Where Have All The Comments Gone?

in #steem6 years ago (edited)

You know that the STEEM price is affecting things when popular bloggers can upload a post and one hour later there are no comments. There have even been times when I was the only one who bothered to leave one. I began noticing this not too long ago right around the time of HF20. Before that, you had to get a comment in quickly after it was posted in order to get responses back. So I decided to do my own little part to help with engagement. While I was writing this, I was reminded of the old Peter, Paul and Mary song, hence the title...

Your voice matters

Even when I'm too busy to write an article, I try to add my voice to a relevant post. This helps me to stay active and hopefully spark a conversation with some of my favorite bloggers.

I'm now leaving my thoughts when I see a post with no remarks on a subject where I can contribute to. Hopefully by "getting the ball rolling" it may encourage others to also join in. Those of you that are new to Steemit and feel you aren't being noticed have a golden opportunity to stand out in these lean times. This is an awesome way to network with other Steemians and raise your profile as part of the community. Guys, you have a rare chance to be seen and heard on this amazing platform, don't let it pass you by. So get out there and start commenting! :)

Thank you so much!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat

Image credit: 1,

If you liked this post, you can also check out my most recent articles:

Sort:  

Want to depress yourself? Go to your followers and randomly look at people's accounts. I did that a few days ago and I came up with about 1 in 24 active. Which is one reason I have gone from 6-12 comments per post to zero to 1. There just isn't very many people paying attention at the moment.

I wonder how many of those were the auto-follow accounts I started noticing early this year every time we posted? Were they ever really real?

I could see posting less or writing shorter articles, but to skip town entirely is very short-sighted. As George Harrison once said: All things must pass...

I think one of the biggest problems for me is when I comment to much I loose my resource credits and it takes forever for it to build back up! So now instead of commenting on most posts I only comment on a select few. I think in that regard the hardfork really messed with communication interaction!

Indeed, but I'd thought they had worked on that so it wasn't as much an issue anymore? I knew something was wrong when I saw some Whale accounts with only one or two comments where they used to get dozens.

Right before I posted this comment my RC Status was at 100%. Afterwards it went to 99.74% so not too big of a hit. Maybe they fixed something?

It depends on ur SP and since I delegated most of mine away so I only have about 100 SP left. With that I lose more than 2.5% rc per comment. That doesn't sound like much but if i do 10 comments in a day then it adds up really quick. Smaller accounts have problems after a few days of being active so I think that is killing a lot of comments and activity. If they have fixed anything i haven't noticed.

I've noticed that for some time now. Engagement has been down. Glad you brought it up though because I know we are not the only ones to notice. Hope you're doing ok by the way.

Thanks, just doing my little part. Many blessings to you and your family. I really started to notice it on the big accounts where it used to be difficult to be heard amongst the dozens of comments unless you responded quickly. So instead of me just complaining, I decided to start doing something. This too shall pass...

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by EverNoticeThat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43