Weekends are Days for Running Errands

in #life6 years ago (edited)

It’s nice when weekends mean a trip to the zoo or aquarium, or If I dare to dream, time to sleep in and have a lazy day at home. Most weekends are time for running errands. I usually leave my kiddo with his grandparents when I’m running errands because kids can be fussy when you drag them from store to store. Plus, sometimes you really just want to make a quick stop somewhere but now you have to deal with car seats, snacks, packing all their favorite and must-have toys. There is no such thing as a quick errand when kids are involved.

Today, mommy and kiddo had some time together running errands. As the day came to an end and we were nearing home, well, I peeked in the back to see my kiddo had fallen asleep watching his Trolls video (we must have watched this movie 100 times by now).

All smart parents know to let the kid sleep! They are monsters when rudely awaken. Plus, this is now your “me” time. Your few precious moments of peace and quiet. These rare moments are for catching up with those texts you have yet responded, or clearing out the spam in your email inbox. Or simply park somewhere, plug in your headphones, and listen to music. Well, I decided to park the car in our driveway and write a post. I’ve never written a post on my phone before. Let’s see how it goes.

One Errand of the Day


Our first stop today was Whole Foods. My neighbor was kind enough to keep an eye on our home while we were away. I wanted to stop by and grab a cake to thank her. There is this little Swiss bakery in the City we absolutely love and we stop by now and then for a Hazelnut cake with rich chocolate shavings sprinkled all over. It is a chocolate delight. However, we live in the outskirts of the City and there is usually crazy traffic that direction on weekends, so I stopped by the local Whole Foods instead. I know my neighbor must like the strawberry shortcake from there because she bought us one as a home welcoming gift months ago (along with other generous gifts). So I stopped to get them the same cake since it was close to home.

944BAF4D-C28F-4303-A496-56801C46DA36.jpeg

Look at all these other cookies delight! I refrained from grabbing one as I headed to the cake section. If I had known I would be sitting in the car writing a post, I would have snuck in a couple of them on to my shopping cart.

FA276283-21BC-4A3D-A0CD-7138869C8FFC.jpeg

Quick Stop


As we were driving home, I noticed my son asleep. Being a bit cranky at this point because I didn’t have time this morning or afternoon to have a real meal, I remember the BBQ food truck guy who only sells BBQ ribs on the weekends. I was hesitant to buy the ribs the first time I saw his selling station weeks ago because it’s really just a BBQ smoke grill set up with a canopy tent and the person is selling ribs as they are coming off the grill. There is no food license or sanitation area as far as I know. I was hungry though and didn’t feel like any of the Halal chicken or fruit smoothie, or tacos or Carribean cuisine offered from the legit food trucks.

The ribs were delicious! He had a sign back then advertising his ribs as South Carolina’s # 1 BBQ ribs. (note, I don’t live in the south but I’ve heard they know all about ribs!) Well, they do!! Sadly, my ribs guy wasn’t there today. There was another BBQ station but it’s not the same person, so I didn’t pick up any ribs.

Here are pics of the ribs I did pick up last time!

AC1DDB7C-B699-4667-B3B3-D03D7C67729E.jpeg

I finished half of them right there in the car. 😋

7878676E-0931-4B33-89D7-A26CE47FC271.jpeg

Here is the rib vendor’s tent

1C2E8621-690D-4276-A9CE-0F8BFE751093.jpeg

Okay, kiddo is awake. “Me” time is over. My freewrite is over. Hope you all had a great weekend!!

Sort:  

Good learning experience for children, even though they do make things more difficult. They have to learn how to behave in public. Good of you to take along kiddo. Good bonding time also, in a different way.

I agree @roundhere, it is important to teach them social skills and also the perk of spending quality time. Sometimes my son would cry because I leave him with his grandparents when I'm just running out for a 10 mins drive for coffee. I do take him along as much as I can, but not when I know I have a long day of running errands ahead. Then it becomes an issue of lunch and nap time, and I have a picky eater too.

The joys of parenthood. :)

This conversation makes me feel jealous and relieved. Jealous of the wonderful, challenging time you get with your child, relieved my children are already grown!
Parenting, the most challenging AND rewarding thing in life.

I want those ribs ..... If only I could reach through my computer screen and snatch one up ....

I so wanted them last night. I can't believe my rib guy wasn't there! Grrr. :)

Look at all these other cookies delight! I refrained from grabbing one as I headed to the cake section.

Did you really? It's okay if you did lol! If it were me, I would take one of each and try them all haha!

Those ribs look delicious! Maybe you should have tried the other guy's ribs. No free taste? :D

It is interesting when we say that we have more time during the weekends since there is no work. What a joke that is. It is when we have the most things to do such as errands we have been putting in the back burner.

They are monsters when rudely awaken.

I think this depends on how you wake them up haha!

Hey there @leeart. Yes, sadly, I did not buy any of those cookies. I wish I had though.

Maybe you should have tried the other guy's ribs.

I thought about it, but then I saw the lady walk out of her van while waiting for her meat to cook. She had on jeans that exposed half her behind, and started yanking it up. I did start to think about the sanitary aspect of it all and decided not to purchase any.

Agree with the weekend. I think my days at work is less hectic than at home running errands on weekends.

I think this depends on how you wake them up haha!

omg, you must not be around too many toddlers! All the ones I know wake up crying after a nap in the carseat. It doesn't matter if they wake up on their own or we try to wake them up gently. They go ballin!

I am totally salivating!! We were both dying for ribs but all our regular joints were closed; which by the way, look exactly like your guy's setup :)

I remember when the kids would fall asleep in the car, I would pull in the garage, close the big garage door, open the car doors, and open the door leading into the house, and let them sleep haha

Sometimes those 5 or 10 minutes of "no-mom" time are really a life-saver!

I so wanted some ribs last night too Lynn. I think these joints have the best food most times. There was a Mexican food truck I remember from my childhood, and they made the best steak sandwich I've ever had in my life!

The garage is packed full of patio furniture. It needs a good clearing out before parking in there. I guess that will happen soon with summer here now and us opening the pool soon. Then I can enjoy that blue water once again and have some enjoyment in my little "blue paradise" since I can't be by the ocean.

It's sad, but sometimes I just sit in the car for 5 mins after pulling into the driveway. Not because I don't want to see the kids, but I just want that 5 mins of me time for my own sanity!

@beeyou, there is nothing "sad" about that whatsoever. I think every mom who is honest, will tell you she's done the same. I did. Many times. Because even driving, you're still "on", and in that car, shut off, you can just breathe and relax and recharge for round two when you go in the house. Motherhood is wonderful, but it is also relentless, and only the martyrs will deny that. I am so not one of those haha ❤️

No fair posting such good looking food pictures!

If it makes you feel better, I only looked at the photo last night. No ribs for me either since the rib guy wasn't there. :(

Vote back ☺️

That is sweet of you to vote on my post. Sadly, it really is bad practice to comment on someone’s post and ask them to vote back. You may not know that since you are new. Also, “follow back” is another bad practice.

You really did catch me at a cranky moment. No ribs for me! Lucky for you, I’m not @doomsdaychassis. He may have flagged you.

follow me i follow you. when vote you, you vote me. thank you brother. you have nice ribs.

You are such a dork. My ribs are pretty darn nice! :P

Finger lickin'good...😂

I would never.

You know what? We are both 55 rep now.
:)

I need to stop upvoting you, lol.

Haaaaa. People love me.
:)

so much for giving respect to the higher reps :p

Congratulations @beeyou! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I know what you mean ... especially with the let them sleep part .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73