Chained to a desk: stories about being employed

in #life8 years ago (edited)

A call centre position

callcentergirl28bb7.jpg

Sitting behind a desk, tired and worn out. Imagine, every day some asshole calls me up with an entitlement mentality, trying to get something from me. They want their phone bill for free this month. They want the extra charges taken off because they never read the contract. Once a woman called up and started the conversation with the words "Hi, I'm a rape victim," in an attempt to get a free premium phone number, one with triples and doubles.

Or worse - a nice person calls up and makes a perfectly reasonable request - but nobody, not me, nor anybody in my support team, not my boss, knows how to fulfill that request, and my subject matter effort tells me to palm it off to another department so they can handle it.

That is the kind of toxic environment that makes people violent.

One day I saw one of the supervisors come out looking very distressed. Immediately i could smell something was up.

We're told to get off the phones and take the elevator up to floor twelve. They sit us all down on the floor and ask how we are.

Then... "We regret to inform you that ..."

The contract with the telco had ended, and I was ecstatic. I tried to hide my smile for the benefit of all the people there who were so dedicated to the project that they cried. Having that job end was among the top 5 happiest days of my life.

Of course, I could have quit at any time, but having a job like that can make you forget your ambition.

The boss

tower95cb4.jpg

The boss sits in his office on the 31st floor and looks out across the city. The clear blue sky stretches out towards the horizon. Up here, it feels like he is above the clouds. Down there, the poor souls toil away, little people moving around in their little lives.

"I built this," he says, forgetting all the people who helped him along the way. "I built this," he affirms, neglecting the protectionism which prevented others from building similar towers.

He feels the floor shake a little bit underneath him. "It's just the wind," he says. It shakes a little more, then stops. "Hm... I guess there was an earthquake." He is so high up, that he has no idea that far below him, there are dwarves sawing through the columns at the ground level. He will keep justifying until they saw right through, and his tower collapses.

Rae, and Byron Bay

byronbaysunrise27307.jpg

«Hey, I'm in Newcastle. Can I crash at your place tonight?»

"Sure."

She checked the timetable, and said she'd be in around midnight. She missed two trains, and arrived around 3. We walked back to my parents' place. We spooned for a while. She slept in the bottom bunk, and me in the top.

In the morning, she asked what I do with my days. I told her I was selling insurance, working about 8 hours a day.

«I just don't get how people can live like that. What happens if you wake up one morning and you just don't feel like going to work that day?»

"I guess you sort of... force yourself. Grit your teeth and bear it, because that's what you've said you're gonna do."

«I can't imagine anything worse.»

She took the train for Byron Bay that day. I saw her off at the train station. I lent her $100 to cover the train ticket, not entirely sure if I would ever see the money again. I told her to send it by money order.

«You should come,» she said. «I'll probably be there for a while.» I have to work, I thought.

I should have gone. Not that I loved her, not that it was ever going to be anything serious. But she was offering me a ticket to another world, where what's important looks very different. Can you imagine what a beach looks like after sitting in an office for so long? How it feels? As the water licks your feet, you can sit and wonder: What do the waves mean?

Three weeks later, I received a small package. It was a ratty second-hand book on botany. The note said that she had arrived at Byron Bay, with no place to stay, and no money, so naturally she slept on the beach. In the middle of the book was a fresh, green $100 note.

Shingles, or, making the best of a bad situation

It was a few days after David had returned from his sick leave. In his hand was a collection of papers. He calmly walked over to Melissa and said "Hey, I need to talk to you about something important, and rather private. Can I talk to you in your office about it?"

«Ah... yes. Just give me five minutes.»

"Not a problem."

Melissa walked in and Dave was sitting near her desk.

"How's it going," he said. She sat down.

«What's all this about, David?»

"Firstly, I'd like to say that I enjoy working here. It's a good work environment. The customers are great."

«I'm glad.»

"But there are a few concerns which I need to address.

"I've got something here that I wanted to show you. As you know, I had to take a week off because of illness."

«Yes.»

"The illness, more specifically, was shingles."

«I don't really see what this has to do -»

"Please, hear me out. This is important.

"Shingles is not a common disease for someone to get at this stage of life. In fact, the doctor said that it is very unusual for someone my age to get shingles, unless, of course, I was under intense psychological stress. You can see that the good doctor has taken the liberty of writing it down here."

«That would be... ah.» The penny dropped. An employer has a duty of care for their employees, so they're liable for what happens at work. If an employee became ill because of his work, that would make her... She was unable to speak.

"Now, as I said, I enjoy working here. My workmates are great - friendly and supportive. The customers are almost always polite. But of course, there is one problem.

"You never come over to us to say hello, or ask how we're going in the mornings. We know that, invariably, when you come to talk to us, it's because of bad news - and not bad news presented with a positive, motivational spin. Not something that would illustrate a simple plan on which we could initiate action immediately. It's more like the news is presented in a way to maximise fear and disorientation. Would you like to work in an environment like that?"

«I... uh...»

"It's tough to work in an environment where you constantly feel like you're being watched."

They finished the conversation. Later, Dave walked into the lunchroom.

«Something strange is going on,» said a colleague

"What do you mean?"

«We were standing there having our morning coffee. Melissa came up and asked us how we were going. We were so weirded out, we didn't know what to say.»

Dave smiled on the inside.

Epilogue

hisowndrumf5dd3.jpg

They want you to believe that you need them, but you don't. Though the more competent you are, the freer you feel, the less weight on your soul, and the more aware that you don't need them, the harder certain bosses will try to make it for you.

They can't stand to see someone doing well, someone who has his own rhythm. They will harass you, attempt to intimidate you, and try to make you crack.

You can always walk away.

The future is bright for independent minds.

Be who you want to be.

Sort:  

Excellent post. Thank you. I can't encourage you enough to work for yourself. Seriously, get out there and produce something in absolute freedom. I left the last job I'll ever have over 5 years ago, and I'm never looking back. I had been working on a side business for over four years before I left my job. I actually stayed a year longer than I needed to, financially. The lure of "security" is what keeps so many people trapped in situations they later regret. Risk is something we all need to grapple with and, like it or not, many of the "bosses" of the world today were able to manage that risk better than most. I, with my co-founder, run a small business now. We have a small, internationally diverse remote team and we do everything we can to create an awesome community. Our retention rate is crazy high, and we're proud of that. Interestingly, our team members don't necessarily want to share in the risk we see as owners. We've explored various options for sharing that risk, but they prefer the security of a steady paycheck. It's almost fashionable today to slander the bosses of the world and lump them in with evil. Many rightfully deserve that description. Others, I think, are ignorant. Still others love what they are doing and have balls of steel to manage risk and protect their team members and customers. I'd love to see more people building their own companies to better appreciate the effort required. I worked four years on my business while maintaining a full-time job. That was four years of 1am, 2am nights, 10-hour Saturdays, and working through lunches. It wasn't easy at all. But it was worth it.

Good luck to you. Find a boss you're proud to work for or work for yourself. Thanks again for a great write up.

No question, there are a lot of great bosses out there who stay humble and don't let their power go to their head, and who are good at managing risk.

Good for you for having the creativity, resolve, and all the other powerful qualities it takes to be an entrepreneur.

Nowadays, I work for myself, teaching English, and my students are my bosses - some of the best bosses I've ever had.

I love it! I often describe our customers as my bosses as well. :)

Thanks for letting us know that telemarketing sucks.

That was a wonderful and surreal post. I have found myself in the exact same place many years ago. When you wrote about being called up the 12th floor, it reminded me of a temp job that I had several years ago working for AOL. It was a week before Christmas and I didn't know what the job was going to entail, I was just told that I would be packing up boxes. I arrived and found a group of similar temps waiting outside and we were brought into a plain white room and told that we were part of the clean up team that would be cleaning out desks. I didn't realize what we were going to do until it happened. Just as you were called out, we'd get a number, an office number on one of the floors in the large building and were told to go up and clean out the desk, take all the personal items and box them, wrap up the PCs, ect.

What was happening at the same time was some poor worker was being called downstairs to be fired and we were sent up at the same time to clean out their belongings. One of these people on the way to the elevator forgot her purse and came back to her office to find me .. wrapping up her things. She dropped her purse on the floor and burst into tears.. realizing at that moment.. that she was being fired right before Christmas. It was one of the most heart breaking moments I have had.

Your have gone through that, just from a different point of view. I myself have as well experiencing such things. I have been working for myself for 2 yrs now and couldn't be happier.

Keep up with the great blogs, I'll be looking forward to what you write next.

Wow... "You're here with the clean up crew right? Great. Now, go out there and help us shatter people's dreams!" A pretty awful experience for anyone... that's the reality of business sometimes.

Thanks for your kind words and have a good day.

GREAT POST! Thanks, I love life stories, especially of that quality and nature. You get my upvote! I hope you'll also like my stories about travelling the Canadian Rockies too: https://steemit.com/@eric-boucher Namaste :)

Thank you for the good message and very beautiful photo

Thank you.

Thank you Good message.
Because the story that I can agree, can be very sympathetic.

Great message @churdtzu. The herd mentality is very real and powerful and, often, the guys who run the show understand this and utilise it. There is a pull in society to do what is 'safe' or 'the norm' but, you're right, conforming to this is why most people wake up in their late forties and realise that they've squandered half their life. Power to you.

Thanks @oliverb. Everybody has the capability to throw off the cookie cutter, and I hope more people will in coming years.

Your writing is great. What we've been taught is safe doesn't safe anymore. The real power is in self development but it requires leaving the comfort zone, leaving the illusion of safety . Good luck with your new beginnings

Right on, I'm glad you picked up on that implication. I was going to write another part about the illusion of security, and a part about how the world is changing to one where large corporations using old models aren't necessarily going to be sustainable... but I thought the piece came together quite well like this.

Thank you.

i will wait the first part - about illusion of security. In my country(UA) this is hot theme, i think.

"be the change you want to see in the world" - ghandi

Call centers are hard, but there is also room for compassion even there, and there are well run call centers in the world with leaders not bosses.

My God I can relate to this. Call centres are the Dementors of the muggle world. Sucking the life out of you. I'm glad I got out after not getting too sucked in and stuck like some do.

How did you "get out"?

Truth be told, I was actually fired. I disliked the job so much that my performance suffered and they gave me the boot without much notice - You're completely expendable in those environments. I relate to this post because I know the feeling of despising your job so much yet being too afraid to walk away and face uncertainty.

Ironically, getting fired was the motivation I needed - and I'm much better off because of it.

Wow. What do you do now?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60479.65
ETH 2906.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43