Death Came Knocking and Church Bells Rang

in #life5 years ago

I've started this post a couple of times and not been able to get through it. It's a pretty hard thing to write about but I'll try. I will tell you now that it isn't one of my happy stories and, unfortunately, it is a true story.

On December 31st I had an upsetting dream. The dream was, basically, about a family tree. The tree had a broken branch and there were only eight branches left. Now, there was a lot more in the dream but I woke up from this dream just crying and I knew I had to write it down because I felt it was telling me about my family. In my dream, I was the broken branch and the number eight meant, to me, that me or one of my siblings would be "leaving" us. I thought it could be me because I had been pretty sick and, frankly, I have been feeling broken physically and mentally. I also thought it could be a sister who was the eighth born out of the nine of us. So, I wrote it down and after a couple of days wrote it off as just another one of my weird, vivid dreams.

On January 16th I had something happen that has never happened before in my life and I can't claim to know or understand why. I had just come up from putting some laundry in the washing machine in the basement and I got an uneasy feeling. Not good and not bad but just that I wasn't alone except I was. This in itself is not unusual for me or for some other people in my family as we've experienced these things throughout our lives. I had just fed the cats and was standing no more than two feet from the closed basement door when I heard three evenly spaced very loud and distinct knocks coming from the basement door. I was surprised and taken aback but I didn't want to be afraid so I opened the door. Sure enough, no one was there and I quickly closed the door. Right when I closed it, I heard two more evenly spaced loud and distinct knocks. Now, I wasn't so brave and ran into another room and called my sister just to feel like I wasn't alone. If it weren't so cold out then I probably would have gone outside. I told her what had happened and stayed on the phone with her for a little while. I didn't finish the laundry until my husband got home. I also tried to research what it might mean and the only thing I found was something known as "death knocks". I read that if you hear three knocks then it could mean someone close to you will die in three days, three weeks or three months. I heard five knocks not three so I thought that was a good thing.

yr47ki7cmq.jpg

That night/morning between midnight and 1 am, I was awakened by the sound of church bells. The were four loud single rings and also evenly spaced. Honestly, my only thought was what could've happened in our government. I guess that sounds silly but I had just been woken up out of a sound sleep. I laid back down and eventually fell back asleep.

z96h28i5wh.jpg

This is the part that gets really hard. You see on January 21st my brother was killed in a hit and run accident by a driver under the influence. It was pretty bad. It was the coldest and windiest day we've had this season. My brother drives a tractor trailer and had pulled over onto the side of the road and was tightening the straps on his load when he was hit. He was always the safest driver and had done everything right. He called in, pulled over and put out flares...he always did everything right and safely. At least one person had been following the guy that hit him and continued following him even as he drove into the next state which wasn't far from where it happened. They also got photos. Many people did stop to help my brother as he lay in the road. They put blankets on him and prayed over him. People keep giving details which has been especially hard. They thought his name was Phil as he tried to tell someone his name through a broken face. His name was BIll. A couple of those people even came to the services. It is comforting to know that he was not alone and I want to believe that he felt no pain. I don't believe he was conscious long at all and was already on his way to Heaven.

My brother was more than a brother, he was a husband, father, grandfather, uncle, cousin, friend and a father figure to a couple of others who didn't have their own fathers around. He volunteered in the community and church. He was the person that would stop to help if your car was broken down on the side of the road. He was also funny and was always joking around. He did Elvis impersonations too. He will be missed by so many.

It wasn't till later in the night after getting the news that I realized it had been five days since I heard the knocking. I've talked to several people who say that it was just his time and I believe that too. I don't know if it is something I will experience again or if it has something to do with siblings. I do think what I experiened was just the other side saying prepare yourself. It won't be easy but it is time for him to come home. Our other home with God and loved ones that passed before us. It hasn't been easy and I guess it won't be for a while. I keep expecting him to call my name over my shoulder and I don't think I would be afraid at all. I've talked to him every day since and I know he can hear me. I love you Bill and I miss you. Say hello to mom and dad and I hope you get to meet Elvis. I know I'll see you again one day when it will be my time to join you. 💞

6sqjnux04l.jpg

https://www.journal-news.net/journal-news/hit-and-run-suspect-was-allegedly-under-the-influence/article_d2d1c660-dfcb-5669-ae6a-72d0a0237724.html

86ea2dyu0d.png

10t0fnrxjj.png

anonyvoterlogo.JPG

Sort:  

I'm so sorry for your loss... My condolences to you and your family...
He sounds like a great man, and will be dearly missed.
Remember the good times and good memories...
I lost my sis just 4 months ago, and am still not used to it.
The memories of good times do help, a lot.
Take care... 💗

Thank you so much @ackhoo! I'm so sorry your sister is no longer with you. Remembering the good times helps. I miss him so much but talk to him every day. I know he can hear me.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Sorry to hear this, my dear. My sincere condolences. 😔
Even if it's so hard, try to remember he is not really gone as long as you keep him in your heart.

Thank you @roxy-cat! I will!

Big hugs from me @deerjay. I am so sorry. Please remember to take care of yourself as you go through this.

Thanks so much @melinda010100! I'm trying not to dwell on the details and am trying to focus on the happy times. 💓

That is really all we can do, isn't it? I'm still learning and working my way through grief and sometimes I do well, and sometimes I'm blindsided by the pain., your sensitivity and intuition are pretty astonishing you know. I hope somehow that helps you through this.

That is how I feel, just hits you at times out of nowhere. I'm sorry for what you are going through also. I think grief is something that never fully goes away and my thoughts and prayers are with you Melinda. xoxo
I don't know why I was given the signs from the other side other than what I wrote about above or if I will experience it again. I've had (along w/ others in my family) a lot of different experiences in my life but nothing like this.

Thanks for kind words. Its been two years and I am learning that it never goes away . Your experience was really dramatic! I know you realize how special it was.

You're very welcome. It helps me to remind myself that our time here is short and I'll see my loved ones again on the other side soon enough. I do realize it now. It just took me a few days to realize that it was not something that was meant for me to stop or that I could've stopped.

It was a good reminder of how close the other side is and that there is nothing to fear! Rather like being in the next room.

Sending thoughts and prayers that you find peace and comfort ❤️

Just checking in with you again, to make sure you're okay... 💖

Thank you @thekittygirl! I'm "hangin in there" xoxo

You have been on my mind Dee and I often checked your page to see if you posted. My deepest condolences of the passing of your brother.
The three knocks as a warning of a death has been one experienced starting with stories my grandmother told me.
The trouble with the premonitions is we never know who is leaving this planet. I guess it is meant to let you know the future cannot be changed and the death time is casted.
Please take care my dear friend and know others share your sorrow. ❤️

Thank you @redheadpei! Yes, I believe that too. xoxo

Very sorry for Bill's loss. The poem is beautiful and up-lifting. Life is a mystery, just living proves it.

Thank you @manorvillemike! That's very true!

This is such an amazing tribute to your brother, but I am so deeply sorry to hear of your loss. Keeping you and your family in my thoughts and prayers.

My sincere condolences, he sounds like a great brother.
I don't know if you want to hear sympathetic tales or not. I will type it, feel free to ignore it. Do what you need to heal.
When I was feeling "near death" myself - SSRI reaction left me a traain wreck for several years, fighting suicidal thoughts every moment of every day for way too long - I became some odd "medium" between the worlds for a while. It was very disturbing to be honest. There were 3 incidents that happened within a few months, and then whatever it was finally stopped happening.
The first one was a couple riding down the freeway on a motorcycle. The bike was only a seater and he had her sitting on a bucket or some shit. She fell off and died. I had a "nightmare" in which I EXPERIENCED her entire death. Before I had heard the news. That was in the fall. That winter, a young girl went coytoe hunting with a couple guy friends. She wore high heels and was all dolled up. They got lost and stuck in the snow and started to try to walk out the wrong way, going deeper into the wilderness. They finally turned around and when they were almost to the truck, the guys ran for it, climbed in and started warming it up and fell asleep, thinking the girl would be right behind them. She never made it, she died about 50 feet from the truck. Again, I had a nightmare in which I experienced her death, before I knew what had happened. Not fun, not fun. Makes me a little ill to this day.
Then my nephew and his wife were hit in a low speed accident in Utah, she was killed. That was a little different, I heard the news first, then she came to me in a dream that night and told me what happened. I have never asked my nephew to verify any details, I do not really want to know. And if what she told me is correct, he does not need to know.
As I "came back to life" myself, I stopped having those experiences. A wise friend told me it was because I was "in the veil between" and so people who are suddenly pushed to the other side were drawn to me, I was easier to reach than those who were fully in the "living" world. I can't really know... but it made me quite certain they are still "there" on the other side, for what it is worth.
Much love to you and your family.

Thank you @fishyculture! I don't mind at all. I've heard many people lately talk of "the veil" being thinner now. Thank you again for sharing that with me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67364.55
ETH 3256.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64