Intro

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Hi everyone, my name is Ariel and I love nature, yoga, dancing, art and eyewear. Gender: Female. Age: 31. Originally from Brazil now living in Miami Beach, FL.

Earlier today I was looking forward to my upcoming trip to Manhattan/Hamptons with my boyfriend Fulvio. This is my first Thanksgiving with his family and I am thrilled to be alive, experiencing my romantic dreams unfold. His mom is a lovely lady and I knew I would enjoy my time with her. Believe it or not, I was also looking forward to the plane ride. I just love being stuck in a chair with my book or magazine of choice, no wifi, being served drinks for a few hours. I've always had the best reads when flying. ADD is gone and I am focused!

I was reading the November issue of The Rolling Stones magazine when I found steemit. It sounded so cool. (If I had wifi I would be downloading the app right there and then. Glad I didn't, otherwise I would have ceased reading and would've spent the next two hours checking out steemit. I would probably have forgot about the magazine once I arrived in the city which would be a shame -the magazine is great). As soon as we landed, I turned on my phone and searched for the app. Ops, there is no app?? URL only? Alrighty - Here I am looking at this complex world where currency is being exchanged, people are honestly expressing themselves and are being supportive of others doing the same. What a sweet world I thought. To say the least, it is very creative! I was sold. Sign me up! Though I have no idea how it works I just want to be a part of it.

When choosing a username, I was hoping to just be just Ariel. Not Ariel Last Name. Not arielabc. Not Ariel123. Not a fictitious name - just Ariel. For whatever reason it wasn't possible so Ariell was born.

Dinner time! Forget the internet world young lady and go back to planet earth for a few hours. We went to dinner at this traditional Japanese restaurant called Aburiya Kinnosuke in Midtown East with a few friends. On our way there, I was wondering - what am I going to write about in my introduction for steemit? Okay I love yoga, vegan recipes and travel but do I want to blog about it? Is this really what I am or just my Likes? Can I move in deeper and write about my life and how ariell, this sort of consciousness, moves through it? It would be nice to practice writing while blogging about life. Working on becoming less self conscious about writing in English along the way sounds good to me too.

Earth is calling! Ariell come back to here now. So back to the story - We hugged friends, ate sushi, drink sake, talked about politics and climate change. Dinner was great and now we are back home. When I thought everything was going well, Fulvio and I began fighting about something, not that important, that has happened last weekend. Fulvio is not a drinker but when he does drink, he normally drinks more than he can handle and tonight wasn't any different. What started as a silly fight soon gained momentum and he was calling me a bitch. What did you just say? Am I what? "Just go Fuck yourself" is the last thing I heard. Bitch and Go Fuck yourself almost in the same sentence, in less than five minutes of a fairly steady conversation is just too much for me to handle. Tomorrow, I am going back to Miami. I will make sure to apologize to your mother and explain why I can't celebrate thanksgiving with her and then I am leaving. Outrageous. We were not screaming, no one did anything wrong. We were simply not seeing eye to eye and next thing I know F*** bombs are being dropped in my face, right before bedtime.

As I was brushing my teeth my drunk boyfriend wanted to talk. All of the sudden "fuck yourself" wasn't meant for me but for someone else. Say what? Am I deaf now? I told him to fuckin' leave me alone.

It is now 4:25am and I can't sleep. I have tears in my eyes and I am so sad that so much of my excitement about spending this holiday together as a family came down to "go fuck yourself" and tossing and turning in bed. Good news is that I was able to turn my emotions into creativity. If the whole point was to blog about life, what a perfect opportunity to transmute these unworthy feelings inside into something more groovy.

Here is my intro. Now You See Me.

Sort:  

Great job Ariel! I have been reading intro posts for 5 months on Steemit and yours was one of the best. I very rarely comment but felt the need. Your post said alot about yourself without being wordy. Additionally, you needn't be self conscious about your English skills. You look to have 90% of the English speaking world beat. Good luck with everything in life.

So nice to hear this celsius. You have inspired me to open up and just say it how it is. You will see it on the next post. Lovely to find like minded people. Good luck to you as well and I hope not to disappoint

Sorry to hear about your horrible experience. Silver lining, you found Steemit, which is the most amazing thing I've discovered in 2016. This is the type of thing I'd like to see more of on here. Not necessarily because I like drama, but because that's what most people use social media for. Glad to see you on Steemit and I would like to add that your English is better than most of my Facebook friends who are native speakers :D. Welcome.

Yes I have this idea I want to write about - all the perfect IG posts make me want to throw up. I will come up with something. Steemit feels real and I like that! Thanks for encouraging me to write in English -sometimes I get shy. This experience ended up bringing me so much joy! Will talk about it later too. All the best and thank you for writing

Welcome to the community, you will find many inspiring content creators here and learn a lot. I'm sure you as well have some wonderful things to contribute to the rest of us. My only wish for myself for Steemit is more time to share my attention and focus to all the under appreciated and overlooked talent. You'll be surprised how many people you'll end up following due to the quality of their work. Looking forward to your growth here, best of luck and have fun. Upvoted.

Would love to find these people! As of now I am still trying to understand how everything works. Thank you for being there for the team and I am excited about sharing more. All the best! :)

You're welcome. We are many and are not hard to find. :) Good luck on your journey here. It is indeed a learning process, but so rewarding in many ways. All the best to you too.

I see you Ariel with an extra l. Welcome to the fold. I loved the rawness of your first post. I want you to be confident in your English usage because it's excellent. And I'm sorry that your plans went pear shaped, but I've so much respect for you for the way you handled the situation, yourself and the drop kick. You sound like someone who has a lot of self worth and who can and will bounce back pretty quickly. You've now at least one friend in Australia. I look forward to seeing more from you.

Hi Brooke,
Thank you for the lovely words. Yes I belive in boucing back quickly. I learned that when I was a kid. I guess my dad is a lot like that too. I like to inspire and give people strength. I guess I got that from my mom. Lol. Glad you enjoyed it. Have a lovely day in Australia!

I have the same beliefs and they probably come from some of the same places. I'm trying to instill the same lessons and ideas into my son. Hope you find happiness and laughter over thanksgiving with people who care about you and who you care about in turn.

Hi! Ohh yes! :) Thank you for your concern but everything ended up beautifully and I just wrote about it on my Time Out blog. Glad we think alike. Happy Thanksgiving! all the best

Hi Ariel, welcome to steemit! Your intro is interesting and well written. I think you captured what we are in this phrase:

this complex world where currency is being exchanged, people are honestly expressing themselves and are being supportive of others doing the same.

I think we do try to be supportive and open minded, and I think you'll enjoy your time here.

I like some of your phrasing, especially these:

Can I move in deeper and write about my life and how ariell, this sort of consciousness, moves through it?

what a perfect opportunity to transmute these unworthy feelings inside into something more groovy.

Thanks for sharing your post. I have followed you and I look forward to what you write in the future!

I had a big smile on my face while reading your comment. Thank you, thank you for truly understanding what I wanted to share. i love inspiring people around me and I believe it won't be any different in steemit. Looking forward to share more as well. All the best! :)

Hi @ariell . I'm so glad to see that you are not powering down... We want to reward people that are powering up. We are doing this on steemboost.com and in our blog in posts like this one.

This is one independent voluntary initiative. We are sending you this message because we need to attract in our project more powerful STEEM users that really believe that Powering Up is expressing trust in STEEM.

Got questions? We are on steemit.chat - @steemboost
Thank you!

Welcome to Steemit, you beautiful passionate Brazilian @ariell! I love yoga, and @everlove is one of many who loves art here - she often calls for collaborative efforts if you are interested in playing.

Hi Sara - Yes passionate indeed so much it gets me in trouble! I will share more yoga stuff eventually. I just took a yoga teacher training and i have learned a lot! I will check out @everlove too. Thank you for writing and connecting. Muahh

Awesome introduction! Though I'm sorry you had such a bad day :/ You're definitely a valuable addition to the community. Btw there is an app called eSteem for iOS and Android!

Thank you so much for the tip! I will bd downloading the app soon. I am very happy you enjoyed the intro. Will tell what happened next in the next blog.

You are beautiful. Welcome)) image

Thank you soon much!

Hi @Ariell, you are a great writer. I enjoyed reading your post. Nice tempo. So welcome to Steemit and I am following you Now...See you ;)

Nice tempo. I will keep that in mind. Many thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57213.13
ETH 2415.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40