thirties maybe, she had her head on the steering wheel and was crying. At some point I spoke to her:

Were you trying to run me over?

No.

Why did you do that?

I don't know.

Turns out she was having relationship problems with her husband and had just stormed off after a huge argument. Seems she lost it when seeing me at the intersection. Who knows, maybe I was wearing clothing that reminded her of him. Profusely apologizing, the lady asked for my forgiveness which I freely gave. Still shaken, the bus approached which took me the rest of the way home. Thankfully I was not wearing headphones and was able to think quickly. I truly believe if I’d not had the presence of mind to lock eyes with her the outcome might have been very different. That one precious moment of human contact broke the spell and made all the difference.

So if you're ever in a situation of apparent powerlessness, remember that saying. "The eyes are the window to the Soul." Use them. They may very well save your life...

Thank you so much!

Follow @evernoticethat and UPVOTE

Twitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat

Image credit: 1

If you liked this post, you can also check out my most recent articles:

Sort:  

I don't know that I would have been so quick to forgive. It might have taken a little more time. Glad you weren't hurt! And your advice about connecting with people is very sound.

I think the fact that we talked afterwards (or rather, I listened) helped a lot. Since the street was on an incline, it's likely she let go of the brake without realizing it. She apologized over and over and over...

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 1 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 226 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Why thank you "TP" as in Alice, I'd ask you if you'd like a warm pig, but I don't think that would go over too well. :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Thank you for the support! and I've ordered an awesome day for you as well.

Interesting and well written! I like it.

Good thinking also!

Thanks, it was quite harrowing. I hope it inspires somebody else to find their way out of a tough situation.

wow que emocionante historia, estaba leyendo e iba colocando en tu lugar si duda, recurriste a la mejor frase!!
Me lleva a meditar en la posibilidad que no podemos ahogarnos en nuestros propios problemas o pensamientos egoístas, fuera hay personas que viven momentos de crisis, sin saberlo tu la salvaste probablemente sino hubiese tropezado contigo ella se hubiera lanzado por un barranco o algo mas, considero que en ambos casos fue un stop para ambos!! para colocar los pies sobre la tierra y permanecer y meditar en lo que realmente importa vivir! saludos

Well-said @aniita I was considering that as I was talking with her. The incident likely changed both of us hopefully for the better. People say I'm a good listener and at that moment she seemed to want to unburden herself and I was happy to oblige. Thank you for stopping by and have a wonderful day! :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by EverNoticeThat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @evernoticethat! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues
Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Phew... that was a very exciting and stirring story. I was so afraid to get between the wheels!!! My imagination almost ran wild with me. You have succeeded in describing it excellently.

Very irritating that in such a short period of time - it could only have been a matter of seconds - this intensive eye contact and the course of your thoughts could have taken place. But I assume that exactly this can happen in an infinitely short time. Your presence of mind is remarkable.

How much is it an interpretation of you that the woman fantasized you as a kind of enemy because, as you found out, she fought with her husband. Can you say how fast she was going? Step speed or faster? I couldn't get that from your description.

In any case, people should not drive a car if they are mentally aroused. How remarkable that you caught yourself so quickly and were not angry with this woman. She will certainly have learned the lesson of her life.

How good that the angle was favourable and eye contact was possible at all. You could have been dead and never shared this great narrative.

I wrote this after going past the spot where it happened. The car was rolling down, not fast at all. I see that place everytime I go to the mall, and I did so right before I wrote this.

She looked very angry at the start. I read a lot, and had read before this incident that staring into a person's eyes might make them less likely to harm you. It worked.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43