We Are Our Choices

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20170911_175700.jpg

It has been in my bucketlist now to finish this book because I had been dragging it around the world the last 4 years. I finally gave up and left it on purpose at my friend's house in Brazil, not because I got bored of John Galt's speech but because it was taking up space in my backpack. I was traveling and had been distracted all the time that I wasn't even reading it anymore. Then I realized, I would have to buy this someday and finish reading it at some point.

I was thinking about it lately and how I regret leaving this book at my friend's house. So I was planning to buy it online but I have forgotten actually. So today I went to the mall and passed by the $2 and up used bookstore and found it, only one, displayed in front like we are destined to be together again. $4, with yellow pages and smelling good, nothing like a used book, with its soul being passed around.

I bought it straight away. With all my free time now, I will finally be able to read it again. Perhaps go to the beach and read? I don't know about that, it's not quite a relaxing read. But I like it, and the other book that I read - The Fountainhead too.

Well, I also found a pretty dress, more expensive than the book of course. But I didn't buy it, I realized that today, I'm just going to choose one. I just have to reward myself and ask if I really deserve to have something. Am I being productive? Am I working on my project? Am I writing enough? Back in the days, when I could just buy anything without even thinking. Now, I am into discipline mode, I just have to change some of my old ways. Especially if I have one desire in my mind.

We are our choices.
― Jean-Paul Sartre

You can probably think why I was making a big deal out of these things, I should have bought the two right? Make myself feel better. It is not depriving myself, it is choosing what's more important at this moment.

This time of my life is very crucial, I need to surround myself with positive influences, inspiration, and knowledge. It is quite hard to stay undistracted when you are working on a plan, but I am careful with my thoughts. I have to control it if I want to achieve my goal.

I would always not hesitate to buy a book anyway, it's a must. My choices in life change as I get older. Maybe it would make sense to feed the mind now? But it would be nice to have a new dress too, especially after a long time of not buying anything for myself. I guess, I just become less concerned about my image these days, that I actually have saved more money when I stopped buying things - makeup, clothes, shoes, and handbags. I'm not into impressing anyone with things. I prefer quality things, more useful for me, for myself and nothing more. I care about my health. I care about more important things in life.

I made a choice. I figured out that it would be better for me to be less dumb than look pretty in a dress, not that any of these things will make a difference. At least I am trying, ha! Anyway, I still have my old dress, there! Perhaps, I will come back someday and hopefully, the other one would still be there.

But I'm not keeping my hopes up, I'm letting it go now.

It is easy to decide on what is wrong to wear to a party, such as deep-sea diving equipment or a pair of large pillows, but deciding what is right is much trickier.
― Lemony Snicket

Sort:  

Nice post. I just started reading Atlas Shrugged yesterday. Superb read so far! I recently read a book Existentialism: A Beginner's Guide by Thomas E. Wartenberg. Very good book, highly recommended for students of existentialism.

Yeah, intense, powerful and political Atlas Shrugged is. I will check out that Existentialism book, thanks for the recommending.

if it helps, you can find audiobook versions of Atlas Shrugged on YouTube.
Here's a pretty good clip from the movie as well (the Trial of Hank Rearden)...

ps. if it says anything, took me but moments before deciding you're going straight onto my "follow" list! :D

This time of my life is very crucial, I need to surround myself with positive influences, inspiration, and knowledge. It is quite hard to stay undistracted when you are working on a plan, but I am careful with my thoughts. I have to control it if I want to achieve my desires.

I understand this feeling. I wake up every day, wanting nothing more than to go right back to sleep. But I eventually convince myself to get up out of the warm, cozy, comfortable bed, to get up and go for a morning run before I start my day at work.

I know that once I go to work, I don't know what time I'm going to be able to get home that day. In consulting, you could have an easy day (where you get home at a "normal" time), or you might have a hard day (where you get home after 11:00 PM).

The only guarantee is that if I spend my morning exercising, I will definitely be able to exercise that day. But this means that my non-morning-person feelings/attitude need to be adjusted. I can no longer enjoy the extra 30-45-60 minutes in bed. I need to wake up and start my day earlier.

But this is my desire. I want to be healthier. I want to be "in-shape". I want to be fit. I want these things because I want to live a longer and more enjoyable life when I am older. I'm putting in the time now, at a younger age, so I can reap the benefits of this effort down the road. I want to still be mobile and walking around when I'm in my 70's and 80's. The only way I can do that is to start planning for those days, today. :)

You can do anything that you put your mind to!

I'm low on voting power now, but I will keep upvoting your amazing comments. I read your steps app post, maybe I'll just upvote it tomorrow.

Yeah, it is nice to be and feel healthy, it is also about our choices in life. I want to be fit too!

I admire your discipline. 😊

You can do anything that you put your mind to!

With you.

Happy birthday to your son! 😊

I admire your discipline. 😊

It takes SOOO MUCH Effort every morning to wake up! I don't feel like I'm disciplined enough yet .. I'm hoping that after these 28 days of the challenge I'll be in a true routine.

Don't worry about the voting power :)

Happy birthday to your son! 😊

Thank you so much!

It takes SOOO MUCH Effort every morning to wake up!

Meh, I know what you mean. Every day I am telling myself to wake up early to go to the Olympic pool. It's the only time they will allow me there, and for free lol. I wish I could really wake up early haha.

No worries!

While I do struggle every morning just getting out of bed, once I'm up and dressed and start my workout, I am more than happy to continue the workout. Once you're out there, the additional amount of effort that you need to exert to continue is minimal.

I also reach for a bit more when I start to get tired. I tell myself to push for a little longer, keep going just a little more. And as long as my body isn't responding with "ARE YOU KIDDING ME!?", I typically am able to push a little farther :)

The hardest part is convincing yourself to get up and get out. Once you can figure that part out, you'll be all set! (or at least that's what I keep telling myself .. I'm still working on figuring out mine!!)

Ok I will try my best haha. It is actually hard to sleep early too lol.

Thanks for the advice!

The devil has put a penalty on all things we enjoy in life. Either we suffer in health or we suffer in soul or we get fat.

- Albert Einstein

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

I came across your post by accident and the title caught my eye. It's been sitting open in my browser for over an hour (book to finish, first) and now that I've read it, I'm glad I kept it. I couldn't agree with you more. The choices we make in life define us. That's what I try to tell myself every day, lately. That I am the one responsible for my happiness in life and that I achieve that happiness through choices. There's nothing simpler (and nothing trickier) than just do it.
I would've chosen the book too ;)

There would be difficult choices ahead of us, but whatever we choose now will help shape the future.

Thanks for your lovely comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42