Personal Development – Finding Yourself (READ THIS!)

in #life7 years ago

Personal Development – Finding Yourself


There comes a times in your life where you feel uneasy. Every time you wake up in the morning, you feel like you have lived this day before and now you have to restart it all over again.

You think of your debt, what irritates you, what angers you and at the end of the day, it hurts you the most. It puts a dent in your moral and this reflects in everything you do.

You wake up, sit in traffic, work, sit in traffic, arrive late to the shop, make dinner after the sun has set, watch some series, sleep, repeat for 5 days. Then its weekend and you have to socialize.

By Monday you are tired of the weekend, but the reset button has been pressed and tomorrow it starts again.

Living the same day over and over. Living the same week over and over. Living the same month over and over. Living the same year over and over.

No wonder they say that some people die in their 20’s and get buried in their 60’s/70’s.

The Big Three Oh

I turned 30 years old and got married recently and this came with a massive hit. I am not talking about a hit song, I am talking about life punching you squarely in the face.

Every time when you think that everything is going well, would life jump out from behind a dumpster, unleash its fury and walk away nonchalant.

If I knew what I wanted after school, would I have studied harder and specialized in something. Some people know exactly what they like and what they want and they go for it.

A friend of mine is currently busy with his PhD in Plant Cell and Molecular Biology. He has always been interested in plants and it seems like he is enjoying his field of study a lot.

When I was in my teens, did I not know what I was interested in? I had a big interest in audio and after school I did complete my Audio Engineering Diploma, but due to the lack of support for that industry in my country, did it turn out to be a waste of time.

My interests would change and I would be good at what I do, but not good enough to be seen as an expert on anything.

I would read up on anything that interests me until I would understand it and then drop it. Just like that. I am done. Next chapter. Now this is frustrating me, because when you are in High School you have this idea of how your life will be when you are 25, 30 etc.

It felt like I had so much time until I would reach that age.

Two blinks and the time is gone. Looking back, can I see progress? I met my better half, we got married, acquired an apartment and two cars. But it still feels like my life has no traction. Yes we have set up a mid-term goal and we are slowing moving towards completing our goal.

So, as always, is it time to do some reading into this and see how I can change this. I know where I came from, I kinda know where I am heading, but I do not know for certain what I want out of life. So I had some digging to do.

What do I want to change in my life?

Turn negative thoughts into positive thoughts. How will I do this? I am going to start with Positive Affirmations. If the inside is right, the outside will be right as well.

Positive affirmations are sentences you repeat to yourself over and over until your subconscious mind accepts it as the reality.

It is seen as the language of the brain, but it follows a specific formula. Understanding this formula will improve your results. The formula:

  1. Positive Affirmations are always in the present tense. IF it says “I will” or “I am going to” or “In the future” or “I used to”, then move on. Your brain will interpret it incorrectly.
  2. Positive Affirmations only include positive words. Affirmations containing “won’t”, “can’t” or “don’t” etc. must be avoided. Your brain wants a direct order. Instead of saying “Don’t cry”, rather try “smile my sweetheart”.
  3. Positive Affirmations are spoken as statements of fact and truth. Do not use words like “could” or “might”. Rather use more powerful statements which contain words like “am” and “do”

Here are some positive affirmation examples you can use. When you repeat them, do it for 5 minutes at a time and use two affirmations at a time.

You have to repeat them because we are creatures of habit. Think of your mind like a dogs mind. You have to train a dog to understand what you want.

If you repeat what you want, will you make what you want your "habit" or natural way of thinking. When it's your natural way of thinking, will your subconscious mind spot opportunities automatically for you to follow. Follow them, don't resist.

Can you remember the time when you had to learn something new, for example driving? You had to be physically present in the moment and you used a lot of concentration. After a while your subconscious mind noticed a routine and suddenly you notice that you could not remember the last 5 min of driving.

How did you get safely to your destination? Your subconscious mind took over and as there were no signs of danger, could you take a quick nap in hazy town. Recharge them batteries.

I suggest that you read this article for the best explanation on how positive affirmations work and how to use them.

Examples

Money 

  • I am rich
  • I am wealthy
  • I have a lot of excess cash
  • I own a lot of properties
  • Money comes easily and frequently, with harm to none

Health 

  • I weigh 80kg (or whatever weight you want to be)
  • I am fit
  • I am healthy
  • I love and care for my body
  • I crave healthy nutritious food and water

Work

  • I love how confident I am
  • I love working for myself*
  • Working for myself* is the best decision I could have made
  • I am the best architect*
  • My services are valuable and I charge a fair price
  • I over deliver on customer expectations
  • I love how consistent I am
  • I am productive
  • I complete my daily tasks on time
  • I have enough time

*replace with what is relevant to you

Do you use any positive affirmations? If so, which ones work for you?


CLICK FOLLOW FOR MORE UPDATES - @darnscotty



source
source

Sort:  

@darnscotty Nice post. Here is my positive affirmation : I am talented and will not let my talents go to waste. Did I do that right? lol ...Check out my introduceyourself video I posted last night.

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@bigpay/introduction-to-my-show-steemit-exclusive-the-miggie-show-presented-by-big-pay-productions

Hi @bigpay, checked your video out, very nice! Welcome to Steemit (officially).
Instead of using the negative word waste, rather look at using:

  • I am talented and bring value to the world
  • I love doing video editing*
  • My rapping style is unique and people love it
  • I can think and rhyme very quickly
  • I am the rap battle king
  • Listeners appreciate my poetic rap art
etc. *replace with what is relevant to you

@darnscotty

Loading...

hi Darnscotty I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Love your post!
God is good, my life is awesome - that is my affirmation!
The following comes from the Upanishads (which is a collection of ancient Sanskrit texts)
Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.

@lizelle, thank you for your kind words. Fun fact, the GIG in music gig is actually an abbreviation of God is Good...
But the lesson from the Upanishads is powerful! I am definitely going to add it to my next personal development post, thank you so much. Love it! It's so true :)
I see you are from KZN, welcome to @teamsouthafrica #teamsouthafrica! You can join our Discord channel HERE.
@darnscotty

Wow interesting, did not know that! Will have a look at joining, guests keeping me busy this week though!

Hey @darnscotty upvoted and resteemed!

I'm also 30 and feel like I'm in a similar boat. I totally agree that affirmations can help, but you still need to believe that what you're saying is true. If you stay "positive" and repeat an affirmation, but deep down think it's ridiculous, that really make an impact. Not saying that's what you're doing...just pointing this out as a general FYI!

Fun fact: if you know how to muscle test, you can actually make an affirmation about anything, and then see if your subconscious truly believes this. Fascinating stuff - you can do a quick search on Youtube and find videos on this.

Yes, @jobsande, I agree that you have to feel a positive feeling as well, but I think this feeling can be better understood after some meditation sessions. Thanks for the fun fact, I am watching some videos on this now :) @darnscotty

Oh yeah, good call. I'm a fan of meditation but hadn't thought of incorporating that with affirmations, makes total sense though.

Glad you liked that :)

Welcome to steemit. A great post like that will take you far.

Thank you @admyrer, I hope it does. With your help, who knows? :) @darnscotty

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by darnscotty from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57