The son of Gene Colan

in #life7 years ago

Yes i'm the only son i have one sister. We grew up in New Jersey until i graduated high school in 1984 and then our parents moved to New York City. It was my mother's dream to live in NYC my father hated it but they sold our suburban home in Matawan NJ for a one bedroom apt right across from the Dakota on the Upper West Side of Manhattan on 72 st. Central Park West where John Lennon lived but when we moved there he was killed 2 years earlier in front of his building. The apt was nice but it was just a one bedroom and too small for us all but it was an amazing location being right there off of Central Park and across from the Dakota which is one of the most beautiful buildings in NYC very dark and gothic which actually the same architect built the Plaza Hotel. I'd go up to the top of our building which was the Oliver Cromwell on 72 st and being the tallest building on that block i could look down at the Dakota from a three floor apt that our building was renovating. So i'd sneak in since no one was up there and see the view which was incredible especially looking down at the Dakota which was a view you'd never get to see anywhere but where i was standing. The only view you could see that is in the beginning of the film Rosemary's Baby which was shot at the Dakota.

This is me posing for my Dad. He'd have me and my sister sometimes pose for him taking polaroids of us to use for his references when drawing.

IMG_2893.JPG

This is one of my sister a rare pic in our family album that i love very much and one of the coolest pics and poses shot.

Scan.jpeg

This is a pic of my Dad. This photo was used in the article that the New York Times did on my father when he passed away.
http://www.nytimes.com/2011/06/25/arts/gene-colan-comic-book-artist-dies-at-84.html

Gene2.jpg

This is the building my parents moved into when i was 18

390197_10150450248073550_1638181442_n.jpg

This is me when i was 18. It's inside my parents one bedroom apt and i'm posing for my dad here.

Scan 2.jpeg

Sort:  

Great Post Erik!
Steem on :)

Welcome to Steemit, @erikcsteem!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot.

Sup man, welcome to steem! hope you enjoy being here. please feel free to follow me. thanks!!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56512.08
ETH 2344.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33