Salt of the Earth

in #life6 years ago

Hello friends! Just wanted to take a minute to touch on something that's been on my mind recently. I've been told for a while that I'm a "good guy" with a "good heart" and it's only struck me lately how that is considered unusual in my area. locally people see me as some kind of oddity instead of what should be a normal human being. It made me wonder: since when is common decency not so common after all? Seems to me this is the way everyone should be.

At times I find people coming to me to arbitrate disputes because it's known that I'm honest. Maybe it's just the population around me, but I find it puzzling and slightly troubling that folks like myself are considered rare enough that it merits a mention.

A few years ago, there was a dispute at work. Everyone started shouting when we returned to home base and the boss pointed to me and told them all to leave. He said he wanted to hear what happened directly from me as I was the only one who would tell him the truth. I did. It made me a little uncomfortable to be singled out like that as I've never been one to seek attention.

Carrying that weight

The thing is when I run into good people they seem to have the weight of the world on their shoulders. Always thinking of others, never taking time out for themselves. It made me wonder, who helps these selfless souls out? I had to tell one guy to set aside some time for himself as it was obvious he was being taken advantage of. If you're reading this and notice someone like that, I encourage you to help lift their burden so they can get some well-deserved rest.

After all, you never know when you might need someone...

Maybe that's what they mean when they refer to someone as "the salt of the Earth." It may be that sprinkled throughout the world are various individuals that may be "the salt" in their little social circle. Have any of you found this bemusing situation in your life? Let’s hope that one day finding "good people" won't be so unusual after all...

Thank you so much!

Twitter: https://twitter.com/EverNoticeThat

Image credit: 1, 2, 3

If you liked this post, you can also check out my most recent articles:

Sort:  

Great post, I know exactly how you feel. In fact this was me just a few years ago, but I got tired of always being the nice guy, the one everyone could count on.. It just got to be to much for me because like you said no one ever stopped to think and help me out. I think I got used it all up in this world of take take take. Now I am a recluse and it suits me much more. Sure it can be a bit lonely sometimes but it is a nice change of pace from the first 30+ years of my life. Keep on fighting the good fight as long as you can, but one day you will have to learn to be a bit more selfish if you truly want to enjoy life. ;)

Like you, I saw the light a few years ago. The phrase "you're my last hope" kept popping up and I began warning people that this would be the last time I would help them out without reciprocation. They would always promise but never deliver. So I started cutting people off.

They don't realize that warm-hearted people need help, regeneration and a rest once in awhile. I've seen too many get ground down trying to save the world, when they really need to nourish themselves...

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

And a big early-morning thanks right back at you!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by EverNoticeThat from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

We should be trend. Keep on, teach it everybody.

Hey... yeah, i get that! Where are all the nice crew? And where is our support? xx And where are you?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44