How to Utilize the Comments Section for Profit and Wisdom

in #life7 years ago (edited)

images.png

You guys are leaving some amazing comments! First off, I have been blown away by the support and sheer volume of thoughtful and insightful comments left on many of my posts. Entire chats have happened just in the comments section especially when a post is hitting a nerve and hopefully the right one. I upvote many comments left and the better the comment the bigger the upvote I leave. Not only are comments a source of revenue but you get to know new people and create a dialogue that breathes new life into your posts. psssst.....if I leave a thoughtful comment on your comment feel free to shower me with love, lol :P It's sort of like playing that game Telephone but with words and steem!

divider.gif

You are interacting with those who follow you and showing that you care by rewarding those who took the time to not only read your work but to also leave their own bits of wit and wisdom. Here are a few tips for maximizing your own comments section and cutting down on spam or negative feedback.

One... Gratitude is key and if it is stale and false and cut n' paste it will come through that way. I picture someone reading my work and taking their own time to respond. Even if we don't agree with everything left it means that your viewers are engaged and dig your style. In return for the support viewers have given to me I return the favor even if it's a simple upvote to show I read their writing as well.


(successinhr)

Two... Open lines of Communication! When a comments section becomes a dialogue between users it's a beautiful thing. Others who follow my comments section discover new content creators and knowledge is exchanged. I have learned a great deal just by reading your feedback you leave for me and others.

Three... Creating and Fostering a Win/Win Scenario! Although I can not keep up with every comment left I do my best to take time out to read and respond as much as possible and when I see someone has upvoted, commented and the much cherished re-steem I dole out that Steemian love in accordance. Creating incentive for people to read your work and get to know you is awesome and seeing how people perceive your work is invaluable. Ignore Spammers/Haters! I sometimes flag some who are just way over the line but mostly I ignore them and they just stay at the bottom while those who are interacting the most tend to float to the top of that section.

(giphy)

Being nice doesn't cost a damn thing so spread that stuff everywhere and when I see someone leaving a heartfelt reply I do enjoy giving what I can including full upvotes. I wish I could dole out full upvotes more but there would go the power to leave anything for anyone else. So stand up, stand out and Steem On!

My name on Discord is the same and I am often found here U5dr35NQgGRG63maUQssm6ERG2ueBE2_1680x8400.jpg

xoxo,
b.a.

Sort:  

Good article.
Commenting allows us to connect and thank steemians.
I do want to say that steemit is flat sometimes.
I come here and I contribute and share.
Thanks again for being straightforward. Wish all steemians think like you.

Keep on steemit.

This is one of those posts that should be required reading for people new to Steem. To me, the whole purpose is to 1) have a place to write and 2) meet new people and make friends. Making money is just a side benefit.

I agree. I hate it when I can tell that someone just saw the name/post on the "new" section and upvoted it and commented with "neat, thanks." without reading it. Like if there is a 7 minute video, the post is 2 minutes old and it already has 15 likes and 5 "super cool" comments. I think they should change it that you have to actually click on the link, go to the page to be able to upvote a post. Just a thought. :)

That's a good idea.

I love your reply and thank you! It can be hard at times or discouraging but that's when we adapt and grow and keep on growing in both our blogs and our connections with others, hats off :)

Absolutely! I agree! Like a How To on Steemit Guide.

Makes sense. It's just really hard to find people who are not breathing bots with generic ass licking flattering comments on any and everything. But yeah, kind gestures don't cost a damn thing.

Love this response!! can I be your generic ass licking flattering comment of the day? LOL

Well said!

"What an inspirational comment! Followed you. Hope you follow me back!!"

A behaviour honourably branded as "Drop & PlopTM" by our beloved fiery battleaxe which successfully transforms minnows into whales!

Said no one ever

I love ALF (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

lol @ generic ass lick flattering

Haha, I was laughing at that one too!

oh well it's just another reason behind the saying "money talks"

Haha...you guys made a serious comment hilarious and now i am laughing too, and started dishing out upvotes pro bono. Seems we ain't so immune to the dopamine hit the generic ass lickers are on afterall.

Your flowery words are so inspiring! Can you teach me to be more generic so that I can be as flattering as you are?
#unmentionablesrock

man i have been trying to grow a beard...i see a fair trade here :)

Another "Good One" Hon ! There are so many of us that are really, just not writers but love to curate. Steemit has so many talented people, like you, and there is so much to read/learn it is just awesome here.

Personally I have always detested the term "Networking", for so many years it has been spammed and is just so "Fake-ish" and plastic. I'm oldschool and believe in making friends, REAL friends, not ass kissing, Fakebook networks.

There are so many awesome people and great content on steemit, there is absolutely no reason to build fake friendships or groups. It's all about those real connections that bring value to life and steemit. If you love in life and love on steemit, you WILL feel the love back at you. Spreading the love don't actually mean spreading money. That's why I love the term "Pay it forward", that's spreading the love.

And YOU my dear are great at it !!! Keep up this "Good" work !

Read More, Reason More ... JTS

Will you be my friend?

I will promise not to use nets at work anymore!! Honest!!

Following ... btw, when you go out to garden, carry a Magnifying glass, will be surprised at how good that works for vids. + it don't scare them as as bad as trying to get close with a cam. (Worth a try) /cheers

Dear @battleaxe

I am working with the #promo-uk team and @stephenkendal to promote steemit on a UK tour around 22 universities during freshers week! As a promonent UK steemian, we would like to ask for your support and if you have time, even to come and join us for whatever time you can spare at your nearest university!

The tour started in Manchester today, does a trip around the country and ends up in Lancaster on 07th Oct.

THIS link will show you the tour route, meeting times and meet up locations.

THIS link shows you our success around Sheffield today!

It would be really great if you could make it to one of these promotional events to have some fun talking Steemit and letting people know how great it is!!

We are also presenting at the London investors fair on 20th October. We plan to get together with some steemians in a London bar after the event for some drinks (which we will put 150 GBP behind the bar for)
HERE is a summary of our last meetup

Please reply to this or contact me in steemit.chat if you are interested to take part or support our work!

I would love to learn more, have quite a full plate at the moment but would surely love to chat more of this....

nooooo problem!! I am always open to your suggestions and will try to set things up for when you are free. the tour is going great and many steemians have come out to represent during the tour in the north . now we move on to midlands and then the south. STEEMON!

You are just the best being awesome! love your work!

Thats really well said @battleaxe, steemit is all about the comment sections as its the " proof of the pudding " no ? As to comment you must first have read or seen the video content ! Its validates the post and the authors work as this is the life in Steemit, the exchange of ideas and thoughts !! Not just voting and the rewards ! upvoted and resteemed this important guide to the social use of steemit )

Great advice for the new steemians not to mention a little reminder for all of us. There are so many truly nice people on here. Pay it forward . 🐓🐓
Resteemed.

Good call on this posting!

I was sharing identical sentiment earlier today in a post about Bitcoin and where it was going. Many people were adding insights that made the comments much more valuable than the actual post to me.

And, it's finding those posts that resonate with you and make you actually want to (hopefully) add some value to what has been written and then added.

And, then having it Resteemed is key, too. I would not have found this post unless @princessmewmew Resteemed it.

Upvoted & Resteemed.

I often love just reading the comments of posts, it's so interesting to hear others takes on the content.

And as you mentioned - it's a great way to meet like minded people.

Thank you for this post! I resteemed it cuz it's do awesome x

I do it too!!!

My favorites are:
"You have recieved an upvote from @ getfatnowbot courtesy of @ yourself!!
And
"This post did bring a tear to my eye. Can you please share me to be so awesome also. Come and checkout my blog. And you can upvote all my copypasta and cute kitten memes!"

And the one I always get...
"The sarcasm is strong with this one."
X-P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97