October update of my garden - Gratitude #77steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life6 years ago (edited)


Last month I joined @simplymike’s garden journal challenge and found that it was a great way to document the progress of my attempts to grow a sustainable garden. So even though I’m very late this month and might have missed it, I’m still putting out a post. Here’s the link to the challenge.

These past couple of months haven’t been kind to me and has affected my garden. I was diagnosed with osteoarthritis in my right hip and it’s been raining constantly. And my garden has gone to the dogs, literally! These two dogs! Puppies, actually. Truffle and Biskit, rescue pups. They’re still learning not to dig and bite my plants!


First of all my hip hurt so much I couldn’t walk properly. Any kind of movement hurt so I stopped fertilising my plants . Before the rains came, watering was a problem too. But several sessions with a physiotherapist, with stretching exercises, has helped tremendously so I was able to do some gardening recently.

I removed my long beans which were all dried up and took down the trellis. It looks neat and tidy now.



They love to dig between the pots back there.

While trimming the marigold I found a nest of snails! I collected them and fed them to our fish.


There they are, waiting for treats!

Those rascals kept targeting the snake plants I’m trying to root. They managed yo pull three out and now I’m sure they are rooting 😅


I think it’s time for my eggplants to go. The pups think they are dangling toys and have pulled four off! I had to harvest the other three, whether they were ready or not, and threw them in my curry!


Sorry I didn’t know how badly taken this photo was.

I wasn’t up to transferring my young eggplants to the ground and they have started producing mini eggplants!



My strawberries are doing very well. They are spreading quickly. I think they like the rain. Just started to flower but I have a feeling they won’t do good unless I start fertilising ASAP!


Whether there will be new plants next month will depend on how these fellas behave! They literally are two hands full! 😅


20180516_002249_0001.png



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://crazymum.vornix.blog/2018/10/28/october-update-of-my-garden-gratitude-77/

Sort:  

Outstandingly exquisite idea!

Oh, I didn't know you could feed snails to the fish haha!

And oh wow, the pups are sooo destructive! I never knew ":D

There was so much in this post! That made me pause as well.

@metzli

Wow, @crazymum. Your garden looks so neat and clean. I can't even tell whether you are going into summer or into winter, lol.

I know all about being limited when you need to care for your garden. It's no fun at all, but glad to hear you are doing better now!

Congratulations @crazymum! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

This post is full of SO MUCH information.

I am sorry to hear you have not been feeling well.

I am also not knowing how to feel about your garden going "to the dogs" they are so cute! Yet, your garden looks so beautiful, I am sorry to see it getting ruined.

I liked looking at your pictures. I will be sharing some of them on Pinterest.

This is @metzli visiting from steemitmamas. Next time you blog remember to share with us on our discord. We will be happy to pay you a visit <3

Congratulations @crazymum! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @crazymum! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64625.84
ETH 3233.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65