What my kids and I are learning from Google Home

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Source: Wikimedia

For more than a couple years now, I've had a few Google Home devices around my house. Since then, I have enjoyed their utility and the Easter Eggs hidden within them. Yes, I have concerns about privacy, but I've also thought long and hard about privacy and have arrived at the conclusion that you'd have to work pretty hard to come up with a reason to even listen to my house. We're actually rather boring.

I think for about three years now, I've subscribed to Google Play. Before I subscribed, I started out uploading all my songs to Google Play. I liked that because I can use my phone in my car to listen to every one of my albums in alphabetical order, and that makes playback somewhat eclectic on the way to work. After doing that one and half times, I got bored, and finally, succumbed to the siren call of the offer to try Google Play for a month. So I did.

I found that I could play any of more than 35 million songs any time, without commercial interruption. I could play all of my own music without commercial interruption, too, before I subscribed, but relief from boredom won out. And they threw in commercial free YouTube Premium for free (Only available in the United States).

Another appealing part of Google Play comes with Google Home. See, I wanted to be able to ask for any song by name on Google Home, but could not. I did some research and found out that I had to subscribe to Google Play before I could just say, "Play 'Yesterday' by the Beatles," and have it play that song. That was the other reason I subscribed. And things only got more interesting from there.

As I made requests to Google Home around the house, my kids (I have two, one is 5 and the other is 3 years old) observed me. I'd ask for a song, and they'd hear the song I asked for. I'd also ask questions about the weather, science, and the time of sunset. I also found some games to play, too.

But the real fun was with the Easter Eggs. So sometimes, when I'm taking a time out (raising kids is hard work), I'd poke around with odd questions to see if I could get an interesting response. I'm treating it like a HAL 9000, only without so much worry about the pod bay doors. I'm intrigued by the sort of conversation one can have with artificial intelligence.

I'm also aware that intelligent assistants are going to be a part of life for my daughters. I figured that I might as well see how they can work with it. And they did.

Since kids are essentially imitation machines, they did what I did. They watched me and started to make requests and got a response. At first, Google Assistant didn't know what to do in response to my kids. But after a few tries, my kids started to get the hang of it. I think it took some time for Google Assistant to make sense of somewhat malformed words since my kids are still learning how to articulate the words they want to say.

By observing me first, they learned how to ask Google Assistant to play songs they liked. Then they learned how to ask Google Assistant what song was playing, and they'd remember who that was and associate that artist with the song. They've become adept at asking for the song they want when they want it. That was the first thing they learned from me about using Google Assistant.

I also learned that I can roll the dice, flip a coin and pick a number between 1 and 10. I don't know if they are truly random, but its fun once in awhile to do to just ask for that. My kids learned to do that, too.

I also learned that I can broadcast to the other Google Homes in the house (I have 3). You say, "Hey Google, broadcast," and it would record what you say and play it back on the other Google Home devices on the network. So just for fun, if I wanted them to come to the room I was in, I'd broadcast my request for them to come to me, and they'd come. But they also learned to use the command too, so they'd broadcast a message, and run to the other room to hear it. They would also reply back to me with their own message, as well.

But while I was away at work, they figured out how to say, "Hey Google, what can you do?" And there, they heard that Google can play games and tell stories. One game they picked up on is MadLibs. You might recall that game where you're asked to provide random nouns, verbs and adjectives. My kids so young, and yet somehow, they like that game, and they're learning about language, which I think is cool.

If there are any comments about privacy and other philosophical issues to consider about having these in one's home, please feel free to let on, as I'm open to the discussion. I could probably write a book about them if I wanted to. It may be true that I don't know what I'm doing by having Google Home in my house, but I've considered many of the implications or ramifications of having them around and I'm OK with it.

For now, I see that my kids can have some pretty innocent fun with Google Home and Google Assistant and that's enough for me.

Write on.


slogan by @tecnosgirl
Slogan by @tecnosgirl


Other articles you might enjoy by @digitalfirehose:



Plan B for Humanity

A basic guaranteed income in the context of Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

A sort of political movie review: Star Wars: Rogue One

Happiness isn't getting everything you want - happiness is a skill

The opposite of love is not hate, it is apathy

Fate, impunity and altruism

A short but growing list of people I admire, who have helped me, and/or influenced me, my thinking and/or my posts:

Sort:  

I've hooked up a bunch of smart lights, a stero and other stuff to an Alexa Dot in my oldest daughter's room. She loves being able to do things just by talking. I was considering the Google home things, but I figured at that time, the Dot was just cheaper and had a better range of integration. I might get the Google for myself though.

However, I have to say the biggest reason was that I don't like the trigger words that Google has, they feel really weird to me. Alexa sounds much better for me.

I'm sure that Google is aware of your concerns with trigger words and is working on the problem. See here:

https://ai.googleblog.com/2018/05/duplex-ai-system-for-natural-conversation.html

That dude @bozz gave me the tip on Duplex. Google is very much working on AI and natural conversation with computers so that we can just make a request instead of programming a sentence to get what we want.

I saw the demo before (over the net), it's pretty cool that they were able to make it work, even in a closed and relatively predictable environment!

It reminds me a bit of when I first moved to Netherlands. Phone calls and conversations were sort of possible, if they stayed on topic and within the expected range of responses!

I think they are working on specific voice recognition which is a huge thing. There was an example a while ago where they were selling one of the Amazon devices on QVC. The guy was demonstrating how you can order pizza just by saying hey Alexa... All these people that had Alexa's at home within range of the TV suddenly had a pizza on its way...

Yeah, natural language skills in our computers is coming. There are so many nuances to speech that I think we're about 5 to 10 years away from a Star Trek kind of computer. Heck, we might even be able to have Nagel Barrett's voice on our speaker if we want it.

That would be awesome! It was so soothing...

Or we could have shodan!

Yes, this would be the best thing. It is the main reason why I don't use voice assistance out in public (apart from from looking like a dork). I listen to heaps of tech podcasts, and sometimes they forget to use a substitute word...

That is pretty awesome! I have been wanting to get a Google Home or the Amazon equivalent for a while so I could start implementing some home automation stuff. Like you, I am concerned about privacy issues. Even though like you said, we are also pretty boring. The advances that Google is making in AI and digital assistants is pretty exciting. The presentation at Google's last big event was pretty cool. My instinct has me leaning towards the Google, but we are Amazon Prime members so we get all the benefits of Prime Music etc. That makes me second guess myself. Interesting what the kids can find though!

Wait...What was Google's last big event? Did you attend? What in particular did you like about their presentation?

Please, do tell...:)

It was from Google I/O a couple of months ago. No, I sadly was not able to attend, but I have fallen into the habit of watching the live streams from events like this whenever I can:

I found this video on Youtube of the part I was talking about. Duplex has some scary awesome potential.

Thanks for the tip. I will check it out. :)

I have never bought or used one of these devices, but it sounds pretty cool. I like the easter egg stuff you mentioned, like mad libs. I bet my kids would love playing around with that. Maybe in the future... :D

Try one and you might find you like it. That's how I got started.

Nice wright up!
I have to admit though, i am not a fan of being constantly listened too and recorded. Generally people WILL act and behave differently when being monitored. Soon you will be queried as to why you turned it off for any given period (did you have something to hide at that particular time etc etc).
Just my opinion, but i think Google is Evil and insidious for its own benefit and profiteering.
I would say, yes give your children some exposure to this kind of Tech becuase the general population will be sold this kind of 'stuff', but equally life-skills will benefit just as good.
Good Luck

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 209 (7/28/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44