You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Chained to a desk: stories about being employed

in #life8 years ago

That was a wonderful and surreal post. I have found myself in the exact same place many years ago. When you wrote about being called up the 12th floor, it reminded me of a temp job that I had several years ago working for AOL. It was a week before Christmas and I didn't know what the job was going to entail, I was just told that I would be packing up boxes. I arrived and found a group of similar temps waiting outside and we were brought into a plain white room and told that we were part of the clean up team that would be cleaning out desks. I didn't realize what we were going to do until it happened. Just as you were called out, we'd get a number, an office number on one of the floors in the large building and were told to go up and clean out the desk, take all the personal items and box them, wrap up the PCs, ect.

What was happening at the same time was some poor worker was being called downstairs to be fired and we were sent up at the same time to clean out their belongings. One of these people on the way to the elevator forgot her purse and came back to her office to find me .. wrapping up her things. She dropped her purse on the floor and burst into tears.. realizing at that moment.. that she was being fired right before Christmas. It was one of the most heart breaking moments I have had.

Your have gone through that, just from a different point of view. I myself have as well experiencing such things. I have been working for myself for 2 yrs now and couldn't be happier.

Keep up with the great blogs, I'll be looking forward to what you write next.

Sort:  

Wow... "You're here with the clean up crew right? Great. Now, go out there and help us shatter people's dreams!" A pretty awful experience for anyone... that's the reality of business sometimes.

Thanks for your kind words and have a good day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 60239.77
ETH 2896.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45